Back Top Choices | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Top Choices  
Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography

Laura Ingalls Wilder · South Dakota Historical Society Press; annotated edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Follow the real Laura Ingalls and her family as they make their way west and discover that truth is as remarkable as fiction. Hidden away since the 1930s, Laura Ingalls Wilder s never-before-published autobiography reveals the true stories of her pioneering life. Some of her experiences...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heretic: Why Islam Needs a Reformation Now

Ayaan Hirsi Ali · Harpercollins
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Continuing her journey from a deeply religious Islamic upbringing to a post at Harvard, the brilliant, charismatic and controversial New York Times and Globe and Mail #1 bestselling author of Infidel and Nomad makes a powerful plea for a Muslim Reformation as the only way to end the horrors...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Woman in the Room: Why Science Is Still a Boys' Club

Eileen Pollack · Beacon Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A bracingly honest exploration of why there are still so few women in the hard sciences, mathematics, engineering, and computer science In 2005, when Lawrence Summers, then president of Harvard, asked why so few women, even today, achieve tenured positions in the hard sciences, Eileen Pollack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen: Celebrating the Art of Eating Well

Amy Chaplin · Roost Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

James Beard Award Winner (Vegetarian)IACP Award Winner (Healthy Eating) A sophisticated vegetarian cookbook with all the tools you need to be at home in your kitchen, cooking in the most nourishing and delicious ways - from the foundations of stocking a pantry and understanding your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Joy of Leaving Your Sh*t All Over the Place: The Art of Being Messy

Jennifer McCartney · Countryman Press
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

Learn to be messy and everything else in your life will fall into place.The anti-clutter movement is having a moment. You may have heard about a book -- an entire book -- written on the topic of tidiness and how "magical" and "life-changing" it is to neaten up and THROW...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Braiding Handbook: 60 Modern Twists on the Classic Hairstyle

Abby Smith · Ulysses Press
Pages: 135
Format: Book

THE ULTIMATE GUIDE TO GORGEOUSLY BRAIDED HAIR, FROM ELEGANT WEDDING STYLES TO FUN WEEKEND 'DOSWhether you're running errands, going out on the town or walking down the aisle, the fashionable braids in this book will give you the perfect look for every occasion. Just follow the simple instructions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Waking Fire: The Draconis Memoria

Anthony Ryan · Ace Books
Pages: 582
Format: Print book

The New York Times bestselling Raven's Shadow Trilogy was a perfect read for "fans of broadscale epic fantasy along the lines of Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series and George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire novels."* Now, Anthony Ryan begins a new saga, The Draconis Memoria...Throughout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sodium Bicarbonate: Nature's Unique First Aid Remedy

Mark Sircus · Square One; 1 edition
Format: Book

What if there were a natural health-promoting substance that was inexpensive, available at any grocery store in the country, and probably sitting in your cupboard right now? There is. It is called sodium bicarbonate, although you may know it as baking soda. For years, sodium bicarbonate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Matheny Manifesto: A Young Manager's Old-School Views on Success in Sports and Life

Mike Matheny · Crown Archetype
Format: Hardcover

"Nothing worth doing right is easy."-Mike Matheny Mike Matheny was just forty-one, without professional managerial experience and looking for a next step after a successful career as a Major League catcher, when he succeeded the legendary Tony La Russa as manager of the St. Louis...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Archmage

R. A. Salvatore · Wizards of the Coast
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

DRIZZT RETURNS TO THE UNDERDARK! "After a quarter of a century, R.A. Salvatore just keeps getting better and better, and The Companions is another masterful leap forward for one of the greatest fantasy epics of all time." - Philip Athans, best-selling author of Annihilation and Writing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rich People Problems: A Novel

KEVIN KWAN · Doubleday
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Kevin Kwan, bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians and China Rich Girlfriend, is back with an uproarious new novel of a family riven by fortune, an ex-wife driven psychotic with jealousy, a battle royal fought through couture gown sabotage, and the heir to one of Asia's greatest fortunes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadow Spell

Nora Roberts · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 339
Format: Paperback

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts comes a trilogy about the land we're drawn to, the family we learn to cherish, and the people we long to love ... Book Two of The Cousins O'Dwyer TrilogyShadow SpellWith the legends and lore of Ireland running through his blood,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gumption: Relighting the Torch of Freedom with America's Gutsiest Troublemakers

Nick Offerman · Dutton Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The star of Parks and Recreation and author of the New York Times bestseller Paddle Your Own Canoe returns with a second book that humorously highlights twenty-one figures from our nation's history, from her inception to present day - Nick's personal pantheon of "great Americans."To...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Ed Catmull · Random House
Pages: 340
Format: Hardcover

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, the Academy Award-winning studio behind Inside Out and Toy Story, comes an incisive book about creativity in business - sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath....
Read More check catalog
 
 
E-Cubed: Nine More Energy Experiments That Prove Manifesting Magic and Miracles Is Your Full-Time Gig

Pam Grout · Hay House
Format: Print book

E-Squared, the international hit sensation described by one reader as The Secret on crack, provided the training wheels, the baby steps, to really getting it that thoughts create reality.      In E-Cubed dont worry—there will never be E to the 10th Power, Pam Grout takes you higher...
Read More check catalog