Back Children's Chapter books | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Chapter books  
A Long Pitch Home

Natalie Dias Lorenzi · Charlesbridge
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Ten-year-old Bilal liked his life back home in Pakistan. He was a star on his cricket team. But when his father suddenly sends the family to live with their aunt and uncle in America, nothing is familiar. While Bilal tries to keep up with his cousin Jalaal by joining a baseball league and practicing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inquisitor's Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog

Adam Gidwitz · Dutton Children's Books
Pages: 363
Format: Print book

An exciting and hilarious medieval adventure from the bestselling author of A Tale Dark and Grimm. Beautifully illustrated throughout! The Inquisitor's Tale is one of the most celebrated children's books of 2016! ★ New York Times Bestseller ★ A New York Times Editor's Choice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gertie's Leap to Greatness

Kate Beasley · Farrar
Pages: 249
Format: Print book

"Meet the new Ramona Quimby!" -- Entertainment WeeklyGertie Reece Foy is 100% Not-From-Concentrate awesome. She has a daddy who works on an oil rig, a great-aunt who always finds the lowest prices at the Piggly Wiggly, and two loyal best friends. So when her absent mother decides...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Star Darlings Good Wish Gone Bad

Disney Book Group. · Disney Press
Pages: 315
Format: Print book

After defeating Rancora, the Star Darlings are looking for clues about her origin. They soon discover the wish-troubled history between Lady Stella and the evil Lady Rancora that dates back to when the two women were teens at Starling Academy. They also learn new secrets about the women's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Guardian Herd: Windborn

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez · Harper
Pages: 340
Format: Print book

Perfect for fans of the Warriors and the Guardians of Ga'Hoole series, the action-packed fourth and final book in this first arc of the Guardian Herd series follows Star and his nemesis, Nightwing, as they face off in an epic battle that will end everything.Star and his friends have been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Truest Heart

E D Baker · Bloomsbury
Pages: 260
Format: Print book

Born to be a tooth fairy, Cory Feathering has been busy proving there's another life meant for her -- one of matchmaking! She's already helped Marjorie Muffet and Goldilocks find true love, and now it's Mary Lambkin's turn. When Cory has a vision of Mary with one particular boy, Cory knows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Centaur Rising

Jane Yolen · Henry Holt and Co.
Format: Hardcover

One night during the Perseid meteor shower, Arianne thinks she sees a shooting star land in the fields surrounding her family's horse farm. About a year later, one of their horses gives birth to a baby centaur. The family has enough attention already as Arianne's six-year-old brother...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas

Jonathan Stokes · Philomel Books
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

The Goonies meets Indiana Jones and James Patterson's Treasure Hunters in this funny, action-filled adventure series! Twelve-year-old Addison Cooke just wishes something exciting would happen to him. His aunt and uncle, both world-famous researchers, travel to the ends of the earth searching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Journey's End

Rachel Hawkins · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 286
Format: Print book

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff. The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ryan Quinn and the Rebel's Escape

Ron Mcgee · Harpercollins
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Ryan Quinn and the Rebel's Escape is the first fast-paced, sensational novel in a trilogy about a New York City teenager who could give James Bond and Jason Bourne a run for their money. Fans of Alex Rider and the Spy School series will be completely enthralled.Ryan Quinn hopes his traveling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Ones

Michaela MacColl · Calkins Creek
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

Despite her father's warnings that their tribe is always in danger, Casita, a ten-year-old Lipan Apache girl, has led a relatively peaceful life with her tribe in Mexico, doing her daily chores and practicing for her upcoming Changing Woman ceremony, in which she will officially become...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Like Magic

Elaine Vickers · Harper
Pages: 261
Format: Print book

This sweet middle grade novel featuring a diverse cast of characters proves that friendship can be just around the corner.For three ten-year-old girls, their once simple worlds are starting to feel too big. Painfully shy Grace dreads starting fifth grade now that her best friend has moved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret of the Shadow Bandit

Linda Joy Singleton · Albert Whitman
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Kelsey's dad has a new job and that means a new house -- on the same property as a castle! Kelsey, Becca, and Leo can't wait to explore, but what they find might lead to their most intricate case yet. How are an abandoned tree house, a wad of cash, a missing heirloom, and a mysterious creature...
Read More check catalog