Back All Non-Fiction | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
No Time to Lose: A Life in Pursuit of Deadly Viruses

Peter Piot · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

The story of a microbiologistxs remarkable career from identifying the Ebola virus to pioneering AIDS research and policy When Peter Piot was in medical school a professor warned xCTherexs no future in infectious diseases Theyxve all been solvedxD Fortunately Piot ignored him and the result...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Majesty of the Horse: An Illustrated History

Tamsin Pickeral · Barron's Educational Series
Format: Hardcover

Horses have played a central role in human societies for millennia, and this magnificently written and beautifully illustrated volume celebrates that long, eventful history. It pays homage not only to the physical splendor of the horse--its grace, beauty, strength, and adaptability--but...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Labcraft Wizards: Magical Projects and Experiments

John Austin · Chicago Review Press
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Being a wizard takes training, practice, and a few tips from an expert. Labcraft Wizards provides dozens of step-by-step projects to transform everyday objects into instruments of magic, such as a sculpted magic wand, gooey ogre snot, bouncy dragon eggs, edible brewed slugs, an enchanted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wild Medicine Solution: Healing with Aromatic, Bitter, and Tonic Plants

Guido Masé · Healing Arts Press; 1 edition
Format: Print book

Restoring the use of wild plants in daily life for vibrant physical mental and spiritual health bull Explains how classes of wild plants--aromatics bitters and tonics--are uniquely adapted to work with our physiology because we coevolved with them bull Provides simple recipes to easily...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Never Home Alone: From Microbes to Millipedes, Camel Crickets, and Honeybees, the Natural History of Where We Live

Rob Dunn · Basic Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A natural history of the wilderness in our homes, from the microbes in our showers to the crickets in our basements

Even when the floors are sparkling clean and the house seems silent, our domestic domain is wild beyond imagination. In Never Home Alone, biologist Rob Dunn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Perilous West: Seven Amazing Explorers and the Founding of the Oregon Trail

Larry E. Morris · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Although a host of adventurers stormed west in 1806 after Lewis and Clarks safe return, seven of them left unique legacies because of their monumental journeys, their lionhearted spirit in the face of hardship, and the way their paths intertwined time and again. The Perilous West tells...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unpredictable Species: What Makes Humans Unique

Philip Lieberman · Princeton University Press
Format: Hardcover

The Unpredictable Species argues that the human brain evolved in a way that enhances our cognitive flexibility and capacity for innovation and imitation. In doing so, the book challenges the central claim of evolutionary psychology that we are locked into predictable patterns of behavior...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome

Ty Tashiro · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward - and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.

As humans, we all need...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Blending Families: Merging Households with Kids 8-18

Trevor Crow · Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.
Pages: 190
Format: Print book

Blending Families responds to the need for a book that explores step-parenting by starting with the marriage as the central relationship in a new blended family unit. Just as you are better able to help your child in an airplane emergency if you put your oxygen mask on first, you are better...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Class Warfare: Inside the Fight to Fix America's Schools

Steven Brill · Simon & Schuster; First Edition
Format: Hardcover

IN a reporting tour de force award-winning journalist Steven Brill takes an uncompromising look at the adults who are fighting over Americas failure to educate its childrenand points the way to reversing that failure Brills vivid narrativefilled with unexpected twists and turnstakes us from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vegan for the Holidays: Celebration Feasts for Thanksgiving Through New Year's Day

Zel Allen · Book Publishing Company
Format: Print book

Holidays inspire everyone to cook. Even people who rarely step into the kitchen prepare special festive meals to share with family and friends. Vegan cooking expert Zel Allen demonstrates that plant-based holiday foods are as delicious, innovative, and elegant as their hallowed meat-based...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Rising: John Brown and the Raid That Sparked the Civil War

Tony Horwitz · Henry Holt and Co.; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Notable Book for 2011A Library Journal Top Ten Best Books of 2011A Boston Globe Best Nonfiction Book of 2011Bestselling author Tony Horwitz tells the electrifying tale of the daring insurrection that put America on the path to bloody warPlotted in secret, launched in the dark,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbearable Splendor

Sun Yung Shin · Coffee House Press
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Praise for Sun Yung Shin:Finalist for the Believer Poetry Award"[her] work reads like redactions, offering fragments to be explored, investigated and interrogated, making her reader equal partner in the creation of meaning." - Star TribuneSun Yung Shin moves ideas - of identity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good to the Grain: Baking with Whole-Grain Flours

Kim Boyce · Stewart, Tabori and Chang; 1st Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Baking with whole-grain flours used to be about making food that was good for you, not food that necessarily tasted good, too. But Kim Boyce truly has reinvented the wheel with this collection of 75 recipes that feature 12 different kinds of whole-grain flours, from amaranth to teff, proving...
Read More check catalog