Back Staff Picks | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Staff Picks  
Unti Silva Novel #7

DANIEL SILVA · Harper
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

From Daniel Silva, the #1 New York Times-bestselling author, comes a modern masterpiece of espionage, love, and betrayalShe was his best-kept secret ... In an isolated village in the mountains of Andalusia, a mysterious Frenchwoman begins work on a dangerous memoir. It is the story of a man she once...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The death of Mrs. Westaway

Ruth Ware
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

"The highly anticipated fourth novel from Ruth Ware, The Globe and Mail and New York Times bestselling author of the In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, and The Lying Game. Harriet Westaway-better known as Hal-makes ends meet as a tarot reader, but she doesn't believe in the power...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Can't Date Jesus: Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I've Put My Faith in Beyoncé

MICHAEL ARCENEAUX · Atria / 37 INK
Pages: 256
Format: eBook

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can't Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I'm Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors, and the Drug Company that Addicted America

BETH MACY · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Factory Man comes the only book to fully chart the opioid crisis in America-an unforgettable portrait of the families and first responders on the front lines.In this masterful work, Beth Macy takes us into the epicenter of America's twenty-plus...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finding Jake: A Novel

Bryan Reardon · William Morrow
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

Now a New York Times Best Seller - Finding Jake is a heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does--and does not--know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Before We Were Yours: A Novel

LISA WINGATE · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Women in the Castle: A Novel

Jessica Shattuck · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"Moving . . . surprises and devastates." - New York Times Book Review"A masterful epic." - People magazine"Mesmerizing . . . The Women in the Castle stands tall among the literature that reveals new truths about one of history's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Favorite Sister

Jessica Knoll · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From Jessica Knoll - author of Luckiest Girl Alive, the instant New York Times bestseller and the bestselling debut novel of 2015 - comes a blisteringly paced thriller starring competitive sisters whose dark secrets and lies result in murder when they sign onto a reality TV show.When five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pops: Fatherhood in Pieces

MICHAEL CHABON · Harper
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

"Magical prose stylist" Michael Chabon (Michiko Kakutani, New York Times) delivers a collection of essays - heartfelt, humorous, insightful, wise - on the meaning of fatherhood, anchored by the viral sensation, "My Son, The Prince of Fashion".For the September 2016...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman in the Woods

JOHN CONNOLLY · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 481
Format: Hardcover

"Fans will agree that this is Connolly's masterpiece." - Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review) *Includes a free soundtrack download* From internationally bestselling author and "creative genius who has few equals in either horror fiction or the mystery genre"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The French Girl

Lexie Elliott · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Widow and The Woman in Cabin 10: One woman becomes trapped in the tangled bonds of friendship in an exhilarating debut novel of psychological suspense.We all have our secrets...They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng · Penguin Press
Pages: 338
Format: Hardcover

Entertainment Weekly's #1 Must-Read Book for Fall Reese Witherspoon's Book Club's (@RWBookClub) Selection #1 Library Reads Pick From the bestselling author of Everything I Never Told You, a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warning Light

David Ricciardi · Berkley
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

No one knows what CIA desk jockey Zac Miller is capable of--including himself--when a routine surveillance job becomes a do-or-die mission in the Middle East.When a commercial flight violates restricted airspace to make an emergency landing at a closed airport in Iran, the passengers are just...
Read More check catalog