Back Children's Chapter books | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Chapter books  
Dragon Bones

Lisa McMann · Aladdin
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Ten years after Alex and Aaron Stowe brought peace to Quill and Artimé, their younger twin sisters journey beyond Artimé in the second novel in the New York Times bestselling sequel series to The Unwanteds, which Kirkus Reviews called "The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter."The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy, the Bird, and the Coffin Maker

Matilda Woods · Philomel Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Friendship and magical realism sparkle on the page in this heartwarming, delightfully eccentric illustrated middle-grade gem from an extraordinary new literary voice. Perfect for fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Penderwicks.Alberto lives alone in the town of Allora, where fish fly out of the sea and the houses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Quest of the Cubs

Kathryn Lasky · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks at Last

JEANNE BIRDSALL · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks at Last is the final, flawless installment in the modern classic series from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall!Nine years, five older siblings, a few beloved dogs, and an endless array...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Serpent's Secret

Sayantani DasGupta · Scholastic Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

MEET KIRANMALA:INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER(Only she doesn't know it yet.) On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hyacinth and the Stone Thief

Jacob Sager Weinstein · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The hilarious second book in a middle-grade fantasy trilogy about the magical rivers that run through the sewers of London and shape history in ways you'd never learn in school.Magic is real. History is about to be squashed.Now that Hyacinth Hayward knows about the enchanted rivers under...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Midnight Gang

DAVID WALLIAMS · HarperCollins
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Hailed as "the heir to Roald Dahl" by The Spectator, the UK's #1 bestselling children's author, David Walliams, will have fans of Jeff Kinney and Rachel Renee Russell in stitches!David Walliams burst on to the American scene with his New York Times bestseller Demon Dentist, and now he's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sam the Man & the Dragon Van Plan

Frances O'Roark Dowell · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Sam the Man is back with not one, but TWO plans in this third hilarious chapter book in the Sam the Man series from Frances O'Roark Dowell.Sam Graham is a dragon fan and a big truck man. Monster trucks to be specific. And when the family minivan needs replacing, Sam has the perfect plan:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stuck in the Stone Age

GEOFF RODKEY · Rodale Kids
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Tom Edison (no, not that Tom Edison) is a hopeful janitor who dreams of becoming a scientist -- and Dr. Morice is a shy scientist who dreams of making friends. When an accident at the lab sends them back in time to the stone age, Tom and Dr. Morice must work together to face down cavemen,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out of the Wild Night

Blue Balliett · Scholastic Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Ghosts are alive on the island of Nantucket. You can hear them in the wind and in the creaks of the old homes. They want to be remembered. And, even more, they want to protect what was once theirs. The ghosts have chosen a few local kids to save the island against the adults who would do it harm....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sky at Our Feet

Nadia Hashimi · HarperCollins
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Parker Inheritance

Varian Johnson · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"A clever puzzle, a hidden treasure, and a couple of kids you'll wish were your friends...Dive in!" - Sara Pennypacker, author of PaxThe letter waits in a book, in a box, in an attic, in an old house in Lambert, South Carolina. It's waiting for Candice Miller. When Candice finds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Middle School: From Hero to Zero

James Patterson · jimmy patterson
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

James Patterson's bestselling Middle School series is now a major motion picture! Catch up with everyone's favorite troublemaker Rafe Khatchadorian when he gets lost in London on the worst field trip EVER! After a mostly-successful stint at Hills Valley Middle School, Rafe is excited to visit...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World

Ashley Herring Blake · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.When a tornado rips through town, twelve-year-old Ivy Aberdeen's house is destroyed and her family of five is displaced....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Samantha Spinner and the super secret plans

Russell Ginns · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Mr. Lemoncello's Library and the Secret series, and classics like Holes and The Westing Game, here is the first book in a hilarious new series about a girl, her brother, and some super-big globe-trotting adventures.Samantha Spinner's uncle Paul disappeared, and here's what he left:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lucky Enough

Fred Bowen · Peachtree Publishers
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Trey is overjoyed when his lucky charm helps him make the travel team, but will his luck hold out? When Trey's treasured lucky charm -- a piece of blue sea glass he found near his grandmother's beach house -- "helps" him make it onto the Ravens travel team with his friend Cole,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Bad Night for Bullies

Gary Ghislain · Boyds Mills Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Goosebumps and other young horror titles, here is the first book of The Goolz Next Door series. When horror novelist Frank Goolz and his daughters, Ilona and Suzie, move next door, twelve-year-old Harold is only hoping to make exciting new friends. But he soon learns that Frank's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wizard for Hire

OBERT SKYE · Shadow Mountain
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Fourteen-year-old Ozzy lives near Portland, Oregon, and is desperate for help. His scientist parents have been kidnapped after discovering a formula that enables mind control. Their work was so top secret Ozzy is afraid to go to the police, but without help, he fears he'll never find his parents....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Science of Breakable Things

Tae Keller · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An emotionally-charged new classic about the science of hope, love, and miracles! Natalie's uplifting story of using the scientific method to "save" her mother from depression is sure to take root in readers' hearts!How do you grow a miracle? For the record, this is not the question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sneak Thief

Faith Harkey · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A funny, moving novel about a sneak-thieving girl with the ability to actually see people's pain--and take it away--who learns how simple acts of kindness can change the worldThanks to her sneak-thieving skills, Hush Cantrell can fend for herself. Which is a good thing, since her mom's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Time Jumpers

BRANDON MULL · Aladdin
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Trapped in a world where magic is powerful and dreams are real, Cole's epic adventure comes to a close in book five of the New York Times bestselling "fanciful, action-packed adventure" series (Publishers Weekly, starred review) , from the author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Deep Blue Sea: Jack and the Geniuses Book #2

BILL NYE · Harry N. Abrams
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

New York Times-bestselling authors Bill Nye the Science Guy and Gregory Mone take middle-grade readers on a scientific adventure in Book 2 of the exciting new Jack and the Geniuses series. The series combines real-world science along with a mysterious adventure that will leave kids guessing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Olga: We're Out of Here!

Elise Gravel · HarperCollins
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Animal lover and kid scientist Olga is back! Great for fans of the acclaimed graphic novels Real Friends and Invisible Emmie.In this second installment of a series Franny K. Stein creator Jim Benton called "great, kooky, monstrous fun," Olga wants to leave earth in search of Meh's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Dash of Dragon

HEIDI LANG · Aladdin
Pages: 311
Format: Hardcover

"This novel is a recipe for success." - Kirkus Reviews A thirteen-year-old chef has a lot to prove as she tries to run a five-star restaurant, repay a greedy loan shark, and outsmart the Elven mafia in this entertaining novel that combines all the best ingredients - fantasy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aru Shah and the End of Time

Roshani Chokshi · Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this adventure by Roshani Chokshi about twelve-year-old Aru Shah, who has a tendency to stretch the truth in order to fit in at school. While her classmates are jetting off to family vacations in exotic locales, she'll be spending her autumn break...
Read More check catalog