Back Outdoors & Nature | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
The Parrot Companion: Caring for Parrots, Macaws, Budgies, Cockatiels and More

Rosemary Low · Firefly Books
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Quick access to comprehensive information and expert guidance for parrot owners. Parrots are loved for their intelligence, sociability, longevity and humorous, almost-human characteristics. These same attractive qualities demand serious consideration and commitment when acquiring a parrot....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wasp That Brainwashed the Caterpillar: Evolution's Most Unbelievable Solutions to Life's Biggest Problems

Matt Simon · Penguin Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

"A bizarre collection of evolution tales . . . the weirder, the better." - Entertainment WeeklyA fascinating exploration of the awe-inspiring, weird, and unsettling ingenuity of evolutionOn a barren seafloor, the pearlfish swims into the safety of a sea cucumber's anus. To find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Dinosaurs Matter

KEN LACOVARA · Simon & Schuster/ TED
Pages: 120
Format: Hardcover

What can long-dead dinosaurs teach us about our future? Plenty, according to paleontologist Kenneth Lacovara, who has discovered some of the largest creatures to ever walk the Earth.By tapping into the ubiquitous wonder that dinosaurs inspire, Lacovara weaves together the stories of our geological...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Flight of the Scarlet Macaw: One Woman's Fight to Save the World's Most Beautiful Bird

Bruce Barcott · Random House; 1 edition
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

“The first time we came here I didn’t know what to expect,” she told me as we paddled upstream. “What we found just blew me away. Jaguars, pumas, river otters, howler monkeys. The place was like a Noah’s Ark for all the endangered species driven out of the rest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mother of God: An Extraordinary Journey into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon

Paul Rosolie · Harper,
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie's extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon - a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
John Muir and the Ice That Started a Fire: How A Visionary And The Glaciers Of Alaska Changed America

Kim Heacox · Lyons Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A dual biography of two of the most compelling elements in the narrative of wild America, John Muir and Alaska.John Muir was a fascinating man who was many things: inventor, scientist, revolutionary, druid (a modern day Celtic priest), husband, son, father and friend, and a shining son of the Scottish...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Thirst: The Secret Life and Turbulent Future of Water

Charles Fishman · Free Press; Reprint edition
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

The water coming out of your kitchen tap is four billion years old and might well have been sipped by a Tyrannosaurus rex. Rather than only three states of water—liquid, ice, and vapor—there is a fourth, “molecular water,” fused into rock 400 miles deep in the Earth,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peterson Field Guide to Birds of North America

Roger Tory Peterson · Houghton Mifflin Co.
Pages: 527
Format: Print book

Peterson Field Guide Birds Na
Read More check catalog
 
 
Infested: How the Bed Bug Infiltrated Our Bedrooms and Took Over the World

Brooke Borel · University of Chicago Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Bed bugs. Few words strike such fear in the minds of travelers. In cities around the world, lurking beneath the plush blankets of otherwise pristine-looking hotel beds are tiny bloodthirsty beasts just waiting for weary wanderers to surrender to a vulnerable slumber. Though bed bugs today...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All The Wild That Remains: Edward Abbey, Wallace Stegner, and the American West

David Gessner · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

An homage to the West and to two great writers who set the standard for all who celebrate and defend it.Archetypal wild man Edward Abbey and proper, dedicated Wallace Stegner left their footprints all over the western landscape. Now, award-winning nature writer David Gessner follows the ghosts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seaweeds: Edible, Available, and Sustainable

Ole G. Mouritsen · University Of Chicago Press; Tra edition
Format: Book

Until recently, seaweed for most Americans was nothing but a nuisance, clinging to us as we swim in the ocean and stinking up the beach as it rots in the sun. With the ever-growing popularity of sushi restaurants across the country, however, seaweed is becoming a substantial part of our total...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guinea Pig: Your Happy Healthy Pet

Audrey Pavia · Howell Book House; 2 edition
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

The authoritative information and advice you need, illustrated throughout with full-color photographs--now revised and redesigned to be even more reader-friendly!* An illustrated look at colors and breeds * The story of how guinea pigs were domesticated* Advice on selecting a guinea pig*...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes

Svante PaÌ?aÌ?bo · Basic Books
Pages: 275
Format: Hardcover

What can we learn from the genomes of our closest evolutionary relatives?Neanderthal Man tells the story of geneticist Svante Pääbo's mission to answer this question, and recounts his ultimately successful efforts to genetically define what makes us different from our Neanderthal...
Read More check catalog