Back Business & Investing | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Business & Investing  
Eyes Wide Open: Overcoming Obstacles and Recognizing Opportunities in a World That Can't See Clearly

Isaac Lidsky · Tarcherperigee
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

In Eyes Wide Open, Isaac Lidsky draws on his experience of achieving immense success, joy, and fulfillment while losing his sight to a blinding disease to show us that it isn't external circumstances, but how we perceive and respond to them, that governs our reality.Fear has a tendency...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Superfandom: How Our Obsessions are Changing How We Buy and Who We Are

Zoe Fraade-Blanar · W W Norton
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

As fandom sheds its longtime stigmas of geekiness and hysteria, fans are demanding more from the celebrities and brands they love. Digital tools have given organizations from traditional businesses to tech startups direct, real-time access to their most devoted consumers, and it s easy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mind over Money: The Psychology of Money and How to Use It

Claudia Hammond · Harperperennial
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The acclaimed author of Time Warped tackles the very latest research in the fields of neuroscience, psychology, and biology to provide a fresh, fascinating, and thought-provoking look at our relationship with money - perfect for fans of Dan Ariely and Freakonomics.We know we need money...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Understanding Stocks 2E

Michael Sincere · McGraw-Hill Education
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Revised and updated--the new edition of the stock investing classic is packed with powerful new strategies for todays market realities Understanding Stocks, Second Edition teaches you how to open an account, evaluate stocks, and make trades. New chapters include short selling, ETF strategies,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Working Americans, 1898-2016: African Americans

Scott Derks · Grey House Pub.
Format: Print book

A look at what kind of work Americans did, the homes they lived in, the goods they bought, the entertainment they sought, and the society and history that shaped their world ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hit Makers: Why Things Become Popular

Derek Thompson · Penguin Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Nothing "goes viral." If you think a popular movie, song, or app came out of nowhere to become a word-of-mouth success in today's crowded media environment, you're missing the real story. Each blockbuster has a secret history - of power, influence, dark broadcasters, and passionate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creative Change: Why We Resist It . . . How We Can Embrace It

Jennifer Mueller · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

One of the nation's leading psychologists asks why today's corporate leaders desire but reject creative solutions --and finds some surprising conclusions. All corporate CEOs, top executives, and other business leaders say they want creativity and need real innovation in order to thrive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man Who Knew: The Life and Times of Alan Greenspan

Sebastian Mallaby · Penguin Press
Pages: 781
Format: Print book

The definitive biography of the most important economic statesman of our time Sebastian Mallaby's magisterial biography of Alan Greenspan, the product of over five years of research based on untrammeled access to his subject and his closest professional and personal intimates, brings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Start Your Own Hair Salon and Day Spa: Your Step-By-Step Guide to Success

Eileen Figure Sandlin · Entrepreneur Press; Third Edition edition
Format: Book

Personal care, newfound energy, and a revitalized appearance remain invaluable commodities among consumers. Learn the ins and outs of starting a successful business in one of todays hottest industries salons and day spas. From laying the groundwork and establishing yourself in the marketplace...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 100 Best Stocks To Buy In 2015

Peter Sander · Adams Media Corporation
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Now is the time to make money!As the market continues to grow and reaches record highs in late 2014, you'll need to know where to put your money in order to create the largest profit. With The 100 Best Stocks to Buy in 2015, you can reap high earnings with stock picks that have consistently...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Complacent Class: The Self-Defeating Quest for the American Dream

Tyler Cowen · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Since Alexis de Tocqueville, restlessness has been accepted as a signature American trait. Our willingness to move, take risks, and adapt to change have produced a dynamic economy and a tradition of innovation from Ben Franklin to Steve Jobs.The problem, according to legendary blogger,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Woo, Wow, and Win: Service Design, Strategy, and the Art of Customer Delight

Thomas A Stewart · Harpercollins
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

In this pioneering guide, two business authorities introduce the new discipline of Service Design and reveal why trying new strategies for pleasing customers isn't enough to differentiate your business - it needs to be designed for service from the ground up.Woo, Wow, and Win reveals...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vietnam - Culture Smart!: The Essential Guide to Customs & Culture

Geoffrey Murray · Kuperard
Pages: 168
Format: Print book

In the second half of the twentieth century war raged in Vietnam. It was hard to know if it would ever end, and harder still to understand fully the rights and wrongs of the various protagonists. At last, the North Vietnamese turned out to be tough, resilient, and ultimately victorious....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spellbound: Seven Principles of Illusion to Captivate Audiences and Unlock the Secrets of Success

David Kwong · HarperBusiness
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A professional magician and illusionist - the head magic consultant for the hit film Now You See Me - reveals how to bridge the gap between perception and reality to increase your powers of persuasion and influence.David Kwong has astounded corporate CEOs, TED talk audiences, and thousands...
Read More check catalog
 
 
High Performance Habits

Brendon Burchard · Hay House, Inc.
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

THESE HABITS WILL MAKE YOU EXTRAORDINARY.Twenty years ago, author Brendon Burchard became obsessed with answering three questions:1. Why do some individuals and teams succeed more quickly than others and sustain that success over the long term?2. Of those who pull it off, why are some...
Read More check catalog