Back All Fiction | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Fiction  
Surrender of a Siren: A Novel

Tessa Dare · Ballantine Books; Original edition
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

New author Tessa Dare takes passion to the high seas in this steamy tale of a runaway bride and a devilishly disarming privateer.Desperate to escape a loveless marriage and society's constraints, pampered heiress Sophia Hathaway jilts her groom, packs up her paints and sketchbook, and assumes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Terminal World

Alastair Reynolds · Ace Hardcover
Format: Hardcover

A brand-new novel from "the most exciting space opera writer working today" (Locus). In a far distant future, an enforcement agent named Quillon has been living incognito in the last human city of Spearpoint, working as a pathologist in the district morgue. But when a near-dead...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red Chamber

Pauline A. Chen · Alfred A. Knopf; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

In this lyrical reimagining of the Chinese classic Dream of the Red Chamber, set against the breathtaking backdrop of eighteenth-century Beijing, the lives of three unforgettable women collide in the inner chambers of the Jia mansion. When orphaned Daiyu leaves her home in the provinces...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the Killing's Done: A Novel

T C BOYLE · PENGUIN USA
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of The Women comes an action- packed adventure about endangered animals and those who protect them. Principally set on the wild and sparsely inhabited Channel Islands off the coast of Santa Barbara, T.C. Boyle's powerful new novel combines pulse-pounding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Longarm #402: Longarm and the Hell Creek Lead Storm

Tabor Evans · Jove; Original edition
Pages: 192
Format: Mass Market Paperback

IT'S RAINING BULLETS AND BUCKSHOT Deputy U.S. Marshal Custis Long's got no stomach for yellow-bellied killers - but when a gang of outlaws takes to decapitating deputies, it's Longarm who loses his head. The worst of the bunch is a wild hellcat by the name of Bella Flowers,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Man in the Woods

Scott Spencer · Ecco; First Edition edition
Format: Print book

One of the most acclaimed modern American novelists, Scott Spencer captures the intensity of human passion - and its capacity to both destroy and redeem - with unparalleled precision and insight. Now, in his most stunning novel yet, this wry, witty, and deeply sensitive writer returns to the territory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sticks and Stones: A Cat DeLuca Mystery

K J Larsen · Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Paperback

What does a woman do when she discovers her husband is an incurable cheater? If she's Cat DeLuca she launches the Pants On Fire Detective Agency. Now Cat does what two years of unholy matrimony taught her. She catches cheaters.When a client (Cleo Jones) shoots her cheating husband's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Circle of Wives

Alice LaPlante · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 311
Format: Print book

* An Indie Next Pick* A LibraryReads Selection* An Amazon Best Book of the Month (Mysteries & Thrillers) * A Daily Candy Best Book of March* One of More Magazine's "Five Thrillers Not to Read After Dark"When Dr. John Taylor turns up dead in a hotel room, the local police...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Dual Inheritance: A Novel

Joanna Hershon · Ballantine Books
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Rules of Civility and The Marriage Plot Joanna Hershonrsquos A Dual Inheritance is an engrossing novel of passion friendship betrayal and classmdashand their reverberations across generations Autumn Ed Cantowitz and Hugh Shipley meet in their final year at Harvard Ed is far removed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peace and Quiet 4

Brigitte Luciani · Graphic Universe

Can this family keep the peace when they're cooped up together underground? The days are getting colder. The badgers' bellies are getting rounder, and the foxes' fur is growing longer. That can only mean one thing: winter is coming! Ginger wants to sing and play and hunt in the snow....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Becoming Ray Bradbury

Jonathan R. Eller · University of Illinois Press; 1st Edition edition
Format: Print book

Becoming Ray Bradbury chronicles the making of an iconic American writer by exploring Ray Bradbury's childhood and early years of his long life in fiction, film, television, radio, and theater. Jonathan R. Eller measures the impact of the authors, artists, illustrators, and filmmakers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Angel: A Novel

Javier Sierra · Atria Books
Pages: 31
Format: Print book

New York Times bestselling author Javier Sierra returns with a heartpounding, apocalyptic thriller about mankind's most ancient desire - and the modern evil some will unleash to obtain it. Every religion has a story for how our species came to mix with yours and was doomed to this planet....
Read More check catalog