Back Mystery & Thrillers | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
Freedom's Child: A Novel

Jax Miller · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Freedom Oliver has plenty of secrets. She lives in a small Oregon town and keeps mostly to herself. Her few friends and neighbors know she works at the local biker bar; they know she gets arrested for public drunkenness almost every night; they know she's brash, funny, and fearless....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elmore Leonard: Four Novels of the 1980s: City Primeval / LaBrava / Glitz / Freaky Deaky

Elmore Leonard · Library of America
Pages: 1024
Format: Hardcover

The definitive edition of America's modern master of crime fiction continues with four classic novels widely considered his best, presented in one volume for the first time with behind-the-scenes accounts of their genesis by editor Gregg Sutter, Leonard's longtime researcher, and rare...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Sister: A Novel

Barbara Gowdy · Tin House Books
Pages: 300
Format: Hardcover

A ground-breaking novel about the porous boundaries of intimacy and consciousness, and the possibility of forgiveness.Thunderstorms are rolling across the summer sky. Every time one breaks, Rose Bowan loses consciousness and has vivid, realistic dreams about being in another woman's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hot Pursuit

Stuart Woods · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Stone Barrington is back in the exciting new adventure from perennial fan favorite Stuart Woods. It's not often that Stone Barrington finds a woman as accustomed to the jet-set lifestyle as he, so he's pleasantly surprised when he meets a gorgeous pilot who's soon moving to New York,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murderous Mayhem at Honeychurch Hall: A Honeychurch Hall Mystery

Hannah Dennison · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

When the only copy of Ravished, Iris Stanford's new manuscript, never arrives at her London publisher's office, her daughter Kat investigates the tiny local village post office, where it appears the package never left the building. Iris is on tenterhooks -- not only is her novel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Killing Bay: Faroes novel 2

Chris Ould · Titan Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

When a group of international activists arrive on the Faroe Islands, intent on stopping the traditional whale hunts, tensions between islanders and protestors run high. And when a woman is found viciously murdered only hours after a violent confrontation, the circumstances seem purposely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hidden Graves: A PI mystery set in Chicago

Jack Fredrickson · Severn House Pub Ltd
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Someone is trying to frame Chicago private investigator Dek Elstrom for murder in the latest intriguing mystery. It's election season in corrupt Cook County, Illinois - where the dead vote on who lives and who dies. A skeleton's hand spills out of an abandoned grain silo,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Two Good Dogs

Susan Wilson · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 342
Format: Hardcover

Susan Wilson, the bestselling author of One Good Dog delivers another powerful novel of loyalty and love. Single mom Skye Mitchell has sunk her last dime into a dream, owning the venerable, if run-down LakeView Hotel in the Berkshire Hills. It's here where she believes she'll give her fourteen-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Perfect Lie

Lisa Scottoline · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Scottoline keeps the pace relentless as she drops a looming threat into the heart of an idyllic suburban community, causing readers to hold their breath in anticipation." -BOOKLIST "Readers can be assured that the author nails the high school milieu, from athletic rivalries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am Providence: A Novel

Nick Mamatas · Night Shade Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

For fans of legendary pulp author H. P. Lovecraft, there is nothing bigger than the annual Providence-based convention the Summer Tentacular. Horror writer Colleen Danzig doesn't know what to expect when she arrives, but is unsettled to find that among the hobnobbing between scholars...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Purr M for Murder: A Cat Rescue Mystery

T. C. LoTempio · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Sydney McCall left behind an ex-fiancé and a New York advertising job to return home to Deer Park, North Carolina and help her sister, Kat, run the local animal shelter, Friendly Paws. Determined to save the shelter from financial trouble, Sydney and Kat organize a cat café fundraising...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girls: A Novel

Lisa Jewell · Atria Books
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

Full of suspense yet emotionally grounded Fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Carla Buckley will adore this peek inside a gated community that truly takes care of its own, no matter the consequences. " "BOOKLIST " (starred review) Imagine that you live on a picturesque...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Play of Death

Oliver Pötzsch · Mariner Books
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

The mysterious sixth entry in the Hangman's Daughter series It is 1670 and Simon Fronwieser is in the town of Oberammergau to bring his seven-year-old son to boarding school. As he bids his boy a tearful farewell, news comes of a shocking murder: the man who was to play the part of Christ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Director: A Novel

David Ignatius · W W Norton
Pages: 386
Format: Hardcover

In David Ignatius's gripping new novel, spies don't bother to steal information ... they change it, permanently and invisibly. Graham Weber has been the director of the CIA for less than a week when a Swiss kid in a dirty T-shirt walks into the American consulate in Hamburg and says...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girls on Fire: A Novel

Robin Wasserman · Harpercollins
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

On Halloween, 1991, a popular high school basketball star ventures into the woods near Battle Creek, Pennsylvania, and disappears. Three days later, he's found with a bullet in his head and a gun in his hand - a discovery that sends tremors through this conservative community, already unnerved...
Read More check catalog