Back Ages 4-8 | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
I Am Yoga

Susan Verde · Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2015.
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

An eagle soaring among the clouds or a star twinkling in the night sky . . . a camel in the desert or a boat sailing across the sea - yoga has the power of transformation. Not only does it strengthen bodies and calm minds, but with a little imagination, it can show us that anything is possible.New...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Malala, a Brave Girl from Pakistan/Iqbal, a Brave Boy from Pakistan: Two Stories of Bravery

Jeanette Winter · Beach Lane Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Meet two heroes of Pakistan who stood up for the rights to freedom and education in these inspirational nonfiction tales from acclaimed author-illustrator Jeanette Winter. Two stories of bravery in one beautiful book—including the story of Malala Yousafzai, a winner of the 2014 Nobel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky's Abstract Art

Barb Rosenstock · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A Caldecott Honor BookVasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they expected him to paint pretty houses and flowers - like a proper artist. But as Vasya...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oskar and the Eight Blessings

Tanya Simon · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A refugee seeking sanctuary from the horrors of Kristallnacht, Oskar arrives by ship in New York City with only a photograph and an address for an aunt he has never met. It is both the seventh day of Hanukkah and Christmas Eve, 1938. As Oskar walks the length of Manhattan, from the Battery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everyone Can Learn to Ride a Bicycle

Chris Raschka · Schwartz & Wade
Format: Hardcover

"[Raschka's] marvelous sequences, fluid style, and emotional intelligence capture all of the momentum and exhilaration of this glorious accomplishment," raves School Library Journal in a starred review.Learning to ride a bike is one of the most important milestones of childhood,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dragonsitter's Island

Josh Lacey · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

Book 4 in a fresh, funny chapter book series, told in a series of emails, about a boy named Eddie and two naughty pet dragons Eddie is dragonsitting again, this time on Uncle Morton's island As if the dragons weren't enough, there are some strange things afoot: the local sheep are disappearing,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frederick Douglass

Emma E Haldy; Jeff Bane · Cherry Lake Publishing
Pages: 24
Format:  Print book : Biography : Juvenile audience : EnglishView all editions and formats

The My Itty-Bitty Bio series are biographies for the earliest readers. This book examines the life of Frederick Douglas in a simple, age-appropriate way that will help children develop word recognition and reading skills. Includes a timeline and other informative backmatter.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Viva Frida

Yuyi Morales · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A 2015 Caldecott Honor BookA 2015 Pura Belpré (Illustrator) AwardFrida Kahlo, one of the world's most famous and unusual artists is revered around the world. Her life was filled with laughter, love, and tragedy, all of which influenced what she painted on her canvases. Distinguished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sprout Street Neighbors: A New Arrival

Anna Alter · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 111
Format: Hardcover

There's a new neighbor on Sprout Street in this early reader series perfect for fans of Clementine, Just Grace, and Ivy & Bean. Mili has just moved into the empty apartment on Sprout Street all the way from Hawaii--and her new neighbors can't wait to meet her! Violet is happy there's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Wet Balloon: TOON Level 2

Liniers · Toon Books
Pages: 31
Format: Hardcover

A Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year.When her sister, Clemmie, refuses to play in the rain, Matilda wants to teach her the delights of a wet Saturday. They end up learning an unforgettable lesson. Kirkus Reviews declared, "This warm and accessible story is sure to be a favorite."
Read More check catalog
 
 
If I Were a Firefighter

Thomas Kingsley Troupe · Picture Window Books
Format: Book

If I were a firefighter, I would rush into burning buildings to rescue people. I would blast flames with water and foam. Dream big, and see what fun it is to be a firefighter!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marvel's Captain America: Civil War Reader #2

Marvel · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Paperback

A leveled reader based on the new movie, Captain America: Civil War! 2016 MARVEL. All Rights Reserved.
Read More check catalog
 
 
My America: Hope In My Heart, Sofia's Ellis Island Diary, Book One

Kathryn Lasky · Scholastic
Pages: 106
Format: Paperback

In Book One of Sofia's Ellis Island Diary, renowned author Kathryn Lasky tells the story of Sofia Monari's arrival in America from Italy.When Sofia and her family arrive in Ellis Island after a long and difficult journey from Italy, a cruel twist of fate separates Sofia from her parents...
Read More check catalog