Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science & Nature  
The Pecan: A History of America's Native Nut

JAMES MCWILLIAMS

What would Thanksgiving be without pecan pie? New Orleans without pecan pralines? Southern cooks would have to hang up their aprons without America’s native nut, whose popularity has spread far beyond the tree’s natural home. But as familiar as the pecan is, most people don’t know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Normal in IT: How the Global Pandemic Changed Information Technology Forever

Gregory S. Smith
Format: 1st Edition

Learn how IT leaders are adapting to the new reality of life during and after COVID-19 COVID-19 has caused fundamental shifts in attitudes around remote and office work. And in The New Normal in IT: How the Global Pandemic Changed Information Technology Forever, internationally renowned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flock Together: A Love Affair with Extinct Birds

B.J. Hollars
Format: Paperback

Named by Forbes as one of the 12 Best Books About Birds and Birding in 2017 After stumbling upon a book of photographs depicting extinct animals, B.J. Hollars became fascinated by creatures that are no longer with us: specifically, extinct North American birds. How, he wondered, could we preserve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unthink: And how to harness the power of your unconscious

CHRIS PALEY - ?Coronet
Format: Paperback

Your life is dominated by your unconscious mind: by thoughts you're unaware of and movements you don't realise you are making. Words, colours, mannerisms and other cues you don't realise are affecting you, change what you think. The confidence you have in your ability to reason...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bald Eagle: The Improbable Journey of America's Bird

Jack E. Davis - Liveright
Format: Hardcover

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Gulf, a sweeping cultural and natural history of the bald eagle in America. The bald eagle is regal but fearless, a bird you're not inclined to argue with. For centuries, Americans have celebrated it as "majestic" and "noble,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sentient: How Animals Illuminate the Wonder of Our Human Senses

Jackie Higgins - Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of The Soul of an Octopus and The Genius of Birds, this remarkable book explores how we process the world around us by analyzing the incredible sensory capabilities of thirteen animals and reveals that we are not limited to merely five senses.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Zoologist's Guide to the Galaxy: What Animals on Earth Reveal About Aliens - and Ourselves

ARIK KERSHENBAUM

Read More check catalog