Back Children's Non-Fiction books | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Non-Fiction books  
The Treehouse Joke Book

Griffiths, Andy · FEIWEL & FRIENDS


Read More check catalog
 
 
Superpowered: Transform Anxiety into Courage, Confidence, and Resilience

Renee Jain · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The first of its kind! This how-to book from two psychology experts--packed with fun graphics and quizzes--will help kids transform stress, worry, and anxiety by uncovering their inner superpowers. Perfect for fans of The Confidence Code for Girls and Raina Telgemeier's Guts. Now more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote

Veronica Chambers · Versify
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds - black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more - who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mayflower: The perilous voyage that changed the world

Libby Romero · DK Children
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Step on board the Mayflower and meet the amazing crew and passengers, from burly sailors to pilgrims, servants, orphaned children, and animals. Discover who the pilgrims were and why they chose to risk their lives to make the treacherous journey across the Atlantic, relive the ferocious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Truth about Butterflies

Eaton, Maxwell · ROARING BROOK PR


Read More check catalog
 
 
Plymouth Rocks: The Stone-Cold Truth

Jane Yolen · Charlesbridge
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Master storyteller Jane Yolen marks the 400th anniversary of the Mayflower's arrival by channeling the voice of Plymouth Rock itself. A funny (and fact-checked!) history of a beloved monument.The history of Plymouth Rock is explained--by the rock itself. Playful, clever verses offer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life

Heinz Janisch · NorthSouth Books
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

"If you like, I'll tell you the story of a boy who learned to fly."Through an enchanted conversation with a young girl in a horse-drawn coach, Hans Christian Andersen shares his life's struggles, dreams, and triumphs - whose threads can be found woven into his greatest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hamilton

Frank Keating · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Alexander Hamilton, Founding Father, a Constitutional Convention delegate, author of the Federalist Papers, and the first secretary of the US Treasury, is brought to life with this vivid and accessible illustrated biography. Alexander Hamilton was an unknown immigrant, an orphan, a boy of no connections...
Read More check catalog
 
 
RESPECT: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul

Carole Boston Weatherford · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

From a creative team with multiple Caldecott Honors comes this vibrant portrait of Aretha Franklin that pays her the R-E-S-P-E-C-T this Queen of Soul deserves.Aretha Franklin was born to sing. The daughter of a pastor and a gospel singer, her musical talent was clear from her earliest days...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything You Need to Ace Science in One Big Fat Notebook: The Complete Middle School Study Guide

Sharon Madanes · Workman Publishing
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

It's the revolutionary science study guide just for middle school students from the brains behind Brain Quest. Everything You Need to Ace Science . . . takes readers from scientific investigation and the engineering design process to the Periodic Table; forces and motion; forms...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything You Need to Ace Math in One Big Fat Notebook: The Complete Middle School Study Guide

Altair Peterson · Workman Publishing
Pages: 512
Format: Print book

It's the revolutionary math study guide just for middle school students from the brains behind Brain Quest. Everything You Need to Ace Math . . . covers everything to get you over any math hump: fractions, decimals, and how to multiply and divide them; ratios, proportions, and percentages;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything You Need to Ace English Language Arts in One Big Fat Notebook: The Complete Middle School Study Guide

Elizabeth Irwin · Workman Publishing
Pages: 496
Format: Print book

It's the revolutionary English language arts study guide just for middle school students from the brains behind Brain Quest. Everything You Need to Ace English Language Arts . . . covers everything to get you your best marks: grammar, including parts of speech, active and passive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sound: Shhh . . . Bang . . . POP . . . BOOM!

Romana Romanyshyn · Chronicle Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning visual tour of the world of sound.Intriguing, informative, and endlessly fascinating, a book that makes visible that which we otherwise only hear and feel as vibrations: SOUND. Award-winning authors and artists Romana Romanyshyn and Andriy Lesiv achieve a remarkable fusion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Science Chef: 100 Fun Food Experiments and Recipes for Kids

Joan D'Amico · Jossey-Bass
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Break out your best aprons and spatulas: The Science Chef: 100 Fun Food Experiments and Recipes for Kids, 2nd Edition teaches children the basics of science through a variety of fun experiments, activities, and recipes. Each chapter explores a different science topic by giving you an experiment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weather

Scholastic · Scholastic Nonfiction
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

Fiercer hurricanes, hungrier wildfires, flash floods, and desertification are becoming a part of daily life as our climate shifts and changes. Weather covers the most important areas of this timely topic, delivering up-to-date expert information on everything from the water cycle to winds,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Super Good Baking for Kids

Duff Goldman · HarperCollins
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Super Good Baking for Kids, from New York Times bestselling celebrity chef and host of Ace of Cakes and Kids Baking Championship Duff Goldman, teaches budding young bakers how to make dozens of crazy delicious concoctions - from confetti snickerdoodles to unicorn cupcakes to amazing dessert...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys' Soccer Team

Christina Soontornvat · Candlewick
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A unique account of the amazing Thai cave rescue told in a heart-racing, you-are-there style that blends suspense, science, and cultural insight.On June 23, 2018, twelve young players of the Wild Boars soccer team and their coach enter a cave in northern Thailand seeking an afternoon's...
Read More check catalog