Back History | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
The Race to Save the Romanovs: The Truth Behind the Secret Plans to Rescue the Russian Imperial Family

HELEN RAPPAPORT · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

Investigating the murder of the Russian Imperial Family, Helen Rappaport embarks on a quest to uncover the many international plots to save them, why they failed, and who was responsible.

The murder of the Romanov family in July 1918 horrified the world and its aftershocks still...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight in Chernobyl: The Untold Story of the World's Greatest Nuclear Disaster

Adam Higginbotham · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

Journalist Adam Higginbotham's definitive, years-in-the-making account of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster - and a powerful investigation into how propaganda, secrecy, and myth have obscured the true story of one of the twentieth century's greatest disasters.

Early in the morning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era

Gareth Russell · Atria Books
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

In this original and meticulously researched narrative history, the author of the "stunning" (The Sunday Times) Young and Damned and Fair uses the sinking of the Titanic as a prism through which to examine the end of the Edwardian era and the seismic shift...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown.

Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom

DAVID W BLIGHT · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 896
Format: Hardcover

The definitive, dramatic biography of the most important African-American of the nineteenth century: Frederick Douglass, the escaped slave who became the greatest orator of his day and one of the leading abolitionists and writers of the era.

As a young man Frederick Douglass (1818-1895)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Chronology of Art

Iain Zaczek · Thames & Hudson
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A fresh take on the history of art, using cultural timelines to reveal little-known connections and influences between artworks and artistic movementsMost surveys of the history of art are divided into historic periods, artistic schools, and movements. In reality, movements and artists'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kovels' Antiques and Collectibles Price Guide 2019

TERRY KOVEL KIM KOVEL · Black Dog & Leventhal
Pages: 592
Format: Paperback

The 2019 KOVELS' ANTIQUES AND COLLECTIBLES PRICE GUIDE is the most complete and best-illustrated price guide available--with 15,000 listings and more than 2,500 full-color photographs--from the most trusted name in the industry.
The Kovels are the most trusted source...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books: Christopher Columbus, His Son, and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library

Edward Wilson-Lee · Scribner
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Stephen Greenblatt's The Swerve and Dava Sobel's Galileo's Daughter, a vividly rendered account of the forgotten quest by Christopher Columbus's son to create the greatest library in the world - "a perfectly pitched poetic drama" (Financial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grant

RON CHERNOW · Penguin Press
Pages: 1104
Format: Hardcover

Pulitzer Prize winner Ron Chernow returns with a sweeping and dramatic portrait of one of our most compelling generals and presidents, Ulysses S. Grant.

Ulysses S. Grant's life has typically been misunderstood. All too often he is caricatured as a chronic loser and an inept businessman,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seven Roads to Hell: A Screaming Eagle at Bastogne

Donald R. Burgett · Presidio Press
Format: Illustrated]

The Screaming Eagles of the 101st Airborne Division (fictional Private Ryan's unit) were ready for some well earned rest and recuperation. Following their combat in the Normandy Invasion, the division had been mauled during Field Marshal Montgomery's ill-fated Operation Market Garden,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Women Ruled the World: Six Queens of Egypt

KARA COONEY · National Geographic
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

This riveting narrative explores the lives of six remarkable female pharaohs, from Hatshepsut to Cleopatra--women who ruled with real power--and shines a piercing light on our own perceptions of women in power today.

Female rulers are a rare phenomenon--but thousands of years ago in ancient...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A People's History of the American Revolution: How Common People Shaped the Fight for Independence

Ray Raphael · New Press
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

Upon its first publication in 2001 as the inaugural volume in The New Press People's History series, edited by the late Howard Zinn, Ray Raphael's magisterial A People's History of the American Revolution was hailed by Fresh Air as "relentlessly aggressive and unsentimental."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West

David McCullough · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story - the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredible hardships to build a community based...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rough Riders: Theodore Roosevelt, His Cowboy Regiment, and the Immortal Charge Up San Juan Hill

Mark Lee Gardner · William Morrow
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

The first definitive account of this legendary fighting force and its extraordinary leader, Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Lee Gardner's Rough Riders is narrative nonfiction at its most invigorating and compulsively readable. Its dramatic unfolding of a familiar, yet not-fully-known story...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Angola Louisiana State Penitentiary: A Half-Century of Rage and Reform

Anne Butler · University of Louisiana
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

One tried to swim his way out, masquerading in woman's finery that dragged him beneath the raging waters of the Mississippi River. Others tried to rehabilitate their ways out, only to find themselves after all still mired inescapably in the turbulent murky quagmire of Louisiana politics....
Read More check catalog