Back Biographies & Memoirs | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
All Pets Go To Heaven: The Spiritual Lives of the Animals We Love

Sylvia Browne · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Pets have a special place in our hearts and homes - but do they share our destiny after death?World-famous psychic, spiritual teacher, and New York Times bestselling author Sylvia Browne reveals the very special purpose our pets have on Earth - and what animals experience after death.With...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What I Know For Sure

Oprah Winfrey · Flatiron Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

As a creative force, student of the human heart and soul, and champion of living the life you want, Oprah Winfrey stands alone. Over the years, she has made history with a legendary talk show - the highest-rated program of its kind, launched her own television network, become the nation's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Story

Elizabeth Smart · St. Martin's Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, ten years after her abduction from her Salt Lake City bedroom, Elizabeth Smart reveals how she survived and the secret to forging a new life in the wake of a brutal crimeOn June 5, 2002, fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Smart, the daughter of a close-knit Mormon family, was taken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After the Eclipse: A Mother's Murder, a Daughter's Search

Sarah Perry · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A fierce memoir of a mother's murder, a daughter's coming-of-age in the wake of immense loss, and her mission to know the woman who gave her life. When Sarah Perry was twelve, she saw a partial eclipse of the sun, an event she took as a sign of good fortune for her and her mother, Crystal....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander

Phil Robertson · Howard Books; Nineteenth Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

This no-holds-barred autobiography chronicles the remarkable life of Phil Robertson, the original Duck Commander and Duck Dynasty® star, from early childhood through the founding of a family business.LIVING THE DREAM Duck calls - though the source of his livelihood - are not what makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grant's Final Victory: Ulysses S. Grant's Heroic Last Year

Charles Bracelen Flood · Da Capo Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Shortly after losing all of his wealth in a terrible 1884 swindle, Ulysses S. Grant learned he had terminal throat and mouth cancer. Destitute and dying, Grant began to write his memoirs to save his family from permanent financial ruin.As Grant continued his work, suffering increasing pain,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mastering the Art of Soviet Cooking: A Memoir of Food and Longing

Anya Von Bremzen · Crown; First Edition first Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

A James Beard Award-winning writer captures life under the Red socialist banner in this wildly inventive, tragicomic memoir of feasts, famines, and three generations        Born in 1963, in an era of bread shortages, Anya grew up in a communal Moscow apartment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sound of Wings: The Life of Amelia Earhart

Mary S Lovell · St. Martin's Griffin; Reprint edition
Format: Print book

When Amelia Earhart mysteriously disappeared in 1937 during her attempted flight around the world, she was already known as Americas most famous female aviator. Her sense of daring and determination, rare for women of her time, brought her insurmountable fame from the day she became the first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rocks: My Life in and out of Aerosmith

Joe Perry · Simon & Schuster; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

An insightful and harrowing roller coaster ride through the career of one of rock and rolls greatest guitarists. Strap yourself in. —Slash Rocking Joe Perry rocks again! —Jimmy Page Before the platinum records or the Super Bowl half-time show or the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Joe Perry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort Food Diaries

Emily Nunn · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family.One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Newton and the Counterfeiter: The Unknown Detective Career of the World's Greatest Scientist

Thomas Levenson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 318
Format: Print book

A fascinating slice of true-crime history that unfolds in 1695, when law enforcement was unheard of and modern money was little more than a concept When renowned scientist Isaac Newton took up the post of Warden of His Majesty's Mint in London, another kind of genius - a preternaturally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love at First Bark: How Saving a Dog Can Sometimes Help You Save Yourself

Julie Klam · Riverhead Hardcover; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling memoirist shows how saving a dog can sometimes help you save yourself. Julie Klam writes about dogs with a rollicking wit and a radiating warmth-as no other writer can. In her bestselling memoir You Had Me at Woof, she shared the secrets of happiness she learned as an occasionally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Spice Necklace: My Adventures in Caribbean Cooking, Eating, and Island Life

Ann Vanderhoof · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

While sailing around the Caribbean, Ann Vanderhoof and her husband Steve track wild oregano-eating goats in the cactus-covered hills of the Dominican Republic, gather nutmegs on an old estate in Grenada, make searing-hot pepper sauce in a Trinidadian kitchen, cram for a chocolate-tasting...
Read More check catalog