Back Biographies & Memoirs | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
The Land of Milk and Uncle Honey: Memories from the Farm of My Youth

Alan Guebert · University of Illinois Press; 1st Edition edition
Format: eBook

Bon Appetit Magazine's 20 Food Books to Read This Summer Los Angeles Magazine's Top 10 Summer Books for Foodies Food Tank's Summer Reading List"The river was in God's hands, the cows in ours." So passed the days on Indian Farm, a dairy operation on 700 acres of rich...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Books for Living

Will Schwalbe · Knopf
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the beloved New York Times best-selling The End of Your Life Book Club, an inspiring and magical exploration of the power of books to shape our lives in an era of constant connectivity. Why is it that we read? Is it to pass time? To learn something new? To escape from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nujeen: One Girl's Incredible Journey from War-Torn Syria in a Wheelchair

Nujeen Mustafa · Harper Wave
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Prize-winning journalist and the co-author of smash New York Times bestseller I Am Malala, Christina Lamb, now tells the inspiring true story of another remarkable young hero: Nujeen Mustafa, a teenager born with cerebral palsy, whose harrowing journey from war-ravaged Syria to Germany...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Driving Miss Norma: One Family's Journey Saying "Yes" to Living

TIM BAUERSCHMIDT · HarperOne
Pages: 239
Format: Hardcover

When Miss Norma was diagnosed with uterine cancer, she was advised to undergo surgery, radiation, and chemotherapy. But instead of confining herself to a hospital bed for what could be her last stay, Miss Norma--newly widowed after nearly seven decades of marriage--rose to her full height...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Genius of Jane Austen: Her Love of Theatre and Why She Works in Hollywood

PAULA BYRNE · Harper Perennial
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that reveals about one of the world's most beloved authors.Originally published by Bloomsbury...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lord Fear: A Memoir

Lucas Mann
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Lucas Mann was only thirteen years old when his brother Josh - charismatic and ambitious, funny and sadistic, violent and vulnerable - died of a heroin overdose. Although his brief life is ultimately unknowable, Josh is both a presence and an absence in the author's life that will not remain...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mighty Franks: A Memoir

MICHAEL FRANK · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A psychologically acute memoir about an unusual and eccentric Hollywood family."My feeling for Mike is something out of the ordinary," Michael Frank overhears his aunt say to his mother when he is a boy. "I wish he were mine."Michael's childless Auntie Hankie and Uncle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Strangers Tend to Tell Me Things

Amy Dickinson · Hachette Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

In STRANGERS TEND TO TELL ME THINGS--her follow-up memoir to the NYT bestselling The Mighty Queens of Freeville--America's most popular advice columnist, "Ask Amy," shares her journey of family, second chances, and finding love.By peeling back the curtain of her syndicated advice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lara: The Untold Love Story and the Inspiration for Doctor Zhivago

Anna Pasternak · Ecco
Pages: 310
Format: Print book

The heartbreaking story of the love affair between Boris Pasternak, the author of Doctor Zhivago, and Olga Ivinskaya - the true tragedy behind the timeless classicWhen Stalin came into power in 1924, the Communist government began persecuting dissident writers. Though Stalin spared the life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Catch a Russian Spy: The True Story of an American Civilian Turned Double Agent

Naveed Jamali · Scribner
Format: Hardcover

The fascinating story of a young American amateur who helped the FBI bust a Russian spy in New York - sold in ten countries and in a major deal to 20th Century Fox.For three nerve-wracking years, Naveed Jamali spied on America for the Russians, trading thumb drives of sensitive technical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unsettlers: In Search of the Good Life in Today's America

Mark Sundeen · Riverhead Books
Pages: 324
Format: Print book

The radical search for the simple life in today's America. On a frigid April night, a classically trained opera singer, five months pregnant, and her husband, a former marine biologist, disembark an Amtrak train in La Plata, Missouri, assemble two bikes, and pedal off into the night, bound...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Man Alive: A True Story of Violence, Forgiveness and Becoming a Man

Thomas Page McBee · City Lights Publishers
Format: Book

"Thomas Page McBee's Man Alive hurtled through my life. I read it in a matter of hours. It's a confession, it's a poem, it's a time warp, it's a brilliant work of art. I bow down to McBee - his humility, his sense of humor, his insightfulness, his structural deftness,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Make White People Laugh

Negin Farsad · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Negin Farsad is an Iranian-American-Muslim female stand-up comedian who believes she can change the world, one joke at a time. In HOW TO MAKE WHITE PEOPLE LAUGH, Farsad shares her personal experiences growing up as the "Other" in an American culture that has no time for nuance.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mother of Black Hollywood: A Memoir

JENIFER LEWIS · Amistad
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The "Mega Diva" and legendary star of Black-ish looks back on her memorable journey to fame and the unforgettable life lessons she learned along the way.Jenifer Lewis keeps it real in this provocative and touching memoir by a mid-western girl with a dream whose journey from poverty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wilderness of Ruin: A Tale of Madness, Fire, and the Hunt for America's Youngest Serial Killer

Roseanne Montillo · William Morrow Paperbacks
Format: Print book

In late nineteenth-century Boston, home to Herman Melville and Oliver Wendell Holmes, a serial killer preying on children is running loose in the city—a wilderness of ruin caused by the Great Fire of 1872—in this literary historical crime thriller reminiscent of The Devil in the White...
Read More check catalog