Back Mystery & Thrillers | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
The House of Wolfe: A Border Noir

James Carlos Blake · Mysterious Press
Format: Hardcover

On a rainy winter night in Mexico City, a ten-member wedding party is kidnapped in front of the groom's family mansion. The perpetrator is a small-time gangster named El Galán, who wants nothing more than to make his crew part of a major cartel and hopes that this crime will be his big break....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dead Zone

Stephen King · Gallery Books
Pages: 592
Format: Print book

Recoil in horror as you are touched by a young man cursed with the power to perceive the evil in men's souls, and whose ability to see into the future forces him into a terrifying confrontation with an infinitely dangerous man.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Birdwatcher

WILLIAM SHAW · Mulholland Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Police Sergeant William South has a good reason to shy away from murder investigations: he is a murderer himself.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best American Mystery Stories 2016

Elizabeth George · Mariner Books
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

"A superb anthology that never disappoints." - Publishers Weekly Elizabeth George, "superstar of the crime fiction world" (Seattle Times) and author of the beloved Inspector Lynley series, collects the best mystery writing of the year that "will have you on the edge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pilgrimage to Murder: A Medieval Mystery set in 14th Century London

P C Doherty · Severn House
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

Summer, 1381. The Great Revolt has been crushed; the king's peace ruthlessly enforced. Brother Athelstan meanwhile is preparing for a pilgrimage to St Thomas a Becket's shrine in Canterbury to give thanks for the wellbeing of his congregation after the violent rebellion. But preparations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Smoke and Mirrors

Elly Griffiths · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 338
Format: Print book

In the sequel to the "captivating"* Zig Zag Girl, DI Edgar Stephens and the magician Max Mephisto hunt for a killer after two children are murdered in a tragic tableau of a very grim fairy tale. *Wall Street Journal It's Christmastime in Brighton, and the city is abuzz about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
White Crocodile

K.T. Medina · Mulholland Books
Pages: 378
Format: Print book

One of "BOOKLIST "'s Best Crime Novels of the Year Tess Hardy thought she had put Luke, her violent ex-husband, firmly in her past. Then he calls from Cambodia, where he is working as a mine-clearer, and there's something in his voice she hasn't heard before: Fear. Two weeks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trap

Melanie Raabe · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Now in paperback, the twisted debut thriller about a reclusive author who sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer--but is he really the killer?The renowned author Linda Conrads is famous for more than just her bestselling novels. For over eleven years, she has mystified fans by never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Razor girl.

Carl Hiaasen · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

Click Here For the Autographed Copy The new full-tilt, unstoppably hilarious and entertaining novel from the best-selling author of "Skinny Dip" and"Bad Monkey" When Lane Coolman's car is bashed from behind on the road to the Florida Keys, what appears to be an ordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Murder of a Queen Bee

Meera Lester · Kensington Pub Corp
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

All abuzz about murder . . . Former police officer Abigail Mackenzie has made a fresh start as a beekeeper and farmer in picturesque Las Flores, California - but she never suspected her new hometown would prove to be a hive of criminal activity. When Abby invites her free-spirited friend,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Amy

Helen Callaghan · Harper Paperbacks
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In Helen Callaghan s chilling, tightly-spun debut novel of psychological suspense, a teenage girl s abduction stirs dark memories of a twenty-year-old cold case... Margot Lewis is a teacher at an exclusive high school in the English university town of Cambridge. In her spare time, she writes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bred to Kill: A Thriller

Franck Thilliez · Viking
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"Crichton fuses with 'True Detective' in a hammering hard-science thriller where the heart of darkness lies not in the soul, but in the genes. Thilliez engineers a winner." - Scott Sigler, New York Times-bestselling author of the Infected trilogyNew from Mark Polizzotti,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Watching Edie

Camilla Way · New American Library
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: A dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women's twisted friendship. Beautiful, creative, a little wild ... Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Best Served Cold: A small town Police Procedural set in Oklahoma

Susan Rogers Cooper · Severn House Pub Ltd
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Sheriff Milt Kovak and his team must track down a determined killer hell-bent on revenge against them and their families. Someone is out to get revenge against Milt Kovak, sheriff of Prophesy County, Oklahoma, and his team with a series of pranks. First a sinister note is found taped...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Long and Faraway Gone: A Novel

Louis Berney · William Morrow & Co
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback

With the compelling narrative tension and psychological complexity of the works of Laura Lippman, Dennis Lehane, Kate Atkinson, and Michael Connelly, Edgar Award-nominee Lou Berney's The Long and Faraway Gone is a smart, fiercely compassionate crime story that explores the mysteries...
Read More check catalog