Back Mystery & Thrillers | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
The Night Bell: A Novel

Inger Ash Wolfe · Pegasus Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

The brilliantly paced and irresistibly suspenseful new novel in the Detective Hazel Micallef series takes this "perfectly original" (Gillian Flynn) detective into the maelstrom of two murder cases. The new novel in this acclaimed series is brilliantly paced, addictively suspenseful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bark Before Christmas

Laurien Berenson · Kensington Publishing Corporation
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

"If you like dogs, you'll love Laurien Berenson's Melanie Travis mysteries!" - Joanne Fluke, New York Times bestselling authorMelanie Travis has her hands full with her two young sons, a part-time job, and a half dozen Poodles to her name. But even with the busy holiday...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Echo Burning

Lee Child · Berkley Trade; 2 edition
Format: Paperback

The bestselling novel featuring the "wonderfully epic hero" (People) who inspired the hit film Jack Reacher.Thumbing across the scorched west Texas desert, loner Jack Reacher has nowhere to go, and all the time in the world to get there. Cruising the same stretch of two-lane blacktop...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fifty Mice: A Novel

Daniel Pyne · Blue Rider Press; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

What if a man is placed in the Federal Witness Protection Program against his will? And doesn't even know what he supposedly knows that merits a new name, a new identity, a new life? Jay Johnson is an Average Joe, a thirty-something guy with a job in telephone sales, a regular pick-up...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Damaged.

Lisa Scottoline · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 405
Format: Print book

"Scottoline writes riveting thrillers that keep me up all night, with plots that twist and turn." -Harlan CobenOne boy. One lawyer. One chance for justice.Ten-year-old Patrick O'Brien is a natural target at school. Shy, dyslexic, and small for his age, he tries to hide his first-grade...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Mirrors: A Novel

Eugen-Ovidiu Chirovici · Emily Bestler Books/Atria
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

An elegant, page-turning thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried.When literary agent Peter Katz receives...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder on Brittany Shores: A Mystery

Jean-Luc Bannalec · Minotaur Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May three bodies wash up on shore. At first glance the deaths appear accidental, but as the identities of the victims...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Enter Pale Death

Barbara Cleverly · Soho Crime; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

One morning before dawn in the stables of her country estate, Lady Truelove meets a violent death in an encounter with a dangerous horse. Classified as "death by misadventure," this appears a gruesome accident. But Scotland Yard Detective Joe Sandilands suspects foul play - a misgiving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Antidote to Venom: A British Library Crime Classic

Freeman Crofts · Poisoned Pen Press
Pages: 290
Format: Paperback

'Mr Wills Crofts is deservedly a first favourite with all who want a real puzzle' - Times Literary Supplement 'He always manages to give us something that really keeps us guessing' - Daily Mirror George Surridge, director of the Birmington Zoo, is a man with many worries:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A June of Ordinary Murders: A Mystery

Conor Brady · Minotaur Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling, beautifully written mystery debut that brings Victorian Dublin vividly, passionately to life, drawing readers on a gripping journey of murder and intrigue.In the 1880s the Dublin Metropolitan Police classified crime in two distinct categories. Political crimes were classed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweet Damage: A Novel

Rebecca James · Bantam
Format: Hardcover

From the internationally bestselling author of Beautiful Malice comes a captivating novel of psychological suspense about love and friendship, loyalty and betrayal - perfect for readers of S. J. Watson and Lisa Unger. Tim Ellison feels lucky when he finds a cheap place to rent in his dream...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Family Hightower: A Novel

Brian Francis Slattery · Seven Stories Press
Format: Hardcover

*** Named a Kirkus Reviews Starred Title in Their 10/01/14 Issue ***In 1968 two boys are born into a large family, both named for their grandfather, Peter Henry Hightower. One boy—Peter—grows up in Africa and ends up a journalist in Granada. The other—Petey—becomes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lucidity: A Thriller

David Carnoy · Overlook Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Dreams and deception collide in David Carnoy's page-turning tale of murder, manipulation, and mistaken identity.After his "gripping thriller debut" (Kirkus) Knife Music and sophomore "page turner" (Examiner.com) The Big Exit, David Carnoy's Detective Hank Madden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aunt Dimity and the Summer King

Nancy Atherton · Viking
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Cozy mystery lovers' favorite paranormal sleuth is back with her twentieth otherworldly adventureIt's June, the roses are in bloom, and the small English village of Finch may be in big trouble. Two cottages are for sale, but something - or someone - is driving buyers away. Has a developer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cairo Affair

Olen Steinhauer · Minotaur Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Sophie Kohl is living her worst nightmare. Minutes after she confesses to her husband, a mid-level diplomat at the American embassy in Hungary, that she had an affair while they were in Cairo, he is shot in the head and killed.Stan Bertolli, a Cairo-based CIA agent, has fielded his share...
Read More check catalog