Back Biographies & Memoirs | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Blood Will Out: The True Story of a Murder, a Mystery, and a Masquerade

Walter Kirn · W W Norton & Co Inc
Pages: 255
Format: Hardcover

A Slate, San Francisco Chronicle, Amazon, and BookPage Best Book of 2014 A USA Today Top 10 Best Book of Winter 2014 An In Cold Blood for our time, a chilling, compulsive story of a writer unwittingly caught in the wake of a grifter-turned-murderer. In the summer of 1998, Walter Kirn - then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time

Valerie Bertinelli · Free Press
Pages: 277
Format: Print book

Valerie Bertinelli, then: bubbly sitcom star and America's Sweetheart turned tabloid headline and rock star wife. Now: actress, single working mother of teenage rock star, and weight-loss inspiration to millions.We all knew and loved Valerie Bertinelli years ago when she played girl-next-door...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Joan Mitchell: Lady Painter

Patricia Albers · Knopf; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

“Gee, Joan, if only you were French and male and dead.” —New York art dealer to Joan Mitchell, the 1950sShe was a steel heiress from the Midwest—Chicago and Lake Forest (her grandfather built Chicago’s bridges and worked for Andrew Carnegie). She was a daughter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Isabella: The Warrior Queen

Kirstin Downey · Nan A. Talese; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

An engrossing and revolutionary biography of Isabella of Castile, the controversial Queen of Spain who sponsored Christopher Columbus's journey to the New World, established the Spanish Inquisition, and became one of the most influential female rulers in historyBorn at a time when Christianity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Columbus: The Four Voyages

Laurence Bergreen · Viking Adult; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the Magellan biography Over the Edge of the World a mesmerizing new account of the great explorer Christopher Columbuss voyage across the Atlantic Ocean in search of a trading route to China and his unexpected landfall in the Americas is a watershed event in world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kind Is the New Classy: The Power of Living Graciously

Candace Cameron Bure · Zondervan
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"The world has a way of defining you if you don't know who you are before you get out there." - Candace Cameron BureAs a woman in today's world, you know what it's like to feel pressure on all sides from clashing cultural expectations. How can you stay true to who God has uniquely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl from Kathmandu: Twelve Dead Men and a Woman's Quest for Justice

Cam Simpson · Harper
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The shocking story of the massacre of a group of Nepalese men working as Defense contractors for the United States Government during the Iraq War, and the widow who dedicated her life to finding justice for her husband and the other victims - a riveting tale of courageous heroes, corporate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story: A Reporter's Journey

Judith Miller · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

Star reporter for the New York Times, the world's most powerful newspaper; foreign correspondent in some of the most dangerous fields; Pulitzer winner; longest jailed correspondent for protecting her sources, Judith Miller is highly respected and controversial. In this memoir, she turns...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life Beyond Measure: Letters to My Great-Granddaughter

Sidney Poitier · HarperOne
Pages: 285
Format: Hardcover

Sidney Poitier is one of the most revered actors in the history of Hollywood. He has overcome enormous obstacles in extraordinary times and is a role model for many Americans because of his convictions, bravery, and grace. Poitier reflects on his amazing life in Life Beyond Measure, offering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Political Life of Abraham Lincoln

Sidney Blumenthal · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 576
Format: Print book

The first of a multi-volume history of Lincoln as a political genius - from his obscure beginnings to his presidency, assassination, and the overthrow of his post-Civil War dreams of Reconstruction. This first volume traces Lincoln from his painful youth, describing himself as "a slave,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Washington's Revolution: The Making of America's First Leader

Robert Middlekauff · Knopf
Format: Hardcover

A vivid, insightful, essential new account of the formative years that shaped a callow George Washington into an extraordinary leader, from the Bancroft Prize winner and Pulitzer Prize finalist Robert Middlekauff.George Washington was famously unknowable, a man of deep passions hidden behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

Leah Vincent · Nan A. Talese
Format: Book

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, a fundamentalist sect of ultra-Orthodox...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hitman: The Untold Story of Johnny Martorano: Whitey Bulger's Enforcer and the Most Feared Gangster in the Underworld

Howie Carr · Forge Books; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Martin Scorsese’s The Departed barely touched on his story. Now radio talk show sensation, crime reporter, and Boston Herald columnist Howie Carr takes us into the heart of the life of gangster Johnny Martorano in Hitman. For two decades Martorano struck fear into anyone even remotely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pigs Can't Swim: A Memoir (A Merloyd Lawrence Book)

Helen Peppe · Da Capo Press
Format: Kindle Edition

An outrageous, hilarious, and touching memoir by the youngest of nine children in a hardscrabble, beyond-eccentric Maine family. With everything happening on Helen Peppe's backwoods Maine farm, life was wild--and not just for the animals. Sibling rivalry, rock-bottom poverty, feral...
Read More check catalog