Back Teen Non-Fiction | April Newsletter

Simple News Pro
  Teen Non-Fiction  
Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done

Andrea Gonzales · HarperCollins
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for aspiring coders everywhere, Girl Code is the story of two teenage tech phenoms who met at Girls Who Code summer camp, teamed up to create a viral video game, and ended up becoming world famous. The book also includes bonus content to help you start coding!

Fans of funny...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me.

NOT AVAILABLE. · HARPERCOLLINS
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

In this groundbreaking debut essay collection, featuring never-before-seen photos, actress Lily Collins - star of Mortal Instruments and Rules Don't Apply - is opening a poignant, honest conversation about the things young women struggle with: body image, self-confidence, relationships,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Eyes and Spies: How You're Tracked and Why You Should Know

Tanya Lloyd Kyi · Annick Press
Pages: 140
Format: Paperback

Written for middle-grade and older readers, Eyes and Spies looks at the way information and data about us is collected and used by individuals, governments, companies, and organizations. Each chapter covers one aspect of the subject, from data collection to computer surveillance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dead Inside: A True Story

Cyndy Etler · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler's gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious "tough love" program the ACLU called "a concentration camp for throwaway kids."

I never was a badass....

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Message Received

Emily Trunko · Crown
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

Named one of the Top 10 Most Viral Blogs by Mashable, the Tumblr The Last Message Received - created by 16-year-old Emily Trunko - is now available as a gift book!

What if a message someone sends you today is the last you'll ever receive from them?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Undefeated: Jim Thorpe and the Carlisle Indian School Football Team

Steve Sheinkin · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Jim Thorpe: Super athlete, Olympic gold medalist, Native American
Pop Warner: Indomitable coach, football mastermind, Ivy League grad

Before these men became legends, they met in 1907 at the Carlisle Indian Industrial School in Pennsylvania, where they forged one of the winningest...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl Rising: Changing the World One Girl at a Time

Tanya Lee Stone · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

A gorgeous, full-color oversized book about educating girls across the world inspired by the documentary that Entertainment Weekly says "every mother, sister, daughter, should see, as well as the men who love and support them." This is the right book for the present...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Advanced Programming and Design

Kevin McCombs · Cavendish Square Publishing
Pages: 128
Format: Library Binding

As students transition to higher levels of robotics, the problems they are asked to solve become more difficult. This book covers some more advanced tasks such as soldering and welding, and using CAD to design the robot. Also included are examples of how physics can be used to see if elements...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Survivors Club: The True Story of a Very Young Prisoner of Auschwitz

Michael Bornstein · Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In 1945, in a now-famous piece of World War II archival footage, four-year-old Michael Bornstein was filmed by Soviet soldiers as he was carried out of Auschwitz in his grandmother's arms. Survivors Club tells the unforgettable story of how a father's courageous wit, a mother's fierce...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Come On In, America: The United States in World War I

Linda Barrett Osborne · Harry N. Abrams
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

On April 6, 1917, the United States declared war on Germany and joined World War I. German submarine attacks on American ships in March 1917 were the overt motive for declaring war, but the underlying reasons were far more complex. Even after the United States officially joined, Americans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Science of Science Fiction

Matthew Brenden Wood · Nomad Press
Pages: 120
Format: Paperback

Early science fiction imagined a world with space travel, video calls, and worldwide access to information, things we now know as NASA's human spaceflight program, Skype, and the Internet. What next? Could we really bring back the dinosaurs, travel to a distant star, or live on Mars?

In...
Read More check catalog