Back Business & Investing | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Business & Investing  
The Man Who Knew: The Life and Times of Alan Greenspan

Sebastian Mallaby · Penguin Press
Pages: 781
Format: Print book

The definitive biography of the most important economic statesman of our time

Sebastian Mallaby's magisterial biography of Alan Greenspan, the product of over five years of research based on untrammeled access to his subject and his closest professional and personal intimates,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Power Your Happy: Work Hard, Play Nice & Build Your Dream Life

Lisa Sugar · Dutton
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Lisa Sugar has an amazing job. She spends her days creating content about pop culture, must-have handbags and makeup, healthy recipes, and Instagram-worthy sweets. She manages an enormously successful, growing company with employees who love what they do. And her life is just as great at home....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trump's War: His Battle for America

MICHAEL SAVAGE · CENTER ST
Pages: 304
Format: Print book


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 16.0px Arial; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} The wall, taxes, tariffs, deportations, Obamacare, guns, military strength, schools, abortion, religion - what will the new president do?

The "Godfather...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Glitter Plan: How We Started Juicy Couture for $200 and Turned It into a Global Brand

Pamela Skaist-Levy · Gotham
Format: Hardcover

Part memoir, part business manual, and 100 juicy—the inside story of Juicy Couture, one of the most iconic brands of our times While working together at a Los Angeles boutique, Pamela Skaist-Levy and Gela Nash-Taylor became fast and furious friends over the impossibility of finding the perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Emotional Agility: Get Unstuck, Embrace Change, and Thrive in Work and Life

Susan A David · Avery
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The counterintuitive approach to achieving your true potential, heralded by the Harvard Business Review as a groundbreaking idea of the year.

The path to fulfillment, whether at work or at home, is almost never a straight line. Ask anyone who has achieved their biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Investing QuickStart Guide: The Simplified Beginner's Guide to Successfully Navigating the Stock Market, Growing Your Wealth & Creating a Secure Financial Future

Ted D. Snow CFP MBA · ClydeBank Media LLC
Pages: 203
Format: Paperback

The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Investing in the Stock Market #1 NEW RELEASE IN STOCK MARKET INVESTING The ONLY investing book that is written by a CFP® practitioner with 30 years of investment experience helping others to invest wisely to achieve all of their financial goals in life....
Read More check catalog
 
 
New Rules of the Game: 10 Strategies for Women in the Workplace

Susan Packard · Prentice Hall Press
Format: Hardcover

Business is a team sport. Learn how to win.Where would your career be if you could understand how your colleagues--especially men--succeed and win at work? And if, in understanding and applying the rules, you could win, too?In New Rules of the Game, business leader Susan Packard shows you how to cultivate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Safe Investor: How to Make Your Money Grow in a Volatile Global Economy

Tim McCarthy · St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover

Investing information is everywhere there are blogs, newspapers, magazines, and cable TV shows all dedicated to helping individuals invest in smarter and more successful ways. Yet despite all the efforts to educate the public on investing, most people still feel uncomfortable with how they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

KIRK WALLACE JOHNSON · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

As heard on NPR's This American Life

"Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller." - Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air

"One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Discipline Equals Freedom: Field Manual

JOCKO WILLINK · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

FIND YOUR WILL, FIND YOUR DISCIPLINE--AND YOU WILL FIND YOUR FREEDOM

Jocko Willink's methods for success were born in the SEAL Teams, where he spent most of his adult life, enlisting after high school and rising through the ranks to become the commander of the most highly decorated...

Read More check catalog
 
 
From Global to Local: The Making of Things and the End of Globalization

FINBARR LIVESEY · Pantheon
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

This brilliantly original book dismantles the underlying assumptions that drive the decisions made by companies and governments the world over to show that our shared narrative of the global economy is deeply flawed and, if left unexamined, will lead corporations and countries astray, with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Low-Hanging Fruit: 77 Eye-Opening Ways to Improve Productivity and Profits

Jeremy Eden · Wiley
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Management guru, Peter Drucker once observed, "So much of what we call management consists in making it difficult for people to work." His observation rings true all across the corporate world: poor or non-existent decision-making processes, endless meetings, and layers of management...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why Wall Street Matters

WILLIAM D COHAN · RANDOM HOUSE
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

For readers of Michael Lewis comes a counterintuitive defense of the banks. One of America's most respected financial journalists debunks all the misinformed arguments against Wall Street - while acknowledging the greed and excess that fuel those feelings - and argues persuasively that,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Edison

Edmund Morris · Random House
Pages: 800
Format: Hardcover

From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Edmund Morris comes a revelatory new biography of Thomas Alva Edison, the most prolific genius in American history.

Although Thomas Alva Edison was the most famous American of his time, and remains an international name today, he is mostly remembered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
SPARK: How to Lead Yourself and Others to Greater Success

Angie Morgan · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 210
Format: Print book

Leadership isn't about a job title - it's about action and behavior.

In SPARK, entrepreneurs, business consultants and military Veterans Angie Morgan, Courtney Lynch, and Sean Lynch show how anyone can become an extraordinary leader by embracing seven key behaviors.

Many...
Read More check catalog