Back Biographies & Memoirs | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Burqas, Baseball, and Apple Pie: Being Muslim in America

Ranya Tabari Idliby · Palgrave Macmillan
Pages: 239
Format: Book

For many Americans, the words 'American' and 'Muslim' simply do not marry well; for many the combination is an anathema, a contradiction in values, loyalties, and identities. This is the story of one American Muslim family -- the story of how, through their lives, their schools, their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life's Work: A Moral Argument for Choice

WILLIE PARKER · 37 INK
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

In Life's Work, an outspoken, Christian reproductive justice advocate and abortion provider (one of the few doctors to provide such services to women in Mississippi and Alabama) pulls from his personal and professional journeys as well as the scientific training he received as a doctor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In a Dark Wood: What Dante Taught Me About Grief, Healing, and the Mysteries of Love

Joseph Luzzi · Harper Wave; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

In the aftermath of a heartbreaking tragedy, a scholar and writer uses Dante's Divine Comedy to shepherd him through the dark wood of grief and mourning - a rich and emotionally resonant memoir of suffering, hope, love, and the power of literature to inspire and heal the most devastating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beer Money: A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

Frances Stroh · Harpercollins
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sonic Wind: The Story of John Paul Stapp and How a Renegade Doctor Became the Fastest Man on Earth

Craig Ryan · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

The untold story of an eccentric, scientific visionary whose death-defying research has saved millions of lives.Sixty years ago, cars and airplanes were still deathtraps waiting to happen. Today, both are safer than ever, thanks in part to one pioneering air force doctor's research...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chasing Portraits: A Great-Granddaughter's Quest for Her Lost Art Legacy

Elizabeth Rynecki · NAL
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

The memoir of one woman's emotional quest to find the art of her Polish-Jewish great-grandfather, lost during World War II.

Moshe Rynecki's body of work reached close to eight hundred paintings and sculptures before his life came to a tragic end. It was his great-granddaughter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chin: The Life and Crimes of Mafia Boss Vincent Gigante

Larry Mcshane · Kensington Pub Corp
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

"Full of astonishment . . . a kind of dark wonder." --Pete Hamill

This is the story of Vincent Louis Gigante, the Genovese Family crime overlord who ruled a sprawling criminal empire for a quarter century with an iron--and deadly--fist. Vinnie "Chin" Gigante displayed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daring: My Passages: A Memoir

Gail Sheehy · William Morrow; Hardcover Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The author of the classic New York Times bestseller Passages returns with her inspiring memoir—a chronicle of her trials and triumphs as a groundbreaking girl journalist in the 1960s, to iconic guide for women and men seeking to have it all, to one of the premier political profilers of modern...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moscow Nights: The Van Cliburn Story-How One Man and His Piano Transformed the Cold War

Nigel Cliff · Harper
Pages: 452
Format: Print book

Gripping narrative nonfiction that tells the dramatic story of a remarkable young Texan pianist, Van Cliburn, who played his way through the wall of fear built by the Cold War, won the hearts of the American and Russian people, and eased tensions between two superpowers on the brink...

Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Catch a Russian Spy: The True Story of an American Civilian Turned Double Agent

Naveed Jamali · Scribner
Format: Hardcover

The fascinating story of a young American amateur who helped the FBI bust a Russian spy in New York - sold in ten countries and in a major deal to 20th Century Fox.For three nerve-wracking years, Naveed Jamali spied on America for the Russians, trading thumb drives of sensitive technical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anatomy of Innocence: Testimonies of the Wrongfully Convicted

Laura Caldwell · Liveright Publishing Corp
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Recalling the great muckrakers of the past, an outraged team of America's best-selling writers unite to confront the disasters of wrongful convictions. Long thought to be statistical anomalies in an otherwise sound justice system, wrongful convictions -- we are just beginning to learn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eleanor Roosevelt, Volume 3: The War Years and After, 1939-1962

Blanche Wiesen Cook · Viking
Pages: 688
Format: Print book

"Outstanding ... A winning concluding volume in a series that does for Eleanor Roosevelt what Robert Caro has done for Lyndon Johnson." -Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

The final volume in the definitive biography of America's greatest first lady.


Historians,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Enter Helen: The Invention of Helen Gurley Brown and the Rise of the Modern Single Woman

Brooke Hauser · Harpercollins
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

This female Mad Men-like story chronicles the legendary Cosmopolitan magazine editor's rise to power as both a cultural icon and trailblazer who redefined what it means to be an American woman.In the mid-Sixties, Helen Gurley Brown, author of the groundbreaking Sex and the Single Girl,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Me Mine: The Extended Edition

George Harrison · Genesis Publications
Pages: 569
Format: Hardcover

Cherished by fans and collectors, I Me Mine is the closest we will ever come to George Harrison's autobiography. This new edition has been significantly developed since the 1980 original; now printed in color, and with previously unseen archive material, the book covers the full...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World

Rachel Swaby · Broadway Books

Fifty-two inspiring and insightful profiles of historys brightest female scientists. In 2013, the New York Times published an obituary for Yvonne Brill. It began She made a mean beef stroganoff, followed her husband from job to job, and took eight years off from work to raise three children....
Read More check catalog