Back Ages 9-12 | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Mischief Season

John Bemelmans Marciano · Viking Children'S Books
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

The first book in an exciting new chapter book series by John Bemelmans Marciano and Caldecott medalist Sophie Blackall. Welcome to Benevento, an ancient town famous for its witches!The children of Benevento have to be careful and clever to evade the clutches of such witches as the Manalonga,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Magic Tricks with Coins and Everyday Objects

JAKE BANFIELD · QEB Publishing
Pages: 120
Format: Hardcover

Do you know your riffle shuffle from your French drop? Can you make a bottle disappear or read someone's mind? Learn the greatest magic tricks around and astound your friends and family, all without buying fancy props or equipment. From coins to muffins, make magic with anything you can get your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mysterious Cheese Thief

Geronimo Stilton · Scholastic Paperbacks; First Printing edition
Format: Book

Enter the world of Geronimo Stilton where another funny adventure is always right around the corner Each book is a fast-paced adventure with lively art and a unique format kids - will loveI Geronimo Stilton am not a big fan of spooky things But when the Stilton cheese began disappearing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face and the Quest for the Magic Porcupine

John Dougherty · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

The BADgers are back in Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face's second adventure, perfect for fans of The Stinky Cheese Man and Pseudonymous Bosch.The villainous badgers have escaped from prison, and it's up to Stinkbomb and Ketchup-Face to find them and put them back! Only someone who knows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel

Ursula Vernon · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 227
Format: Print book

Rapunzel gets a rodent twist in book three of the critically acclaimed and uproariously funny series that's perfect for fans of Princess in Black and BabymousePrincess Harriet Hamsterbone does not like sitting around at home. How's a princess supposed to have any fun when her parents are constantly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Best Man

Richard Peck · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 232
Format: Print book

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack GantosArcher Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mesmerist

Ronald L Smith · Clarion Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Thirteen-year-old Jessamine Grace and her mother make a living as sham spiritualists - until they discover that Jess is a mesmerist and that she really can talk to the dead. Soon she is plunged into the dark world of Victorian London's supernatural underbelly and learns that the city is under...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Voyagers: Infinity Riders

Kekla Magoon · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The action is on the page, on your device, and out of this world! This multiplatform series is part sci-fi, all action-adventure. And you don't have long to wait - six books are coming all in one year! Earth is in danger! The only things that can save our planet are six essential elements...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3 The Ship of the Dead

Rick Riordan · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Magnus Chase, a once-homeless teen, is a resident of the Hotel Valhalla and one of Odin's chosen warriors. As the son of Frey, the god of summer, fertility, and health, Magnus isn't naturally inclined to fighting. But he has strong and steadfast friends, including Hearthstone the elf, Blitzen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghost Attack

DAVID LUBAR · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

When Alex and his cousin Sarah are visiting their grandparents, Alex gets terrible red, itchy hives. Yikes! He's allergic to a ghost! Even worse, the ghost won't leave him alone -- he wants Alex and Sarah's help. Can they solve the ghost's mystery and get rid of Alex's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Jake: Dog Eat Dog #2

Jake Marcionette · Grosset & Dunlap
Format: Hardcover

Sixth grader Jake Ali Mathews is slowly climbing his way back up the ladder of popularity. Increasingly settled in his new school and with a great new best friend, Michael, everything seems to be going okay for Jake. Until Jake's beloved teacher, Mrs. Pilsner, has a baby and the students...
Read More check catalog
 
 
City Trails - New York

Lonely Planet Kids. · Lonely Planet Pbns
Pages: 104
Format: Print book

Here's a book about New York that's seriously streetwise! Let Marco and Amelia, our Lonely Planet explorers, take you off the tourist trail and guide you on a journey through New York you'll never forget. This book is perfect for anyone who has been to New York, plans to go there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Bigfoot, Big City

JENNIFER WEINER · Aladdin
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner comes the second book in the "smartly crafted" (BCCB) and "heartwarming (School Library Journal) trilogy about friendship, furry creatures, and finding the place where you belong.Twelve-year-old Alice Mayfair has a secret....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Wolf's Class

Aron Nels Steinke · Graphix
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Mr. Wolf has just started teaching at Hazelwood Elementary. He wants the first day of school to go well, but he's got his hands full with his new class. Some of his students include: Margot, who is new in town and is trying to make friends. Sampson, who brought something special to school...
Read More check catalog