Back Entertainment | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Bad Mother: A Chronicle of Maternal Crimes, Minor Calamities, and Occasional Moments of Grace

Ayelet Waldman · Anchor
Format: Book

In our mothers day there were good mothers, indifferent mothers, and occasionally, great mothers. Today we have only Bad Mothers If you work, youre neglectful if you stay home, youre smothering. If you discipline, youre buying them a spot on the shrinks couch if you let them run wild, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Bastards: 101 Worst Scoundrels and Scandals from the World of Politics and Power

Brian Thornton · Adams Media
Format: Book

Move over, Benedict Arnold . . .Oh to be sure, America's first traitor is one of the 101 bastards you will find in this one-of-a-kind account of bad guys in Washington. But compared to some of the gross misconduct in this frighteningly funny history book, well, let's just say he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hedy's Folly: The Life and Breakthrough Inventions of Hedy Lamarr, the Most Beautiful Woman in the World

Richard Rhodes · Doubleday; 1ST edition
Format: Hardcover

What do Hedy Lamarr, avant-garde composer George Antheil, and your cell phone have in common? The answer is spread-spectrum radio a revolutionary invention based on the rapid switching of communications signals among a spread of different frequencies. Without this technology, we would not have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin

Kathy Griffin · Ballantine Books
Pages: 357
Format: Print book

A Conversation with Kathy Griffin:Q: State your name and profession.KG: My name is Kathy Griffin, and I am a teller of d**k jokes. And a plumber.Q: This is your first book. Had you ever considered writing anything before? A novel? Or a work of historical scholarship? Or a children's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Was Told There'd Be Cake: Essays

Sloane Crosley · Riverhead Books
Pages: 230
Format: Paperback

From the author of the novel, The Clasp, hailed by Michael Chabon, Heidi Julavits, and J. Courtney Sullivan.Wry, hilarious, and profoundly genuine, this debut collection of literary essays from Sloane Crosley is a celebration of fallibility and haplessness in all their glory. From despoiling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents Earth

Jon Stewart · Grand Central Publishing; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The eagerly awaited new book from the Emmy-winning, Oscar-hosting, Daily Show-anchoring Jon Stewart--the man behind the megaseller America (The Book). Where do we come from? Who created us? Why are we here? These questions have puzzled us since the dawn of time, but when it became apparent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Seventh Day: A Novel

Yu Hua · Pantheon; Reissue edition
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed author of Brothers and To Live: a major new novel that limns the joys and sorrows of life in contemporary China. Yang Fei was born on a moving train. Lost by his mother, adopted by a young switchman, raised with simplicity and love, he is utterly unprepared for the tempestuous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Suck On This Year: LYFAO @ 140 Characters or Less

Dr. Denis Leary · Viking Adult; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

One of America's most original and biting comic satirists, Denis Leary turns his irreverent eye and scathing humor on everything you love and cherish-and now he does it with a hilarious, illustrated collection of Tweets! Like a quiver full of arrows, Suck On This Year's barbs will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Jacob Tomsky · Doubleday; First Ed 1st Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry. Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Truck: A Love Story (P.S.)

Michael Perry · Harper Perennial; Reprint edition
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

The author of Population: 485 returns, delivering a truckload of humor, heart, and . . . gardening tips? Think Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, complete with stock cars, sexy vegetables, and a laugh track."All I wanted to do was fix my old pickup truck," says Michael...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sag Harbor: A Novel

Colson Whitehead · Doubleday
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The warm, funny, and supremely original new novel from one of the most acclaimed writers in America The year is 1985. Benji Cooper is one of the only black students at an elite prep school in Manhattan. He spends his falls and winters going to roller-disco bar mitzvahs, playing too much...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Coop: A Year of Poultry, Pigs, and Parenting

Michael Perry · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

From the acclaimed author of Population: 485 and Truck: A Love Story comes a humorous, heartfelt memoir of a new life in the country. Living in a ramshackle Wisconsin farmhouse -- faced with thirty-seven acres of fallen fences and overgrown fields, and informed by his pregnant wife...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tough Without a Gun: The Life and Extraordinary Afterlife of Humphrey Bogart

Stefan Kanfer · Knopf; 1ST edition
Format: Hardcover

Humphrey Bogart its hard to think of anyone whos had the same lasting impact on the culture of movies. Though he died at the young age of fifty-seven more than half a century ago, his influence among actors and filmmakers, and his enduring appeal for film lovers around the world, remains...
Read More check catalog