Back Politics | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Politics  
The Price for Their Pound of Flesh: The Value of the Enslaved, from Womb to Grave, in the Building of a Nation

Daina Ramey Berry · Beacon Press
Pages: 262
Format: Hardcover

Groundbreaking look at slaves as commodities through every phase of life, from birth to death and beyond, in early AmericaIn life and in death, slaves were commodities, their monetary value assigned based on their age, gender, health, and the demands of the market. The Price for Their Pound...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Born on Third Base: A One Percenter Makes the Case for Tackling Inequality, Bringing Wealth Home, and Committing to the Common Good

Chuck Collins · Chelsea Green
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

As inequality grabs headlines, steals the show in presidential debates, and drives deep divides between the haves and have nots in America, class war brews. On one side, the wealthy wield power and advantage, wittingly or not, to keep the system operating in their favor -- all while retreating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond Blurred Lines: Rape Culture in Popular Media

Nickie D Phillips · Rowman & Littlefield
Pages: 220
Format: Print book

From its origins in academic discourse in the 1970s to our collective imagination today, the concept of "rape culture" has resonated in a variety of spheres, including television, gaming, comic book culture, and college campuses. Beyond Blurred Lines traces ways that sexual violence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Policing the Planet: Why the Policing Crisis Led to Black Lives Matter

Jordan T Camp · Verso
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

A probing collection of essays and interviews addressing police brutality and racial injusticePolicing has become one of the urgent issues of our time, the target of dramatic movements and front-page coverage from coast to coast in the United States and across the world. Now a wide-ranging...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pistols and Petticoats: 175 Years of Lady Detectives in Fact and Fiction

Erika Janik · Beacon Press
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

A lively exploration of the struggles faced by women in law enforcement and mystery fiction for the past 175 yearsIn 1910, Alice Wells took the oath to join the all-male Los Angeles Police Department. She wore no uniform, carried no weapon, and kept her badge stuffed in her pocketbook....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The New Koreans: The Story of a Nation

Michael Breen · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

Just a few decades ago, the Koreans were an impoverished, agricultural people. In one generation they moved from the fields to Silicon Valley. The nature and values of the Korean people provide the background for a more detailed examination of the complex history of the country, in particular...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Incendiary: The Psychiatrist, the Mad Bomber, and the Invention of Criminal Profiling

Michael Cannell · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Long before the specter of terrorism haunted the public imagination, a serial bomber stalked the streets of 1950s New York. The race to catch him would give birth to a new science called criminal profiling.Grand Central, Penn Station, Radio City Music Hall -- for almost two decades, no place...
Read More check catalog
 
 
North Carolina Through Four Centuries

William S Powell · The University of North Carolina Press
Pages: 652
Format: Hardcover

This successor to the classic Lefler-Newsome North Carolina: The History of a Southern State, published in 1954, presents a fresh survey history that includes the contemporary scene. Drawing upon recent scholarship, the advice of specialists, and his own knowledge, Powell has created a splendid...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Made: Why Making Things Will Return Us to Greatness

Dan DiMicco · Palgrave Macmillan
Pages: 246
Format: Print book

American manufacturing is on life support -- at least, that's what most people think. The exodus of jobs to China and other foreign markets is irreversible, and anything that is built here requires specialized skills the average worker couldn't hope to gain. Not so, says Dan DiMicco, chairman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spin: How Politics Has the Power to Turn Marketing on Its Head

Clive Veroni · House of Anansi Press
Format: Book

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwells Outliers and Daniel Kahnemans Thinking Fast and Slow, Clive Veronis Spin is a fascinating investigation of how the techniques of political strategists are being applied to the world of consumer marketing. In the early twentieth century political operatives...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World and Why?

Chelsea Clinton · Oxford University Press
Pages: 282
Format: Hardcover

The past few decades have seen a massive increase in the number of international organizations focusing on global health. Campaigns to eradicate or stem the spread of AIDS, SARS, malaria, and Ebola attest to the increasing importance of globally-oriented health organizations. These organizations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Bernie Sanders Matters

Harry Jaffe · Regan Arts, 2016.
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Missionary. Radical. Hippy. Revolutionary. Red Mayor. Pragmatist. Socialist. Hot from the campaign trail, a vivid new biography that goes inside Bernie Sanders's contradictions, his unusual life, and his electrifying quest to make the American dream a reality for all.Vermont Senator Bernie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flavor and Soul: Italian America at Its African American Edge

John Gennari · The University of Chicago Press
Pages: 296
Format: Print book

In the United States, African American and Italian cultures have been intertwined for more than a hundred years. From as early as nineteenth-century African American opera star Thomas Bowers - "The Colored Mario" - all the way to hip-hop entrepreneur Puff Daddy dubbing himself...
Read More check catalog