Back Children's Chapter books | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Chapter books  
The Artifact Hunters

Janet Fox · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Isaac Wolf can travel through time. But he's also in a race against it.With tensions in Prague rising at the height of World War II, Isaac Wolf is forced to leave home with nothing more than a small backpack and a pendant in the shape of an eternity knot. His parents believe the pendant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cattywampus

Ash Van Otterloo · Scholastic Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The magical story of a hex that goes haywire, and the power of friendship to set things right!In the town of Howler's Hollow, conjuring magic is strictly off-limits. Only nothing makes Delpha McGill's skin crawl more than rules. So when she finds her family's secret book of hexes,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Kids on Earth and the Skeleton Road

Max Brallier · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Now wielding the Midnight Blade, Jack Sullivan and the gang are furiously searching for the villainous Thrull and his skeleton army. The clock is ticking: the enemy has begun constructing the Tower--a portal with the power to bring Rezzoch the Ancient, Destructor of Worlds, to our dimension....
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Vacancy

Tziporah Cohen · Groundwood Books
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Buying and moving into the run-down Jewel Motor Inn in upstate New York wasn't eleven-year-old Miriam Brockman's dream, but at least it's an adventure. Miriam befriends Kate, whose grandmother owns the diner next door, and finds comfort in the company of Maria, the motel's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Summer at Meadow Wood

Amy Rebecca Tan · HarperCollins
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the author of A Kind of Paradise comes a beautiful and heartfelt middle grade novel for fans of Ali Standish and Sally J. Pla, about a girl who finds comfort in the warm traditions and unexpected friendships of summer camp.Vic Brown did not want to go to camp this summer.Even though...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stick Dog Meets His Match

Tom Watson · HarperCollins
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books, Tom Watson's hilarious series continues, and Stick Dog gets a ... girlfriend?!Well, not before Stick Dog's day spins out of control first. As he and his friends work to rescue a hyper Karen from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tune It Out

Jamie Sumner · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Lou Montgomery has the voice of an angel, or so her mother tells her and anyone else who will listen. But Lou can only hear the fear in her own voice. She's never liked crowds or loud noises or even high fives; in fact, she's terrified of them, which makes her pretty sure there's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Clockwork Crow

Catherine Fisher · Walker Books US
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Evoking the classic fantasy adventures of Joan Aiken and Eva Ibbotson, this darkly delightful new novel from New York Times best-selling author Catherine Fisher glimmers with winter magic.Orphan Seren Rhys is on her way to a new life at the remote country mansion of Plas-y Fran when she is given...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bye-bye, Blue Creek

Andrew Smith · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Vampires have just moved in to the haunted house next door. All twelve-year-old Sam Abernathy wanted to do was make the most of his last few weeks in Blue Creek before he has to say goodbye. Goodbye to the well he fell in eight years ago; goodbye to cooking at Lily Putt's snack bar;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Louder Than Words

Kathy Kacer · Annick Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Heroic actions speak volumes in a powerful middle grade novel based on real WWII events. Life is not easy for Jewish people in the midst of the Second World War, and for twelve-year-old Dina and her sisters, it gets even harder when their father dies. Their mother must go back to work...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boys in the Back Row

Mike Jung · Levine Querido
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Best friends Matt and Eric are hatching a plan for one big final adventure together before Eric moves away: during the marching band competition at a Giant Amusement Park, they will sneak away to a nearby comics convention and meet their idol-a famous comic creator. Without cell phones....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hungry Place, The

Jessie Haas
Format: Hardcover

Princess lives a charmed life of brown sugar cubes, crunchy apples, sweet grass, and adoration. But it is a lonely life; her elderly owner keeps Princess separate from other ponies so his show-ring champion will remain pristine. When Princess's owner has a stroke, she is thrust into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kid Normal and the Rogue Heroes

Greg James · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

"Should appeal to readers who enjoy the Captain Underpants and Wimpy Kid series." - School Library Connection on Kid Normal

Since becoming Kid Normal, Murph Cooper and the Super Zeroes - fellow students with arguably less-than-useful talents like the ability...

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life in the Fish Tank

Barbara Dee · Aladdin
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

When twelve-year-old Zinnia Manning's older brother Gabriel is diagnosed with a mental illness, the family's world is turned upside down. Mom and Dad want Zinny, her sixteen-year-old sister, Scarlett, and her eight-year-old brother, Aiden, to keep Gabriel's condition "private"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Monster and Boy

Barnaby, Hannah · HENRY HOLT

Fall in love with the friendship between Monster and Boy in this exciting new illustrated chapter book series When Monster (who lives under the bed) meets Boy (who sleeps in the bed) , Boy starts to scream--and Monster promptly swallows him. It's the beginning of a beautiful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trapped in Hitler's Web

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In the grip of World War II, Maria has realized that her Nazi-occupied Ukrainian town is no longer safe. Though she and her family might survive, her friend Nathan, who is Jewish, is in grave danger. So Maria and Nathan flee -- into the heart of Hitler's Reich in Austria.There, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flooded: Requiem for Johnstown

Ann E. Burg · Scholastic Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Johnstown, Pennsylvania, in 1889 was a lively, working-class factory city. Above the soot-soaked streets, an elite fishing and hunting club, built on a pristine man-made lake, drew America's wealthiest business barons. Though repeatedly urged to fix the deteriorating dam that held the lake,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragon Slayers

Lisa McMann · Aladdin
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Ten years after Alex and Aaron Stowe brought peace to Quill and Artimé, their younger twin sisters journey beyond Artimé in the sixth novel in the New York Times bestselling sequel series to The Unwanteds, which Kirkus Reviews called "The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter."The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears

Tehlor Kay Mejia · Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Space-obsessed 12-year-old Paola Santiago and her two best friends, Emma and Dante, know the rule: Stay away from the river. It's all they've heard since a schoolmate of theirs drowned a year ago. Pao is embarrassed to admit that she has been told to stay away for even longer than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Wonderland Diaries

J. Scott Savage · Shadow Mountain
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Lewis Carroll created a curious and fantastical world in his classic book Alice in Wonderland, but he secretly recorded the true story of his actual travels to Wonderland in four journals which have been lost to the world...until now. Celia and Tyrus discover the legendary Lost Diaries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm of Sands

TUI T SUTHERLAND · Scholastic Press
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

A young NightWing may have had the first true prophecy in generations . . .

Something is coming to shake the earth
Something is coming to scorch the ground
Jade Mountain will fall beneath thunder and ice
Unless the lost city of night can be found.

Will the return...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tristan Strong Destroys the World

Kwame Mbalia · Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling author Rick Riordan presents the second book in the New York Times best-selling Tristan Strong trilogy by Kwame Mbalia. Tristan Strong, just back from a victorious but exhausting adventure in Alke, the land of African American folk heroes and African gods, is suffering from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hacker's Key

Jon Skovron
Format: Hardcover(Library Binding - Library Edition)

Ada Genet's father, Remy Genet, was one of the most infamous criminals in the world, specializing in infiltration, theft, and cybercrime. As far back as she can remember, Ada had been his accomplice. She helped him steal secrets from governments, weapons from terrorists, and money from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Blue Wings

Jef Aerts · Levine Querido
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Two brothers bound together by affection and responsibility. Jadran is five years older than Josh and huge enough to be nicknamed Giant. Josh is younger, and smaller; but his sweet and stubborn brother thinks in a way that would be more typical of a small child. They are both dealing with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Pinch of Magic

Harrison, Michelle · HOUGHTON MIFFLIN

A spellbinding middle-grade fantasy about three sisters--adventurous Betty, curious Charlie, and proper Fliss--who go on a quest to break the curse that's haunted their family for generations.
Read More check catalog