Back Psychology & Philosophy | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
No Hard Feelings: The Secret Power of Embracing Emotions at Work

Liz Fosslien · Portfolio
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"A must-read that topples the idea that emotions don't belong in the workplace."
--Susan Cain, author of Quiet

A hilarious guide to effectively expressing your emotions at the office, finding fulfillment, and defining work-life balance on your own terms.

How...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happy as a Dane: 10 Secrets of the Happiest People in the World

Malene Rydahl · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

This international bestseller shows why the Danes are happy and how we can be, too.

For decades Denmark has ranked at the top of the world's happiness surveys. How is it that these 5.6 million Danes are so content when they live in a country that is dark and cold nine months of the year...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Invention of Humanity: Equality and Cultural Difference in World History

Siep Stuurman · Harvard University Press
Pages: 665
Format: Hardcover

For much of history, strangers were routinely classified as barbarians and inferiors, seldom as fellow human beings. The notion of a common humanity was counterintuitive and thus had to be invented. Siep Stuurman traces evolving ideas of human equality and difference across continents and civilizations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stressed Years of Their Lives: Helping Your Kid Survive and Thrive During Their College Years

Dr. B. Janet Hibbs · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From two leading child and adolescent mental health experts comes a guide for the parents of every college and college-bound student who want to know what's normal mental health and behavior, what's not, and how to intervene before it's too late.

"The title says it all...Chock...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Second Mountain

David Brooks · Random House
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An inspiring, thought-provoking exploration of what it means to live a meaningful life, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Road to Character

Every so often, you meet a person who radiates joy. Who seems to know exactly why they were put on this earth, and glows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Diderot and the Art of Thinking Freely

Andrew S. Curran · Other Press
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

A spirited biography of the prophetic and sympathetic philosopher who, along with Voltaire and Rousseau, helped build the foundations of the modern world.

Denis Diderot is often associated with the decades-long battle to bring the world's first comprehensive Encyclopédie into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ideas That Made America: A Brief History

Jennifer Ratner-Rosenhagen · Oxford University Press
Pages: 232
Format: Hardcover

Long before the United States was a nation, it was a set of ideas, projected onto the New World by European explorers with centuries of belief and thought in tow. From this foundation of expectation and experience, America and American thought grew in turn, enriched by the bounties of the Enlightenment,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Recovering: Intoxication and Its Aftermath

Leslie Jamison · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

"An astounding triumph . . . Profound . . . Achingly wise . . . A recovery memoir like no other." --Entertainment Weekly (A)
"Riveting . . . Beautifully told." --Boston Globe
"An honest and important book . . . Vivid writing and required...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maybe You Should Talk to Someone: A Therapist, HER Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed

Lori Gottlieb · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

From a New York Times best-selling author, psychotherapist, and national advice columnist, a hilarious, thought-provoking, and surprising new book that takes us behind the scenes of a therapist's world - where her patients are looking for answers (and so is she) .

...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book: Reading Clues at the Crime Scene, Crime Lab and in Court

Patricia L Barnes-Svarney · Visible Ink Press
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Covering the fundamentals, science, history, and analysis of clues, The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book: Reading Clues at the Crime Scene, Crime Lab and in Court provides detailed information on crime scene investigations, techniques, laboratory finding, the latest research, and controversies....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Beautiful, Terrible Thing: A Memoir of Marriage and Betrayal

Jen Waite · Plume
Pages: 260
Format: Hardcover

**An International Bestseller**

"Like Big Little Lies, A Beautiful Terrible Thing is a startling reminder that fairy tales aren't real. A master class in suspenseful storytelling, Jen Waite recounts the lies, betrayals, and infidelity she endured with unrestrained...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul.

Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why?: What Makes Us Curious

Mario Livio · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Astrophysicist and author Mario Livio investigates perhaps the most human of all our characteristics - curiosity - as he explores our innate desire to know why.

Experiments demonstrate that people are more distracted when they overhear a phone conversation - where they can know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Philosophy Works

DK · DK
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Demystifying the key ideas of the world's greatest philosophers, and exploring all of the most important branches of thought, including philosophy of science, philosophy of religion, and feminist philosophy in a uniquely visual way, this book is the perfect introduction to the subject.A...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drunks: An American History

Christopher M Finan · Beacon Press
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

A social history of alcoholism in the United States, from the seventeenth century to the present day

Today, millions of Americans are struggling with alcoholism, but millions are also in long-term recovery. Alcoholics Anonymous and a growing number of recovery organizations are providing...
Read More check catalog