Back Science Fiction & Fantasy | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction & Fantasy  
The Deep

Rivers Solomon · Gallery / Saga Press
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

The water-breathing descendants of African slave women tossed overboard have built their own underwater society - and must reclaim the memories of their past to shape their future in this brilliantly imaginative novella inspired by the Hugo Award nominated song "The Deep" from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kiss of Wrath: A Deadly Angels Book

Sandra Hill · Avon
Format: Paperback

The vangels are back in Kiss of Wrath, the latest in Sandra Hill's bestselling Dark Angels series No wicked wenches or wild rampages . . . it's been centuries since Mordr the Berserker was turned into a vangel - a Viking vampire angel - as punishment for his sin of wrath, and he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Ballantine. · Del Rey
Pages: 319
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Go beyond the film with a novelization featuring new scenes and expanded material.

As the shadows of the Empire loom ever larger across the galaxy, so do deeply troubling rumors. The Rebellion has learned of a sinister Imperial plot to bring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What the Waves Know: A Novel

Tamara Valentine · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Beth Hoffman comes a compelling debut novel about a young woman's quest to find herself - and her voice - on the island where she lost both.

The tiny state of Rhode Island is home to even tinier Tillings Island - which witnessed the biggest...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Ultima

Stephen Baxter · Roc
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

Hailed as "one of the most inventive writers that science fiction has ever produced" (SF Site) , Stephen Baxter builds on the massive success of Proxima with a career-defining novel of big ideas....On the planet of Per Ardua, alien artifacts were discovered - hatches that allowed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scepters (Corean Chronicles, Book 3)

L. E. Modesitt · Tor Fantasy
Pages: 768
Format: Mass Market Paperback

The popular creator of Recluce and of the Spellsong world of Liedwahr has built a whole new fantasy world on Corus. With each new volume of the Corean Chronicles we learn more about the magical underpinnings of this fascinating realm as we follow the continuing adventures of his reluctant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2010: Odyssey Two

Arthur C Clarke · Ballantine Books
Pages: 291
Format: Print book

2001: A Space Odyssey shocked, amazed, and delighted millions in the late 1960s. An instant book and movie classic, its fame has grown over the years. Yet along with the almost universal acclaim, a host of questions has grown more insistent through the years, for example: who or what transformed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Noir: A Novel

Christopher Moore · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The absurdly outrageous, sarcastically satiric, and always entertaining New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moore returns in finest madcap form with this zany noir set on the mean streets of post-World War II San Francisco, and featuring a diverse cast of characters, including...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Hill

Jamie McGuire · Atria Books
Pages: 360
Format: Paperback

When the world ends, can love survive?

When the world ends, can love survive?

For Scarlet, raising her two daughters alone means fighting for tomorrow is an everyday battle. Nathan has a wife, but can't remember what it's like to be in love; only his young daughter Zoe makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Return of the King

J R R Tolkien · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 1137
Format: Paperback

The standard harcover edition of the concluding volume of The Lord of the Rings includes a large format fold-out map and extensive appendices. As the Shadow of Mordor grows across the land, the Companions of the Ring have become involved in separate adventures. Aragorn, revealed as the hidden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Definitely Dead

Charlaine Harris · Ace; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

As a person with so few living relatives, Louisiana cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse really hated to lose one. But she never guessed that it would be her cousin Hadley—a consort of the Vampire Queen of New Orleans. After all, technically speaking, Hadley was already dead. And now,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hills Have Spies

MERCEDES LACKEY · Daw Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this new series, set in the bestselling world of Valdemar, Heralds Mags and Amily must continue to protect the realm of Valdemar while raising their children and preparing them to follow in their footsteps. Mags, Herald Spy of Valdemar, and his wife Amily are happily married with three...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Future of Another Timeline

Annalee Newitz · Tor Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The Future of Another Timeline is a dark thriller from Annalee Newitz, the founding editor of io9, about the lengths we'll go to protect the ones we love. In a modern-day United States that's just a step away from our own, time travel is possible. But a secret war is brewing...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea: Stories

Sarah Pinsker · Small Beer Press
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Sooner or Later Everything Falls into the Sea is one of the most anticipated sf&f collections of recent years. Pinsker has shot like a star across the firmament with stories multiply nominated for awards as well as Sturgeon and Nebula award wins.

The baker's dozen stories...

Read More check catalog