Back All Non-Fiction | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
Pit Bull: The Battle over an American Icon

Bronwen Dickey · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 330
Format: Print book

The hugely illuminating story of how a popular breed of dog became the most demonized and supposedly the most dangerous of dogs - and what role humans have played in the transformation. When Bronwen Dickey brought her new dog home, she saw no traces of the infamous viciousness in her affectionate,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Neither Snow nor Rain: A History of the United States Postal Service

Devin Leonard · Grove Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The United States Postal Service is a wondrous American creation. Seven days a week, its army of 300,000 letter carriers delivers 513 million pieces of mail, forty percent of the world's volume. It is far more efficient than any other mail service - more than twice as efficient as the Japanese...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sew Bunting

Debbie Shore · Search Press
Format: Paperback

Building on the success of her previous book, Making Cushion Covers, Debbie Shore has turned her attention to bunting. Her imaginative, modern designs give a new twist to these traditional decorations, making them ideal for adorning special celebrations, your garden or your home. With 29 eye-catching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Her Kitchen: Stories and Recipes from Grandmas Around the World

Gabriele Galimberti · Clarkson Potter
Format: Hardcover

Winner of the James Beard Award for Photography In a keepsake volume, Gabriele Galimberti's beautiful portraits of grandmothers from all over the world with their signature recipes illustrates the universal language of food and family.On the eve of a photography trip around the world,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The American Spirit: Who We Are and What We Stand For

DAVID MCCULLOUGH · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller A timely collection of speeches by David McCullough, the most honored historian in the United States - winner of two Pulitzer Prizes, two National Book Awards, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, among many others - that reminds us of fundamental American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Real Artists Have Day Jobs:

Sara Benincasa · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

For readers of Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, and #Girlboss, a hilarious - yet heartfelt - guide to growing up and taking your place in the world by the popular comedian and author of the highly praised Agorafabulous!While the practical aspects of new adulthood can be nerve-wracking - dating,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The United States Government Manual 2017

NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND RECORDS ADMINISTRATION. · Bernan Press
Pages: 610
Format: Paperback

Known as the official handbook of the federal government, this annual resource provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, as well as quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Barking Up the Wrong Tree: The Surprising Science Behind Why Everything You Know About Success Is

ERIC BARKER · HarperOne
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Much of the advice we've been told about achievement is logical, earnest ... and downright wrong. In Barking Up the Wrong Tree, Eric Barker reveals the extraordinary science behind what actually determines success and most importantly, how anyone can achieve it. You'll learn:* Why valedictorians...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road to Unfreedom: Russia, Europe, America

Timothy Snyder · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the author of On Tyranny comes a stunning new chronicle of the rise of authoritarianism from Russia to Europe and America.With the end of the Cold War, the victory of liberal democracy was thought to be final. Observers declared the end of history, confident in a peaceful, globalized...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Extreme Measures: Finding a Better Path to the End of Life

JESSICA NUTIK M D ZITTER · AVERY PUB Group
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

An ICU and Palliative Care specialist featured in the Netflix documentary Extremis offers a framework for a better way to exit life that will change our medical culture at the deepest levelIn medical school, no one teaches you how to let a patient die. Jessica Zitter became a doctor because...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Galileo's Middle Finger: Heretics, Activists, and the Search for Justice in Science

Alice Dreger · Penguin Press
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Book Review "[S]mart, delightful... a splendidly entertaining education in ethics, activism and science."Editors's Choice, New York Times Book ReviewAn impassioned defense of intellectual freedom and a clarion call to intellectual responsibility, Galileo's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Million-Dollar, One-Person Business: Make Great Money. Work the Way You Like. Have the Life You Want.

Elaine Pofeldt · Lorena Jones Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The indispensable guide to earning a six-figure take-home income on your own terms, from Forbes.com contributing writer Elaine Pofeldt.The rise of one-million-dollar, one-person businesses in the past five years is the biggest trend in employment today, offering the widest range of people...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Full Tank Life: Fuel Your Dreams, Ignite Your Destiny

Ben Tankard · Faith Words
Pages: 190
Format: Print book

Modern-day Renaissance man and star of Bravo's "Thicker Than Water "Ben Tankard offers powerful motivation and practical tools to empower readers to find their destiny and create an action plan to unlock it. As a pastor, pilot, motivational speaker, bestselling Gospel/Jazz...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Earth in Human Hands: The Rise of Terra Sapiens and Hope for Our Planet

David Grinspoon · Grand Central Pub
Pages: 496
Format: Print book

For the first time in Earth's history, one species--humans--is knowingly altering our planet's evolution, exerting increasing influence and attempting stewardship. How we handle this juncture may very well determine the fate not just of our species, but of life, and the planet. Without...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Crossed a Bridge and It Trembled: Voices from Syria

Wendy Pearlman · Custom House
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Reminiscent of the work of Nobel Prize winner Svetlana Alexievich, an astonishing collection of intimate wartime testimonies and poetic fragments from a cross-section of Syrians whose lives have been transformed by revolution, war, and flight.Against the backdrop of the wave of demonstrations...
Read More check catalog