Back Children's Books | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Hedgehog

Ashlyn Anstee · Tundra Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Hedgehog is hogging the hedge and won't let the other animals live there. In this humorous political allegory, he learns that it's not a winning strategy.Winter is coming, and the animals need homes. The worms move in with the groundhogs. The possums share a burrow with the foxes....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 12 Days of Halloween

Jenna Lettice · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 24
Format: Paperback

Count the 12 days leading up to Halloween with this fun-filled picture book inspired by "The 12 Days of Christmas" - perfect for fans of Natasha Wing's Night Before series!On the first day of Halloween, ONE very eager kid starts trick-or-treating a little too early! On the second...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is a Moose

Richard T Morris · Little Brown & Co
Pages: 38
Format: Hardcover

Lights! Camera! Moose!
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Want To Be in a Scary Story

SEAN TAYLOR · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Monster may think he wants to be in a scary story, but then again . . . A hilarious return by the team that brought us Hoot Owl, Master of Disguise.Our author would like to write a funny story, but his main character - Monster - has a different idea. He wants to be the star of a chilling,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fred Pudding

Ann Kennedy · Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Grandma and her grandson are making bread pudding, but her dog, Fred, has his own plans! While the humans are in the kitchen, Fred is busy shredding papers and tissues in the living room. When Grandma mixes, Fred runs in circles, and when she bakes the pudding, Fred lies on the floor under...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peppa Pig and the Muddy Puddles

Candlewick Press · Candlewick Entertainment
Format: Print book

Peppa Pig is back! Get ready to join in on two new adventures starring the beloved, award-winning U.K. sensation.There's so much rain! When Mummy Pig and Daddy Pig tuck them into bed, Peppa and her little brother, George, dream of all the puddles there will be to jump in the next day....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gingerbread Man and the Leprechaun Loose at School

Laura Murray · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A leprechaun is causing all kinds of trouble on St. Patrick's Day--but our popular Gingerbread Man is back to save the day!After a mischievous leprechaun makes a mess of the band room, the Gingerbread Man vows to catch him. He follows the leprechaun's clues all around the building...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Canticos: Los Pollitos / Canticos: Little Chickies

Susie Jaramillo · Encantos
Pages: 11
Format: Board book

"Los Pollitos Dicen," or "Little Chickies Squeal" is one of the most popular songs in the Spanish speaking world, akin to "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" in English. This English adaptation of the song is as catchy and lyrical as the Spanish version and sure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Visit to Dr. Duck

Rosemary Wells · Candlewick; Brdbk edition
Format: Board book

"Wells visualizes the introductory visit-to-the-doctor reassurance with her characteristic spirited charm." - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)Best-selling author and illustrator Rosemary Wells applies her rare ability to tell a funny, heartfelt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
If My Love Were a Fire Truck: A Daddy's Love Song

Luke Reynolds · Doubleday
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

A father's love for his son goes zoom, swoosh, vroom, boom! in this energetic, adventurous, and action-packed tribute to fathers and sons. Great for Father's Day or any day with Dad. The bond between a father and his son is as powerful as a rocket ship blasting into space, a giant whale...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red and Lulu

MATT TAVARES · Candlewick
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Separation and miles cannot keep a determined cardinal from his loved one in an ode to serendipity and belief that is destined to be a new Christmas classic.Red and Lulu make their nest in a particularly beautiful evergreen tree. It shades them in the hot months and keeps them cozy in the cold...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There's Nothing to Do!

Dev Petty · Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In the next book in the I Don't Want to be a Frog series, young Frog learns an unexpected lesson about how NOT to be bored. Frog is bored. He can't find ANYTHING to do - even when his animal friends make good suggestions, like sleeping all day, licking between his toes, or hopping around...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Bears in a Boat

David Soman · Penguin Group USA
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the co-creator of the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series comes a high seas adventure inspired by the classic picture books Little Bear and Where the Wild Things Are. Three bear siblings break their mother's favorite blue seashell, and rather than tell her, they decide...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Ice Cream Truck

Margery Cuyler · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

The Little Ice Cream Truck is loaded up with tasty treats in this new addition to ever-popular The Little Dump Truck, The Little School Bus and The Little Fire Truck series. Join the little ice cream truck and its cheerful driver, Sue, as they trot all over their diverse town to deliver...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 Ate 9

Tara Lazar · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

6 has a problem. Everyone knows that 7 is always after him. Word on the street is that 7 ate 9. If that's true, 6's days are numbered. Lucky for him, Private I is on the case. But the facts just don't add up. It's odd.Will Private I put two and two together and solve the problem . . . or is 6 next...
Read More check catalog