Back Biographies & Memoirs | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
We Could Not Fail: The First African Americans in the Space Program

Richard Paul · University of Texas Press
Pages: 300
Format: Print book

Pre-order your signed copy today. The Space Age began just as the struggle for civil rights forced Americans to confront the long and bitter legacy of slavery, discrimination, and violence against African Americans. Presidents John F. Kennedy and Lyndon Johnson utilized the space program...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Falling: A Daughter, a Father, and a Journey Back

Elisha Cooper · Pantheon
Pages: 146
Format: Print book

Elisha Cooper spends his mornings creating children s books and his afternoons playing with his two daughters. But when he discovers a lump in five-year-old Zoe s midsection as she sits on his lap at a Chicago Cubs game, everything changes. Surgery, sleepless nights, months of treatment,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Contender: Andrew Cuomo, a Biography

Michael Shnayerson · Twelve
Format: Hardcover

Examines the life and career of the New York attorney general and governor.He is tactically brilliant, charismatic, yet also dark, brooding, and vindictive. He is an old-school boss who rules by fear, even as he puts himself forward as the new, 21st-century Democrat. In many ways his story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
H. L. Mencken: the Days Trilogy, Expanded Edition:

H L Mencken · Library Of America
Pages: 872
Format: Hardcover - Expanded Ed.

A major literary event: Mencken's dazzling autobiography, with 200 pages of his own never-before-published commentary and photos. In 1936, at the age of fifty-five, H. L. Mencken published a reminiscence about his boyhood in The New Yorker, beginning a long and magnificent adventure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mighty Franks: A Memoir

MICHAEL FRANK · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A psychologically acute memoir about an unusual and eccentric Hollywood family."My feeling for Mike is something out of the ordinary," Michael Frank overhears his aunt say to his mother when he is a boy. "I wish he were mine."Michael's childless Auntie Hankie and Uncle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jane Austen, the Secret Radical

Helena Kelly · Knopf
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant, illuminating reassessment of the life and work of Jane Austen that makes clear how Austen has been misread for the past two centuries and that shows us how she intended her books to be read, revealing, as well, how subversive and daring--how truly radical--a writer she was....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stanley Kubrick and Me: Thirty Years at His Side

Emilio D'Alessandro · Arcade Publishing
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

This intimate portrait by his former personal assistant and confidante reveals the man behind the legendary filmmaker - for the first time.Stanley Kubrick, the director of a string of timeless movies from Lolita and Dr. Strangelove to A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Full Metal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Platoon: A True Story of American Valor

Clinton Romesha · Dutton Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

The only comprehensive, firsthand account of the fourteen hour firefight at the Battle of Keating by Medal of Honor recipient Clinton Romesha, for readers of "Black Hawk Down "by Mark Bowden and "Lone Survivor" by Marcus Luttrell. "'It doesn't get better. ' To us, that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote Dracula

David J. Skal · Liveright Publishing Corporation
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

A groundbreaking biography reveals the haunted origins of the man who created Dracula and traces the psychosexual contours of late Victorian society.First published in 1897, Dracula has had a long and multifaceted afterlife -- one rivaling even its immortal creation; yet Bram Stoker has remained...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies

Ross King · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Claude Monet is perhaps the world's most beloved artist, and among all his creations, the paintings of the water lilies in his garden at Giverny are most famous. Seeing them in museums around the world, viewers are transported by the power of Monet's brush into a peaceful world of harmonious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tank Man's Son: A Memoir

Mark Bouman · Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and Angela's Ashes comes the most unforgettable memoir you'll read this year!"What did it mean to be the Tank Man's son? To grow up overwhelmed by my father's presence and personality? It was as if I didn't exist, as if I was just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Arthur and Sherlock: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes

Michael Sims · Bloomsbury
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

As a young medical student, Arthur Conan Doyle studied in Edinburgh under the vigilant eye of a diagnostic genius, Dr. Joseph Bell. Doyle often observed Bell identifying a patient's occupation, hometown, and ailments from the smallest details of dress, gait, and speech. Although Doyle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like

ASHLEY GRAHAM · Dey Street Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

One of the most outspoken voices gracing the cover of magazines today encourages women to be their most confident selves, recognize their personal beauty, and reach for their highest dreams in this wise, warm, and inspiring memoirVoluptuous beauty Ashley Graham has been modeling professionally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Italians

John Hooper · Viking
Format: Hardcover

A vivid and surprising portrait of the Italian people from an admired foreign correspondent How did a nation that spawned the Renaissance also produce the Mafia? And why does Italian have twelve words for coat hanger but none for hangover? John Hooper's entertaining and perceptive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Born Survivors: Three Young Mothers and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage, Defiance, and Hope

Wendy Holden · Harper
Format: Hardcover

The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too - a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer's Wife, Born Survivors celebrates three mothers who defied...
Read More check catalog