Back Children's Chapter books | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Chapter books  
Revenge of the Red Club

Kim Harrington · Aladdin
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A tween reporter discovers an important and beloved club at school is being shut down - and uses the power of the pen to try and activate some much-needed social change in this period-positive and empowering middle grade novel about the importance of standing up for what you believe in.

Riley...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Swirl of Ocean

Melissa Sarno · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A touching, timeless novel--perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lauren Wolk--about a girl who discovers that the ocean is holding secrets she never could have imagined.

Twelve-year-old Summer loves the ocean. The smell, the immensity, the feeling she gets when she dives beneath the surface....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story That Cannot Be Told

J. Kasper Kramer · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A powerful middle grade debut that weaves together folklore and history to tell the story of a girl finding her voice and the strength to use it during the final months of the Communist regime in Romania in 1989.

Ileana has always collected stories. Some are about the past, before...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spider-Man: Far From Home: Peter and Ned's Ultimate Travel Journal

Preeti Chhibber · Marvel Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica}

Peter Parker's off to Europe with his classmates from school! How does Spider-Man stay one step ahead of the bad guys while on the road, while keeping his identity a secret? You can find that out-and a whole lot more-in this...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Starspun Web

Sinead O'Hart · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy comes a thrilling adventure about a brave girl who finds a portal to parallel worlds, and must protect her secret from the evil forces trying to capture it.

All her life, Tess has lived at Miss Ackerbee's orphanage with her friends...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sky Chasers

Emma Carroll · Chicken House
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The race is on to be the first to discover the secret of flight! Magpie is soon caught up in a world of science, spies, and unruly animals to be the first to passenger in a hot air balloon.

Yesterday, Magpie was one of the best thieves in all of France. But an encounter with a boy dangling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ghost in Apartment 2R

Denis Markell · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

What if there was a ghost in your brother's room?

This kid-friendly mystery about three friends who try to help a restless spirit find peace is perfect for fans of Under the Egg and The Book Scavenger.

It stinks that Danny's older brother moved out and went...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Thin Ice

Michael Northrop · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Michael Northrop captures the middle-school experience--from the hurt to the hope--in this powerful story of creativity in the face of cruelty.

If I did something risky now, something big, it's almost like it wouldn't even be my fault. Almost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Family Tree Book 4: Home Is the Place

Ann M. Martin · Scholastic Press
Pages: 215
Format: Hardcover

Far and near. Lost and found. Four girls. Four generations.

Georgia cannot figure out what's going on in her family. Her mother, Francie, is extremely overprotective. Her grandmother, Dana, and her great-grandmother, Abby, don't speak to each other. And Georgia's great-great-grandmother...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Lunch: Triple Treats

Danny Katz · Candlewick Entertainment
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

Three bite-size stories kick off a series based on a popular TV show about all the fun (and maybe a little trouble) that happens at snack time.

Little Lunch - aka snack time - is only fifteen minutes long, but it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winner Takes All!

Erica David · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Join Wonder Woman(TM) , Supergirl(TM) , and the rest of the DC Super Hero Girls(TM) in an all-new action-packed paperback series!

Disguised as Diana Prince, young Wonder Woman goes to Metropolis to start school and quickly meets a group of students who are also secretly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nixie Ness: Cooking Star

Claudia Mills · Margaret Ferguson Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Best friends Nixie and Grace spend every afternoon together . . . until Nixie's mom gets a new job and Nixie must attend the after-school program, without Grace.

Third graders Nixie Ness and Grace Kenny have been best friends since they were two-years-old. They have always spent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Jasper June

Laurel Snyder · Walden Pond Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"This book is a treasure - a touching story of friendship, loss, and finding beauty in the everyday, with characters who stay with you long after you've turned the final page. I absolutely loved it." - R. J. Palacio, New York Times bestselling author of Wonder

Laurel...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Malamander

Thomas Taylor · Walker Books US
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A quirky, creepy fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea finds a colorful cast of characters in hot pursuit of a sea monster thought to convey a surprising gift.

It's winter in the town of Eerie-on-Sea, where the mist is thick and the salt spray is rattling the windows of the Grand Nautilus...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World Ends in April

Stacy McAnulty · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Is middle school drama scarier than an asteroid heading for Earth? Find out in this smart and funny novel by the author of The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl.

Every day in middle school can feel like the end of the world.

Eleanor Dross knows a thing or two about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation

Stuart Gibbs · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"Fast-paced, smart, and action-packed...a real page-burner." - Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestelling author of the Mr. Lemoncello's Library series

From New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs comes the first novel in a thrilling new series...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Star Shepherd

Dan Haring · Sourcebooks Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Neil Gaiman meets How to Train Your Dragon in this beautifully illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy, his trusted dog, and his best friend, as they race to save the stars before their light is extinguished for good.

When the world first formed, the night was black and filled...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Lalani of the Distant Sea

Erin Entrada Kelly · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read." - Kirkus (starred review)

"A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder." - Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning...

Read More check catalog
 
 
On Snowden Mountain

Jeri Watts · Candlewick
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Twelve-year-old Ellen learns the quiet strength of family when her mother's deep depression prompts her to ask an estranged aunt for help.

Ellen's mother has struggled with depression before, but not like this. With her father away fighting in World War II and her mother unable to care...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pavi Sharma's Guide to Going Home

Bridget Farr · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} The Fosters meets The Great Gilly Hopkins in this moving novel, featuring foster kid Pavi Sharma as she sets off on an important mission to save a fellow foster kid from the home that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Kids on Earth and the Midnight Blade

Max Brallier · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Now a Netflix original series!

The New York Times and USA Today bestselling series, with over three million copies in print!

"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beverly, Right Here

Kate DiCamillo · Candlewick
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale, two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly.

Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still.
This was what Beverly wanted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of Ages

Trenton Lee Stewart · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The brilliant and beloved gang from the New York Times bestselling series is back!
The Mysterious Benedict Society is a modern classic, drawing comparisons to J.K. Rowling and Roald Dahl, named a Time magazine "Best Young Adult Book of All Time," and selling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Castle in the Sea

Mardi McConnochie · Pajama Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

It's been months since their father, Spinner, disappeared after the Admiralty tore apart his workshop and sent him into hiding, but Annalie and Will are determined to find him, whatever the cost. With the help of new friends Essie and Pod (and talking parrot, Graham) , the siblings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rise of the Dragon Moon

Gabrielle K. Byrne · Imprint
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The princess of a frozen queendom fights to free her mother from the clutches of terrifying dragons in Rise of the Dragon Moon, a middle grade fantasy debut from Gabrielle K. Byrne.

Princess Toli may be heir to the throne, but she longs to be a fierce hunter and warrior....

Read More check catalog