Back Self-Help | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Self-Help  
Do Over: Rescue Monday, Reinvent Your Work, and Never Get Stuck

Jon Acuff · Portfolio
Format: Book

It took me sixteen years to write this book. That breaks down to a brisk twelve words per day. But it wasn't the writing that took so long. . . . It was the working. I had to work at big companies and small companies. I had to get hired and fired several times. I had to find my dream...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Can't Sleep: Women's New Midlife Crisis

Ada Calhoun · Grove Press
Pages: 288
Format: Book

When Ada Calhoun found herself in the throes of a midlife crisis, she thought that she had no right to complain. She was married with children and a good career. So why did she feel miserable? And why did it seem that other Generation X women were miserable, too? Calhoun decided to find...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Compassionate-Mind Guide to Overcoming Anxiety: Using Compassion-Focused Therapy to Calm Worry, Panic, and Fear

Dennis Tirch PhD · New Harbinger Publications; 1 edition
Format: Book

Anxiety is not your fault. There are many factors that contribute to developing a mind that is prone to intense anxiety, and if you have such a mind, there are many things you can do to change the way it works. Research has shown that practicing kindness and compassion soothes experiences...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Fifty Things That Aren't My Fault: Essays from the Grown-up Years

Cathy Guisewite · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 336
Format: Book

As the creator of "Cathy," Cathy Guisewite found her way into the hearts of readers more than forty years ago, and has been there ever since. Her hilarious and deeply relatable look at the challenges of womanhood in a changing world became a cultural touchstone for women everywhere....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Broke Millennial Takes On Investing: A Beginner's Guide to Leveling Up Your Money

Erin Lowry · TarcherPerigee
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

A guide to investing basics by the author of Broke Millennial, for anyone who feels like they aren't ready (or rich enough) to get into the market

Millennials want to learn how to start investing. The problem is that most have no idea where to begin. There's...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Works Well with Others: An Outsider's Guide to Shaking Hands, Shutting Up, Handling Jerks, and Other Crucial Skills in Business That No One Ever Teaches You

Ross McCammon · Dutton Books
Pages: 288
Format: Book

Esquire editor and Entrepreneur etiquette columnist Ross McCammon delivers a funny and authoritative guide that provides the advice you really need to be confident and authentic at work, even when you have no idea what's going on. Ten years ago, before he got a job at Esquire...

Read More check catalog
 
 
That Good Night: Life and Medicine in the Eleventh Hour

Sunita Puri · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Book

As the American born daughter of immigrants, Dr. Sunita Puri knew from a young age that the gulf between her parents' experiences and her own was impossible to bridge, save for two elements: medicine and spirituality. Between days spent waiting for her mother, an anesthesiologist,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Downsizing The Family Home: What to Save, What to Let Go

Marni Jameson · Sterling
Pages: 237
Format: Book

It's a rite of passage almost no one will escape: the difficult, emotional journey of downsizing your or your aging parents' home. Here, nationally syndicated home columnist Marni Jameson sensitively guides readers through the process, from opening that first closet, to sorting...

Read More check catalog
 
 
What Color Is Your Parachute? 2020: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers

Richard N. Bolles · Ten Speed Press
Pages: 320
Format: Book

With more than 10 million copies sold in 28 countries, the world's most popular job-search book is updated for 2020, tailoring Richard Bolles's long-trusted guidance with up-to-the-minute information and advice for today's job-hunters and career-changers.

 

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wear Your Life Well: Use What You Have to Get What You Want

Marilu Henner · William Morrow; 1 edition
Format: Book

It's not enough just to live—you have to wear your life well! Learn how in this inspiring guide from New York Times bestselling author and beloved actress Marilu Henner. Marilu Henner is in better shape now in her fifties than she was in her twenties—at peak health, working...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Atlas of Happiness: The Global Secrets of How to Be Happy

Helen Russell · Running Press Adult
Pages: 288
Format: Book

A fun, illustrated guide that takes us around the world, discovering the secrets to happiness. Author Helen Russell (The Year of Living Danishly) uncovers the fascinating ways that different nations search for happiness in their lives, and what they can teach us about our own quest...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Little House Living: The Make-Your-Own Guide to a Frugal, Simple, and Self-Sufficient Life

Merissa Alink · Gallery Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2015. ©2015
Pages: 306
Format: Book

From the immensely popular blogger behind Little House Living comes a motivational homemaking book, inspired by Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie, featuring creative, fun ways to live your life simply and frugally - perfect for fans of Ree Drummond's...

Read More check catalog