Back Top Choices | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Top Choices  
Heretics: A Novel

Leonardo Padura · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping novel of art theft, anti-Semitism, contemporary Cuba, and crime from a renowned Cuban authorIn 1939, the Saint Louis sails from Hamburg into Havana's port with hundreds of Jewish refugees seeking asylum from the Nazi regime. From the docks, nine-year-old Daniel Kaminsky watches...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kaplan ACT Premier 2016 with 8 Practice Tests: Personalized Feedback + Book + Online + DVD

Kaplan · Kaplan Publishing; 2nd Edition, Second Edition edition
Format: Print book

Kaplan's comprehensive ACT study program provides proven test-taking strategies, realistic practice tests and practice questions, in-depth guided practice, video tutorials, and an online center so that you can score higher on the ACT - guaranteed.College is becoming more competitive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wildest Dreams

Robyn Carr · Mira Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

www.robyncarr.comWith Thunder Point, #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr has created a town where hard work and determination are all it takes to make dreams come true Blake Smiley searched the country for just the right place to call home. The professional triathlete has traveled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street

John Brooks · Open Road Integrated Media
Pages: 459
Format: Print book

"Business Adventures remains the best business book I've ever read." - Bill Gates, The Wall Street Journal What do the $350 million Ford Motor Company disaster known as the Edsel, the fast and incredible rise of Xerox, and the unbelievable scandals at General Electric and Texas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Saint Anything

Sarah Dessen · Viking
Pages: 417
Format: Print book

A New York Times bestsellerA TIME Magazine Top 10 Children's Book of 2015 "Saint Anything is a poignant, honest story about how we might suffer the misfortune of someone else's bad choices, how people who love us can become family when we desperately need it, and how starting over...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Science Book

DK Publishing · DK ADULT
Format: Hardcover

With over 225,000 copies in print, DKs Big Ideas series has struck a chord with readers fascinated-but also intimidated-by complex subjects like philosophy, psychology, politics, and religion. The newest title in this successful and acclaimed series is The Science Book, an inventive visual...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future

Ashlee Vance · Ecco Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller - Named One of the Best Books of the Year by The Wall Street Journal, NPR, Audible and Amazon
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sell: The Secrets of Selling Anything to Anyone

Fredrik Eklund · Avery Publishing Group
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The nation's #1 real estate broker and star of Bravo's Million Dollar Listing New York shares his secrets for superstar success and getting what you want out of life - no matter who you are or what you do.Ten years ago, Fredrik Eklund moved to New York City from his native Sweden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
PRAXIS: Book + Online

Kaplan Publishing. · Kaplan Publishing; 11th Edition, Eleventh Edition, Eleventh Edition edition
Format: Book

Comprehensive review and practice for the PRAXIS series of exams for prospective teachers -- including Kaplans proven test-taking strategies!  Nearly 1 million prospective teachers took the PRAXIS exams last year. Praxis I is offered as a paper- or computer-based test and is designed for college...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In a dark, dark wood

Ruth Ware · Scout Press
Pages: 310
Format: Print book

AUTHOR OF THE WOMAN IN CABIN 10 INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, AND LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE An NPR Best Book of the Year, 2015 A ShelfAwareness Best Book of the Year, 2015 An Entertainment Weekly Summer Books Pick A Buzzfeed "31 Books...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Through the Woods

Emily Carroll · Margaret K McElderry
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

Discover a terrifying world in the woods in this collection of five hauntingly beautiful graphic stories that includes the online webcomic sensation "His Face All Red," in print for the first time.Journey through the woods in this sinister, compellingly spooky collection that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Truth According to Us: A Novel

Annie Barrows · The Dial Press
Pages: 491
Format: Print book

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE * From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Professor Is In: The Essential Guide To Turning Your Ph.D. Into a Job

Karen Kelsky · Three Rivers Press (CA)
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

The definitive career guide for grad students, adjuncts, post-docs and anyone else eager to get tenure or turn their Ph.D. into their ideal job Each year tens of thousands of students will, after years of hard work and enormous amounts of money, earn their Ph.D. And each year only a small...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Orphan #8: A Novel

Kim van Alkemade · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

In this stunning new historical novel inspired by true events, Kim van Alkemade tells the fascinating story of a woman who must choose between revenge and mercy when she encounters the doctor who subjected her to dangerous medical experiments in a New York City Jewish orphanage years before.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics

Richard H. Thaler · W. W. Norton & Company; First edition
Format: Hardcover

Get ready to change the way you think about economics.Richard H. Thaler has spent his career studying the radical notion that the central agents in the economy are humans -- predictable, error-prone individuals. Misbehaving is his arresting, frequently hilarious account of the struggle...
Read More check catalog