Back Business & Investing | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Business & Investing  
Mind over Money: The Psychology of Money and How to Use It

Claudia Hammond · Harper Perennial
Pages: 372
Format: Print book

"The acclaimed author of Time Warped tackles the very latest research in the fields of neuroscience, psychology, and biology to provide a fresh, fascinating, and thought-provoking look at our relationship with money-- perfect for fans of Dan Ariely and Freakonomics. We know we need...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Art Thinking: How to Carve Out Creative Space in a World of Schedules, Budgets, and Bosses

Amy Whitaker · HarperBusiness
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

An indispensable and inspiring guide to creativity in the workplace and beyond, drawing on art, psychology, science, sports, law, business, and technology to help you land big ideas in the practical world.Anyone from CEO to freelancer knows how hard it is to think big, let alone follow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Advertising: Why It Had to Die, and the Creative Resurrection to Come

Andrew Essex · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A recovering Mad Man throws down the ultimate challenge to his profession: Innovate or die.The ad apocalypse is upon us. Today millions are downloading ad-blocking software, and still more are paying subscription premiums to avoid ads. This $600 billion industry is now careening toward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Messy: The Power of Disorder to Transform Our Lives

Tim Harford · Riverhead Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

From the award-winning columnist and author of the national bestseller The Undercover Economist comes a provocative big idea book about the genuine benefits of being messy: at home, at work, in the classroom, and beyond.Messy: The Power of Disorder to Transform Our Lives celebrates the benefits...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Geek Girl Rising: Inside the Sisterhood Shaking Up Tech

HEATHER CABOT · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Meet the women who haven't asked for permission from Silicon Valley to chase their dreams. They are going for it -- building the next generation of tech start-ups, investing in each other's ventures, crushing male hacker stereotypes and rallying women and girls everywhere to join the digital...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Idiot's Guides: Making Money with Rental Properties

Kimberly Smith · ALPHA
Format: Paperback

It takes an incredible amount of know-how to be a successful landlord. Idiots Guides Making Money with Rental Properties is written by experts who have made the mistakes and learned the lessons. They have become successful at spotting high-rent properties, buying them at the right price...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Economism: Bad Economics and the Rise of Inequality

James Kwak · Pantheon Books
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Here is a bracing deconstruction of the framework for understanding the world that is learned as gospel in Economics 101, regardless of its imaginary assumptions and misleading half-truths.Economism: an ideology that distorts the valid principles and tools of introductory college economics,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Basic Income: A Radical Proposal for a Free Society and a Sane Economy

Philippe van Parijs · Harvard University Press
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

It may sound crazy to pay people an income whether or not they are working or looking for work. But the idea of providing an unconditional basic income to every individual, rich or poor, active or inactive, has been advocated by such major thinkers as Thomas Paine, John Stuart Mill, and John...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A History of the United States in Five Crashes: Stock Market Meltdowns That Defined a Nation

SCOTT NATIONS · William Morrow
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this absorbing, smart, and accessible blend of economic and cultural history in the vein of the works of Michael Lewis and Andrew Ross Sorkin, a financial executive and CNBC contributor examines the five most significant stock market crashes in the United States over the past century,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Perennial Seller: The Art of Making and Marketing Work that Lasts

RYAN HOLIDAY · Portfolio
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling author and marketing strategist Ryan Holiday reveals to creatives of all stripes - authors, entrepreneurs, musicians, filmmakers, fine artists - how a classic work is made and marketed.In Hollywood, a movie is given a single weekend to succeed before being written off. In Silicon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stand Out: How to Find Your Breakthrough Idea and Build a Following Around It

Dorie Clark · Portfolio
Format: Hardcover

A guide to becoming a recognized expert in your field Too many people believe that if they keep their heads down and work hard, they'll be recognized as experts on the merits of their work. But that's simply not true anymore. To make a name for yourself, you have to capitalize on your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Start Your Own Hair Salon and Day Spa: Your Step-By-Step Guide to Success

Eileen Figure Sandlin · Entrepreneur Press; Third Edition edition
Format: Book

Personal care, newfound energy, and a revitalized appearance remain invaluable commodities among consumers. Learn the ins and outs of starting a successful business in one of todays hottest industries salons and day spas. From laying the groundwork and establishing yourself in the marketplace...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Curators: Behind the Scenes of Natural History Museums

Lance Grande · The University of Chicago Press
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

Over the centuries, natural history museums have evolved from being little more than musty repositories of stuffed animals and pinned bugs, to being crucial generators of new scientific knowledge. They have also become vibrant educational centers, full of engaging exhibits that share those...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Best Jobs for Ex-Offenders: 101 Opportunities to Jump-Start Your New Life

Ronald L Krannich · Impact Publications, Blue Ridge Summit, PA
Pages: 139
Format: Print book

The first book to examine jobs suitable for ex-offenders. Profiling 101 opportunities that are relatively open to people with not-so-hot backgrounds, this upbeat book gives renewed hope and direction to ex-offenders who are uncertain what they want to do, can do, and will do in life on the outside....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ray & Joan: The Man Who Made the McDonald's Fortune and the Woman Who Gave It All Away

Lisa Napoli · Dutton
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

The dramatic relationship between Ray Kroc, the man who amassed a fortune as chairman of one of America's most controversial and iconic companies - McDonald's - and the passionate woman, his wife, Joan, who then gave that fortune away.Beginning in the 1950s, salesman Ray Kroc presided...
Read More check catalog