Back All Fiction | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Fiction  
The Awkward Age: A Novel

FRANCESCA SEGAL · Riverhead Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A wry, tender novel about an ordinary family facing extraordinary choices. Julia Alden has fallen deeply, unexpectedly in love. American obstetrician James is everything she didn't know she wanted--if only her teenage daughter, Gwen, didn't hate him so much. Uniting two households is never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dry.

Jane Harper · Flatiron Books
Pages: 328
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"A breathless page-turner, driven by the many revelations Ms. Harper dreams up ... You'll love [her] sleight of hand ... A secret on every page." -- The New York Times"One of the most stunning debuts I've ever read ... Every word is near...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Whisper Hollow

Chris Cander · Other Press
Format: Print book

"Set in a small coal-mining town, a debut novel full of secrets, love, betrayal, and suspicious accidents, where Catholicism casts a long shadow and two courageous women make choices that will challenge ... moral convictions"--Amazon.com.Welcome to Verra, a town nestled into the hillsides...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Black Book

James; Ellis David Patterson · Little
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

Three bodies in a beautiful and luxurious bedroom.Billy Harney was born to be a cop. The son of Chicago's chief of detectives, whose twin sister is also on the force, Billy plays it by the book. Alongside Detective Kate Fenton, Billy's tempestuous, adrenaline-junkie partner, there's nothing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight on the Mississippi

Mary Ellis · Harvest House Publishers
Pages: 347
Format: Print book

Midnight on the Mississippi begins the new Secrets of the South Mysteries from bestselling author Mary Ellis. These complex crime dramas follow an investigator's quest to make the world a better place...solving one case at a time. New Orleans--Hunter Galen, a stock and securities broker,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Force: A Novel

DON WINSLOW · William Morrow
Pages: 482
Format: Hardcover

Instant New York Times BestsellerRecommended for summer reading by Amazon, New York Times, Time, Entertainment Weekly, Newsday, Miami Herald, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Edmond News, Rutland Herald, Seattle Times, AM New York, BookBub, and theREALbookspy.com"The Force is mesmerizing,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Chance

Robyn Carr · Harlequin Books
Pages: 360
Format: Paperback

www.robyncarr.comShare the joys, heartbreaks, challenges and triumphs of the people who inhabit the small Oregon town of Thunder Point with #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr With its breathtaking vistas and down-to-earth people, Thunder Point is the perfect place for FBI agent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vine That Ate the South

J D WILKES · TWO DOLLAR RADIO
Pages: 218
Format: Print book

In a forgotten corner of western Kentucky lies a haunted forest referred to locally as "The Deadening," where vampire cults roam wild and time is immaterial. Our protagonist and his accomplice - the one and only, Carver Canute - set out down the Old Spur Line in search of the legendary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Discovery of Desire

Susanne Lord · Sourcebooks Casablanca
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

AN EXPLORER LOST...To the East India Company, he's the ideal explorer: unwed, uncomplaining, strong as an ox and profitable. There's nothing Seth Mayhew can't find--until his sister disappears en route to India. The expedition is the first he fears he may fail, until he discovers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dinosaurs on Other Planets: Stories

Danielle McLaughlin · Random House
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

For fans of Alice Munro, Anne Enright, and William Trevor comes a stunning debut collection from a deeply original writer and observer of love, betrayal, and turning points in ordinary peoples' lives. In a raw seacoast cabin, a young woman watches her boyfriend go out with his brother,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Slow Waltz of Turtles: A Novel

Katherine Pancol · Penguin Books
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

In this mega-bestseller from France and the follow-up to The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles, a woman contends with divorce, family trouble, and even murder in her journey to discover who she really is.Fortysomething mother of two Joséphine Cortès is at a crossroads. She has just moved to a posh...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Savage Country: A Novel

ROBERT OLMSTEAD · Algonquin Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"The year was 1873 and all about was the evidence of boom and bust, shattered dreams, foolish ambition, depredation, shame, greed, and cruelty . . ." Onto this broken Western stage rides Michael Coughlin, a Civil War veteran with an enigmatic past, come to town to settle his dead...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Black Snow: A Novel

Paul Lynch · Little, Brown and Company
Format: Hardcover

The startling new novel from a brilliant young Irish novelist on the rise, who "has a sensational gift for a sentence" (Colum McCann on Red Sky in Morning).In Donegal in the spring of 1945, a farmhand runs into a burning barn and does not come out alive. The farm's owner,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Place You Look: A Novel

Kristen Lepionka · Minotaur Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Nobody knows what happened to Sarah Cook. The beautiful blonde teenager disappeared fifteen years ago, the same night her parents were brutally murdered in their suburban Ohio home. Her boyfriend Brad Stockton -- black and from the wrong side of the tracks -- was convicted of the murders...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crush

Phoef Sutton · Prospect Park Books
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Caleb Rush, a. k. a. Crush, is the toughest, coolest bodyguard/bouncer in Los Angeles, a man who lives strictly by his own moral code, which doesn't exactly hew to the standards of US law. When Amelia Trask, the wild daughter of a scruples-free billionaire tycoon, comes to Crush for help,...
Read More check catalog