Back Biographies & Memoirs | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Echoes of Tattered Tongues: Memory Unfolded

John Z. Guzlowski · Aquila Polonica
Pages: 200
Format: Print book

"A searing memoir." -- Shelf Awareness"Powerful...Deserves attention and high regard." -- Kevin Stein, Poet Laureate of Illinois"Devastating, one-of-a-kind collection" -- Foreword ReviewsIn this major tour de force, John Guzlowski traces the arc of one of the millions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Yankee Way: Playing, Coaching, and My Life in Baseball

Willie Randolph · It Books; Complete Numbers Starting with 1, 1st Ed edition
Format: Hardcover

Legendary New York Yankee Willie Randolph tells the story of his life playing and coaching for the most storied professional sports franchise in the world, detailing his career on and off the field with some of baseball biggest stars.In his long-awaited memoir, Willie Randolph shares stories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Education of Kevin Powell: A Boy's Journey into Manhood

Kevin Powell · Atria Books
Pages: 285
Format: Print book

In the spirit of Piri Thomas's Down These Mean Streets and Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, this powerful memoir by writer and activist Kevin Powell vividly recounts the horrific poverty of his youth, his struggles to overcome a legacy of anger, violence, and self-hatred,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Hot Glue Gun Mess: Funny Stories, Pretty DIY Projects

Mr. Kate · William Morrow Paperbacks
Format: Print book

In this beautiful paperback edition featuring French flaps, hugely popular lifestyle blogger, YouTube star, and designer Mr. Kate (Kate Albrecht) offers a stunning collection of step-by-step personal style and home projects - woven in with quirkily hilarious stories and anecdotes.Do you dream...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Leonardo da Vinci

Walter Isaacson · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover

"Majestic...Isaacson takes on another complex, giant figure and transforms him into someone we can recognize...Enthralling, masterful, and passionate." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "A monumental tribute to a titanic figure." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
North of Normal A Memoir of My Wilderness Childhood, My Counterculture Family, and How I Survived Both

Cea Sunrise Person · Harpercollins
Format: Hardcover

Sex, drugs, and . . . bug stew? In the vein of The Glass Castle and Wild, Cea Sunrise Person's compelling memoir of a childhood spent with her dysfunctional counter-culture family in the Canadian wilderness - a searing story of physical, emotional, and psychological survival.In the late...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln in the World: The Making of a Statesman and the Dawn of American Power

Kevin Peraino · Crown; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A captivating look at how Abraham Lincoln evolved into one of our seminal foreign-policy presidents—and helped point the way to America’s rise to world power. This is the story of one of the most breathtaking feats in the annals of American foreign policy—performed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Plague on All Our Houses: Medical Intrigue, Hollywood, and the Discovery of AIDS

Bruce J Hillman · ForeEdge
Pages: 248
Format: Print book

A frightening new plague. A medical mystery. A pioneering immunologist. In A Plague on All Our Houses, Dr. Bruce J. Hillman dissects the war of egos, money, academic power, and Hollywood clout that advanced AIDS research even as it compromised the career of the scientist who discovered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nine Years Under: Coming of Age in an Inner-City Funeral Home

Sheri Booker · Gotham
Format: Hardcover

Six Feet Under meets The Wire in a dazzling and darkly comic memoir about coming-of-age in a black funeral home in Baltimore Sheri Booker was only fifteen years old when she started working at Wylie Funeral Home in West Baltimore. She had no idea that her summer job would become nine years...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where the Bodies Were Buried: Whitey Bulger and the World That Made Him

T. J. English · William Morrow & Company
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Westies and Paddy Whacked offers a front-row seat at the trial of Whitey Bulger, and an intimate view of the world of organized crime - and law enforcement - that made him the defining Irish American gangster.For sixteen years, Whitey Bulger...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Postcards from Cookie: A Memoir of Motherhood, Miracles, and a Whole Lot of Mail

Caroline Clarke · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning journalist and host of Black "Enterprise" Business Report Caroline Clarke's moving memoir of her surprise discovery of her birthmother - Cookie Cole, the daughter of Nat King Cole - and the relationship that blossomed between them through the heartfelt messages...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A New Model: What Confidence, Beauty, and Power Really Look Like

ASHLEY GRAHAM · Dey Street Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

One of the most outspoken voices gracing the cover of magazines today encourages women to be their most confident selves, recognize their personal beauty, and reach for their highest dreams in this wise, warm, and inspiring memoirVoluptuous beauty Ashley Graham has been modeling professionally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hotel Florida: Truth, Love, and Death in the Spanish Civil War

Amanda Vaill · Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Pages: 436
Format: Print book

A spellbinding story of love amid the devastation of the Spanish Civil WarMadrid, 1936. In a city blasted by a civil war that many fear will cross borders and engulf Europe -- a conflict one writer will call "the decisive thing of the century" -- six people meet and find their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wrestling for My Life: The Legend, the Reality, and the Faith of a WWE Superstar

David Thomas · Zondervan
Format: Hardcover

In Wrestling for My Life, WWE superstar Shawn Michaels shares from his heart about the highs and lows of his life inside the WWE. Included are some never-before-shared stories and an intimate look into his career as well as stories of hunting, family, and faith. With millions of fans, Michaels...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mikey and Me: Life with My Exceptional Sister

Teresa Sullivan · She Writes Press
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

When Mikey is young, the Sullivans are a closely knit unit, all of them devoted to caring for her. But as Mikey grows older, she also grows increasingly violent. By the time she's twelve, institutionalization is the only available option -- and without the shared purpose of caring for Mikey,...
Read More check catalog