Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
Telling Tales: A Vera Stanhope Mystery

Ann Cleeves · Minotaur Books
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

It has been ten years since Jeanie Long was charged with the murder of fifteen-year-old Abigail Mantel. Now residents of the East Yorkshire village of Elvet are disturbed to hear of new evidence proving Jeanie's innocence. Abigail's killer is still at large. For one young woman,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Female Detective: A British Library Crime Classic

Andrew Forrester · Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Print book

The Female Detective is the first novel in British fiction to feature a professional female detective. Written by Andrew Forrester, it was originally published in 1864. The protagonist is Miss Gladden, or 'G' as she is also known - the precursor to Miss Marple, Mma Ramotswe and Lisbeth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort of Black

Carter Wilson · Oceanview Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Though they seem to have everything, Hannah Parks has watched her husband, Dallin, become increasingly distant. Her hope is buoyed when the couple decides to start a family, but what Dallin reveals in his sleep one night rocks Hannah to her core. As she starts to investigate a much darker...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman in the Water

Charles Finch · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

This chilling new mystery in the New York Times bestselling series by Charles Finch takes readers back to Charles Lenox's very first case and the ruthless serial killer who would set him on the course to become one of London's most brilliant detectives.London, 1850: A young Charles Lenox...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kill the Father: A Novel

Sandrone Dazieri · Scribner
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

In this fascinatingly complex thriller, two people, each shattered by their past, team to solve a series of killings and abductions - a ruthlessly planned escalation that turns out to be merely the visible surface of something far more sinister.When a woman is beheaded in a park outside...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Blackbird Season

Kate Moretti · Center Point
Format: Library Binding

In a quiet Pennsylvania town, a thousand dead starlings fall onto a high school baseball field, unleashing a horrifying and unexpected chain of events that will rock the close-knit community.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Panacea

F Paul Wilson · Tor
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Medical examiner Laura Hanning has two charred corpses and no answers. Both bear a mysterious tattoo but exhibit no known cause of death. Their only connection to one another is a string of puzzling miracle cures. Her preliminary investigation points to a cult in the possession of the fabled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Destroyer Angel: An Anna Pigeon Novel

Nevada Barr · Minotaur Books; 1st Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Anna Pigeon, a ranger for the U.S. Park Services, sets off on vacation -- an autumn canoe trip in the to the Iron Range in upstate Minnesota. With Anna is her friend Heath, a paraplegic; Heath's fifteen-year-old daughter, Elizabeth; Leah, a wealthy designer of outdoor equipment; and her daughter,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Containment: A Thriller

Henry Parker · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From a former US government advisor on agroterrorism comes a ripped-from-the-headlines debut thriller about a global plot to release a deadly virus and the elite response team who must try to stop it.When a gruesome new tick-borne virus breaks out near a major US city and the outbreak is traced...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The damned : a novel

Andrew Pyper · Simon & Schuster, 2015.
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

OPTIONED FOR FILM BY LEGENDARY PICTURES (Interstellar, the Dark Knight films, Godzilla) "The Damned underlines Pyper's growing reputation as one of the most talented successors to the inimitable Stephen King." - Daily Mail (UK) Most people who have a near-death experience...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Second Life of Nick Mason

Steve Hamilton · Center Point Pub
Pages: 500
Format: Large Print Library Binding

"Nick Mason walked out of prison after serving five years of a twenty-five to life sentence when he accepted a deal from criminal mastermind Darius Cole. Now he leads a double life--desperate to go straight and rebuild a relationship with his wife and daughter, but forced to carryout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kept woman.

Karin Slaughter · William Morrow
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

Husbands and wives. Mothers and daughters. The past and the future. Secrets bind them. And secrets can destroy them. The author of Pretty Girls returns with an electrifying, emotionally complex thriller that plunges its fascinating protagonist into the darkest depths of a mystery that just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The French Girl

Lexie Elliott · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Widow and The Woman in Cabin 10: One woman becomes trapped in the tangled bonds of friendship in an exhilarating debut novel of psychological suspense.We all have our secrets...They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ross Macdonald: Four Novels of the 1950s: The Way Some People Die / The Barbarous Coast / The Doomsters / The Galton Case:

Ross Macdonald · Library of America
Format: Hardcover

At last, the brilliant successor to Hammett and Chandler in a definitive collectors edition Revered by such contemporary masters as Sue Grafton, George Pelecanos, and James Ellroy, Ross Macdonald the pseudonym of Kenneth Millar brought to the crime novel new levels of social realism and psychological...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Harvest Man

Alex Grecian · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Hardcover

Scotland Yard's Murder Squad - and Jack the Ripper - return, in the extraordinary new historical thriller from the author of the acclaimed national bestseller The Yard. In The Devil's Workshop, London discovered that Jack the Ripper was back, sending the city - and Scotland Yard's...
Read More check catalog