Back In the Garden | July Newsletter

Simple News Pro
  In the Garden  
Science Project Ideas About Trees

Robert Gardner · Enslow Pub Inc
Pages: 96
Format: Library Binding

Contains many experiments introducing the processes that take place in plants and trees
Read More check catalog
 
 
Super Simple Salad Gardens:: A Kid's Guide to Gardening

Alex Kuskowski · Super Sandcastle
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

Presents information about salad gardens, discussing how to choose the right tools, start plants from seeds, and follow safety rules, with instructions for making plant markers and a scarecrow.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Victory Garden Kids' Book

Marjorie Waters · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 148
Format: Paperback

Uses the experiences of a group of children, aged three to thirteen, working through an entire season in their own garden, as a background for general information on buying plants and seeds, using tools, planting and watering, and picking the harvest.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pumpkins

Jacqueline Farmer · Charlesbridge
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Did you know pumpkins have been around for 11,000 years? Or that the biggest pumpkin on record weighed over 1,300 pounds? Learn all about pumpkins - where they come from, how to grow them, and more - in this informative book that's guaranteed to squash the competition. Recipes, fun facts,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Harvest Pumpkins in Fall

Rebecca Felix · Cherry Lake Pub
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Level 1 guided reader that explores harvesting pumpkins in the fall. Students will develop reading skills while learning about pumpkins being grown, picked, eaten and carved.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Herb Gardens: Simple Secrets for Glorious Gardens--Indoors and Out

Georgeanne Brennan · Chronicle Books
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

It's no wonder the best-selling Little Herb Gardens, now with a fresh new cover, has been so popular. Herbs are the instant gratification project of the gardening world, and people love to grow them. This friendly guide to homegrown herbs is perfect for beginners, featuring plans for simple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Handful of Sunshine

Melanie Eclare · Ragged Bear
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Splendid in-your-face pictures, an over-sized format and an informal straightforward text combine to illustrate the quiet miracle of a sunflower's growth from seed to magnificent blossom. Illustrating a project repeated yearly in countless pre-school and elementary class rooms across America,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Super Simple Fairy Gardens:: A Kid's Guide to Gardening

Alex Kuskowski · Super Sandcastle
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

Presents information about creating a fairy garden, discussing how to choose the right tools, start plants from seeds, and pick the right container, with instructions for setting up a fairy flower garden and a beach garden.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flowers for Everyone

Dorothy Hinshaw Patent · Cobblehill Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

Describes how flowers grow from seed to plant, discusses pollination, how new varieties are created, how modern science aids the orchid grower, and how flower seeds are grown and harvested
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eating Green

Sunita Apte · Bearport Pub Co Inc
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

Looks at energy used to produce and transport food, examines some practices that make farming unsustainable, and presents information on how to shop and eat responsibly.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cranberries: Fruit of the Bogs

Diane L Burns · Carolrhoda Books
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

Discusses the history of the cranberry and looks at the activities on a modern cranberry farm during each of the four seasons
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seeds: Pop, Stick, Glide

Patricia Lauber · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 57
Format: Hardcover

Text and photographs describe the many different ways that seeds travel and disperse.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plants on the Trail with Lewis and Clark

Dorothy Hinshaw Patent · Clarion Books
Pages: 104
Format: Hardcover

When Meriwether Lewis and William Clark embarked on their landmark journey of discovery in 1804, President Thomas Jefferson directed them to notice "the soil and face of the country, its growth and vegetable productions." The explorers collected and preserved nearly two hundred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Day in the Life of a Farmer

Heather Adamson · Capstone Press
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

This book follows a farmer through the work day, and describes the occupation and what the job requires.
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Tree Is Growing

Arthur Dorros · Scholastic
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A picture book introduction to trees by the author of Rain Forest Secrets follows the growth of an oak tree over the course of a year.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nature Close-Up - Slime, Mold and Fungi

Elaine Pascoe · Blackbirch Press
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Photographs by Dwight Kuhn Set off on a slime hunt; learn how to collect puffballs, lichens, and other fungi; grow your own molds and yeasts; observe and chart the growth of molds found everywhere in your home or school.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Walker Evans: Photographs For The Farm Security Administration 1935-1938

Walker Evans · Da Capo Press
Pages: 503
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
Planting the Wild Garden

Wendy Anderson Halperin · Peachtree Publishers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Seed by seed, we plant the wild meadow garden wind and water, birds and animals, plants and people all of us together.In this lyrical picture book, author Kathryn O. Galbraith explains the many ways in which seeds are spread and planted.A farmer and her son plant vegetables in their garden,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Autumn Leaves

Ken Robbins · Scholastic Press
Pages: 39
Format: Hardcover

A concise text and crisp, close-up, color photographs of thirteen different leaves from North American trees teach very young children how to look at and compare the leaves of autumn, and are accompanied by an explanation of why they turn color.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Experimenting With Plants: Projects for Home, Garden, and Classroom

Charlie Parker · Arco Pub
Format: Hardcover

Book by Beller, Joel
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tiny Wish

Lori Evert · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

The kind and brave heroine of the bestselling The Christmas Wish returns in a springtime adventure! When Anja wishes to be tiny to win a game of hide-and-seek, her wish comes true! Just a few inches tall, she must find her way home with the help of some new animal friends. Extraordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trees

National Audubon Society. · Scholastic
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

A visual guide to the natural science of trees as well as a field guide to the trees found in the United States and Canada
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dirt Cure: Growing Healthy Kids with Food Straight from Soil

Maya Shetreat-Klein · Atria Books
Pages: 374
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Mark Hyman, and Andrew Weil, pioneering integrative pediatric neurologist Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD, reveals the shocking contents of children's food, how it's seriously harming their bodies and brains, and what we can do about it. And she presents the first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Childs Garden: Enchanting Outdoor Spaces for Children and Parents

Molly Dannenmaier · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 191
Format: Hardcover

Offers ideas on how to create thriving gardens that give children the space and creative play areas they need, as well as the beauty and functionality adults desire
Read More check catalog