Back Entertainment | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
Talk to Me

John Kenney · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From New Yorker contributor and the Thurber Prize-winning author of Truth in Advertising comes a wry yet tenderhearted look at how one man's public fall from grace leads him back to his family, and back to the man he used to be.

It's a story that Ted Grayson has reported...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thick: And Other Essays

Tressie McMillan Cottom · The New Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

One of Book Riot's "The Best Books We Read in October 2018""To say this collection is transgressive, provocative, and brilliant is simply to tell you the truth." - Roxane Gay, author of Hunger and Bad FeministSmart, humorous, and strikingly original essays by one of "America's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Like to Watch: Arguing My Way Through the TV Revolution

Emily Nussbaum · Random House
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From The New Yorker's fiercely original, Pulitzer Prize-winning culture critic, a provocative collection of new and previously published essays arguing that we are what we watch.

From her creation of the first "Approval Matrix" in New York magazine in 2004...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel

Oyinkan Braithwaite · Anchor
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

NOMINATED FOR THE 2019 BOOKER PRIZE
WINNER OF THE LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR MYSTERY/THRILLER
FINALIST FOR THE 2019 WOMEN'S PRIZE


Korede's sister Ayoola is many things: the favorite child, the beautiful one, possibly sociopathic. And now Ayoola's third boyfriend in a row is dead,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buseyisms: Gary Busey's Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth

Gary Busey · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Words of wisdom and incredible life stories, told through Gary Busey's unique Buseyisms."What is a Buseyism? I take the letters that spell a word to create a definition for the word in the truth of its deeper, dimensional meaning. I weave in my personal anecdotes along with my musings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
About My Mother: True Stories of a Horse-Crazy Daughter and Her Baseball-Obsessed Mother: A Memoir

Peggy Rowe · Rowe, Peggy
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A Message from Mike Rowe, the Dirty Jobs Guy: Just to be clear, About My Mother is a book about my grandmother, written by my mother. That's not to say it's not about my mother - it is. In fact, About My Mother is as much about my mother as it is about my grandmother....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mostly Sunny: How I Learned to Keep Smiling Through the Rainiest Days

Janice Dean · Harper
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Fox & Friends meteorologist Janice Dean explains how she purposefully finds the silver lining in every cloud, no matter what challenge she faces.

Janice is well-known for the infectious joy she brings to segments on Fox & Friends, no matter the weather. Yet many of her fans...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Roar

Cecelia Ahern · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of P.S., I Love You, a fiercely feminist story collection that blends fables with magical realism--perfect for fans of Roxane Gay.In this singular and imaginative story collection, Cecelia Ahern illuminates the myriad ways in which women overcome adversity with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl in Green

Derek B Miller · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 326
Format: Print book

From the author of Norwegian by Night, a novel about two men on a misbegotten quest to save the girl they failed to save decades before

1991. Near Checkpoint Zulu, one hundred miles from the Kuwaiti border, Thomas Benton meets Arwood Hobbes. Benton is a British journalist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Burn the Place: A Memoir

Iliana Regan · Agate Midway
Pages: 250
Format: Hardcover

A singular, powerfully expressive debut memoir that traces one chef's struggle to find her place and what happens once she does.

Burn the Place is a galvanizing culinary memoir that chronicles Iliana Regan's journey from foraging on the family farm to opening her Michelin-starred...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Italian Bulldozer: A Novel

Alexander Mccall Smith · Pantheon
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From one of our most beloved and best-selling authors: a hilarious new stand-alone novel about one man's misadventures in travel and romance in the Italian countryside.


When writer Paul Stewart heads to the idyllic Italian town of Montalcino to finish his already overdue cookbook,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Scarred Woman

JUSSI ADLER-OLSEN · Dutton
Pages: 472
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.

Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Night of Camp David

Fletcher Knebel · Vintage
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

"What would happen if the president of the U.S.A. went stark-raving mad?" Back by popular demand, The New York Times calls the 1965 bestselling political thriller by the author of Seven Days in May, "A little too plausible for comfort." How can one man convince the highest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anthony Bourdain Remembered

CNN · Ecco
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A moving and insightful collection of quotes, memories, and images celebrating the life of Anthony Bourdain

When Anthony Bourdain died in June 2018, the outpouring of love from his fans around the world was momentous. The tributes spoke to his legacy: That the world is much smaller...

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Adventures with God

Stephen Tobolowsky · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

From legendary character actor Stephen Tobolowsky - who currently appears on The Goldbergs, HBO's Silicon Valley, and Norman Lear's new One Day at a Time, author of The Dangerous Animals Club and The Tobolowsky Files podcast - My Adventures with God...
Read More check catalog