Back Children's Chapter books | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Chapter books  
The Ring of Honor

Sarah L Thomson · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Middle school geniuses Sam, Martina, and Theo arrive in New York City on a mission. They're after the third key left behind by the Founding Fathers. They've escaped the forests of Glacier National Park with the second key, but at great cost--Evangeline, their chaperone and friend, was captured...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Turning

EMILY WHITMAN · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Does he belong to the land or to the sea?Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan's Echo will be transported to the place where the water and land meet in this exquisitely crafted coming-of-age tale about a selkie boy.Aran has never truly fit in with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Code Word Courage

Kirby Larson · Scholastic Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Billie has lived with her great-aunt ever since her mom passed away and her dad left. Billie's big brother, Leo, is about to leave, too, for the warfront. But first, she gets one more weekend with him at the ranch.Billie's surprised when Leo brings home a fellow Marine from boot camp, Denny....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spirit Hunters #2: The Island of Monsters

ELLEN OH · HarperCollins
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The thrilling sequel to the Texas Bluebonnet Award-nominated Spirit Hunters!We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh delivers the next haunting tale in her acclaimed middle grade series Spirit Hunters, a mix of captivating mystery and chilling ghost story.The perfect spooky read for Halloween,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Alcatraz Escape

JENNIFER CHAMBLISS BERTMAN · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 262
Format: Hardcover

Sleuthing duo Emily and James tackle their most challenging mystery yet set on the haunting Alcatraz Island in Book 3 of the New York Times bestselling Book Scavenger series!Legendary literary game-maker Garrison Griswold is back in action -- this time with "Unlock the Rock."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
So Done

PAULA CHASE · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

When best friends Tai and Mila are reunited after a summer apart, their friendship threatens to combust from the pressure of secrets, middle school, and the looming dance auditions for a new talented-and-gifted program.Fans of Renée Watson's Piecing Me Together will love this memorable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carnival Magic

Amy Ephron · Philomel Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

This companion to Castle In the Mist features a mysterious carnival, an ominous psychic, and a wind that whisks Tess and Max away from their vacation in South Devon, England. Which fantastical world will they find this time?Tess and Max are back in England for another summer with their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finding Langston

Lesa Cline-Ransome · Holiday House
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

In a debut historical novel about the Great Migration a boy discovers Chicago's postwar South Side and the poetry of Langston Hughes. When 11-year-old Langston's mother dies in 1946, he and his father leave rural Alabama for Chicago's brown belt as a part of what came to be known as the Great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy Who Went Magic

A P WINTER · Chicken House
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Magic doesn't exist in Bert's world... or does it?The mages of Ferenor were outlawed and destroyed by the royal family centuries ago for performing incredible feats and powering wondrous machines with their magic, and the world is a much duller place. Bert is a young boy who's lived in an orphanage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Stacy McAnulty · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Kids on Earth and the Nightmare King

Max Brallier · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 257
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times and USA Today bestelling series, with one million copies in print!"Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Diary of a Wimpy KidLife after the zombie apocalypse is pretty good for 13-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Here Comes Trouble

Kate Hattemer · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The hilarious story of a wannabe-reformed-prankster perfect for readers who loved Dead End in Norvelt and Better Nate Than Never.Soren Skaar is a notorious prankster. After his partner-in-pranking-crime moves away, Soren's ready to leave his life of causing trouble behind. But when his hipster...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freya and the Magic Jewel

Joan Holub · Aladdin
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the authors of the Goddess Girls series comes the first book in a brand-new series steeped in Norse mythology, magic, adventure, and friendship."Gold and Gullveig I cannot see. But here is a vision that comes to me; Adventure for you is about to start. Near Asgard you must find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Seismic Seven

Katie Slivensky · HarperCollins
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

This action-packed, science-infused adventure from the critically acclaimed author of The Countdown Conspiracy follows a group of seven kids racing to save the world from a deadly supervolcano. Perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein and Peter Lerangis. Brianna Dobson has been chosen to work...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Babysitting Nightmares: The Shadow Hand

Kat Shepherd · Imprint
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Got chills? Babysitting can be a real nightmare in this spooky middle grade series!For Rebecca Chin, babysitting has always been fun. But one night, a thunderstorm knocks the power out while she's watching baby Kyle, and creepy things begin to happen in the house. A locked window opens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
TBH, This May Be TMI

Lisa Greenwald · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell.TBH, Cece has no time for her boy-crazy friends. She wants to make a bigger impact in middle school than just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flor and Miranda Steal the Show

Jennifer Torres · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Enjoy carnival rides and deep fried pickles in this warm, funny middle grade novel about family and friendship.Miranda is the lead singer in her family's musical band, Miranda y Los Reyes. Her family has worked hard performing at festivals and quinceañeras. Now, they have a shot at the main...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wizard's Dog Fetches the Grail

ERIC KAHN GALE · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For fans of The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom comes an offbeat, comedic spin on the Holy Grail legend as told by the lovable Nosewise--talking dog and wizard-in-training The magical realm of Avalon has gone to the dogs--well, one dog. Nosewise, the hilarious talking pup and wizard-in-training,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Space Cat

Ruthven Todd · Dover Publications
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

"An amusing combination of comical cat story and science fiction for the youngest fans, made even more amusing by the artist's interpretation of a cat in a space suit." - Horn Book A little gray kitten with a taste for adventure stows away on an airplane, and the daring stunt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pip Bartlett's Guide to Sea Monsters

Maggie Stiefvater · Scholastic Press
Pages: 166
Format: Hardcover

Pip and Tomas have dealt with magical creatures that burst into flames and runaway unicorns. Now they are headed with Tomas's family to Port Candor, a seaside showplace full of magical sea creatures. Soon they are surrounded by Slimekrakens and Tubafish and Spinnerseals and other dazzlers...
Read More check catalog