Back Children's Chapter books | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Chapter books  
How to Get Away with Myrtle

Elizabeth C. Bunce · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Myrtle Hardcastle has no desire to go on a relaxing travel excursion with her aunt Helena when there are More Important things to be done at home, like keeping close tabs on criminals and murder trials. Unfortunately, she has no say in the matter. So off Myrtle goes - with her governess,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Karma Moon--Ghost Hunter

Melissa Savage · Crown Books for Young Readers
Format: Library Binding

Karma Moon is a firm believer in everything "woo-woo," as her dad calls it. So when she asked her trusty Magic Eight Ball if the call asking her dad to create a ghost-hunting docuseries was her dad's big break, it delivered: "No doubt about it." Because the universe...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Minecraft Dungeons: The Rise of the Arch-Illager

Matt Forbeck · Del Rey
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Learn the tragic origins of the wicked Arch-Illager in this official Minecraft novel, a prequel to Minecraft: Dungeons!Brave heroes have banded together to take a perilous journey through the war-riven Overworld to defeat the Arch-Illager and his formidable army. But how did that army come...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Halfway to Harmony

Barbara O'Connor
Format: Hardcover

Walter Tipple is looking for adventure. He keeps having a dream that his big brother, Tank, appears before him and says, "Let's you and me go see my world, little man." But Tank went to the army and never came home, and Walter doesn't know how to see the world without...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Campaign: With Liberty and Study Hall for All

Laurie B. Friedman
Format: Hardcover

For readers interested in social and political justice comes a new middle grade fiction series about student council, elections, and running a fair and honest campaignAmanda Adams has always dreamed of running for class president. Her mom is a member of Congress and her dad is a political...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghosted

Michael Fry
Format: Hardcover

Larry's got a few problems. In school, he's one of those kids who easily gets lost in the crowd. And Grimm, Larry's best friend in the whole world, has ghosted him. Literally. One minute Grimm was saving a cat in a tree during a lightning storm, and the next, he's pulling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unplugged

Gordon Korman · Balzer Bray
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Relates, in multiple voices, the adventures of a group of youngsters at an electronics-free wellness camp where wealthy, spoiled Jett, leads other campers in trying to stop a criminal.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Real Pigeons Nest Hard

Andrew McDonald · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Ever wonder why pigeons act so weird? Because they are secretly chasing bad guys and flying around saving your butt! This hilarious illustrated series is perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN.What do REAL PIGEONS do? They nest, of course! And when they nest, they nest HARD. Protecting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pity Party

Kathleen Lane
Format: Hardcover

.Author of Holes, and the Wayside School series. Dear weird toes, crooked nose, stressed out, left out, freaked outDear missing parts, broken hearts, picked-on, passed up, misunderstood, Dear everyone, you are cordially invited, come as you are, this party's for youWelcome to Pity Party,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brave Like That

Lindsey Stoddard · HarperCollins
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Find yourself. Find your place. Find your brave. This uplifting tale, which award-winning author Leslie Connor dubbed "a perfectly paced journey of the heart" is perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. Cyrus Olson's dad is a hero - Northfield's former football...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am Defiance: A Novel of WWII

Jenni L. Walsh · Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover

Brigitte tries not to ask questions. They don't seem very welcome at her League of German Girls meetings, where she and her friends learn about their duties to Hitler's war effort.But she can't help asking questions when a mysterious pamphlet appears in her mailbox: a pamphlet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amari and the Night Brothers

B. B. Alston
Format: Hardcover

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor. Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S.

David Levithan

Aidan disappeared for six days. Six agonizing days of searches and police and questions and constant vigils. Then, just as suddenly as he vanished, Aidan reappears. Where has he been? The story he tells is simply. . . impossible. But it's the story Aidan is sticking to. His brother,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bambi: A Life in the Woods

Felix Salten · Racehorse for Young Readers; Illustrated edition
Format: Hardcover

Most 90s kids grew up with the adorable Disney movie Bambi, but did you know it was originally a book? Now the classic 1923 novel about the life of a young deer is getting a new edition filled with beautiful, full-color illustrations! The original story of young Bambi starts as he begins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Magic's Most Wanted

Tyler Whitesides

Magic is closer than you ever thought possible in this madcap middle grade adventure perfect for fans of James Riley and Chris Grabenstein. For Mason Mortimer Morrison, life isn't so magical. His dad was just sent to jail, his grades have been plummeting from meh to yikes, and, oh yeah,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sea in Winter

Christine Day
Format: Hardcover

In this evocative and heartwarming novel for readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish, the author of I Can Make This Promise tells the story of a Native American girl struggling to find her joy again. It's been a hard year for Maisie Cannon, ever since she hurt her leg and could...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Star Outside My Window

Onjali Qatara Rauf · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Format: Library Binding

Ten-year-old Aniyah and her little brother Noah find themselves living in foster care after the sudden disappearance of their mum. With her life in disarray, Aniyah knows just one thing for sure: her mum isn't gone forever. Aniyah believes that the people with the brightest hearts never...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alone

Megan E. Freeman
Format: Hardcover

When twelve-year-old Maddie hatches a scheme for a secret sleepover with her two best friends, she ends up waking up to a nightmare. She's alone - left behind in a town that has been mysteriously evacuated and abandoned. With no one to rely on, no power, and no working phone lines or internet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bravelands #5: The Spirit-Eaters

Erin Hunter · HarperCollins
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Heed the call of the wild ... discover the fifth book in this action-packed, New York Times bestselling animal fantasy series from the author of Warriors!

"Deep characters, a complex plot, rich mythology, and a stunning setting. Wild and wonderful." - Kirkus on Bravelands...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Shaking Up the House

Yamile Saied Méndez
Format: Hardcover

A friendly prank war at the White House spirals out of control in this hilarious and heartfelt middle grade novel written by acclaimed author Yamile Saied Méndez and perfect for fans of President of the Whole Fifth Grade and Merci Suárez Changes Gears. Ingrid and Winnie López have lived...
Read More check catalog