Back Teens | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Looking for Group

Rory Harrison · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Rory Harrison's beautiful novel about identity, home, and fresh starts recounts one boy's quest to discover a world where he can thrive, one adventure at a time.Dylan doesn't have a lot of experience with comfort. His room in the falling-down Village Estates can generously be categorized...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Make a Wish

Ashley Herring Blake · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Grace, tough and wise, has nearly given up on wishes, thanks to a childhood spent with her unpredictable, larger-than-life mother. But this summer, Grace meets Eva, a girl who believes in dreams, despite her own difficult circumstances. One fateful evening, Eva climbs through a window...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Names They Gave Us

Emery Lord · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake and spending quality time with her parents. But when her mom's cancer reappears, Lucy falters-in her faith and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend "pauses" their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon · Simon Pulse
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she's more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Upside of Unrequited

Becky Albertalli · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 340
Format: Hardcover

"Heart-fluttering, honest, and hilarious. I can't stop hugging this book." - Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss"I have such a crush on this book! Not only is this one a must read, but it's a must re-read." - Julie Murphy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kill All Happies

Rachel Cohn · Hyperion
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Last Call at Happies! Tonight, 8 P.M. Senior Class Only! Please with the Shhhh .This is it. Graduation. And Vic Navarro is throwing the most epic party Rancho Soldado has ever seen. She's going to pull off the most memorable good-bye ever for her best friends, give Happies-the kitschy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
That Thing We Call a Heart

Sheba Karim · HarperTeen
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan.Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt's pie shack....
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Dare the Sun Rise: Memoirs of a War Child

Sandra Uwiringiyimana · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

This profoundly moving memoir is the remarkable and inspiring true story of Sandra Uwiringyimana, a girl from the Democratic Republic of the Congo who tells the tale of how she survived a massacre, immigrated to America, and overcame her trauma through art and activism.Sandra was just ten years...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Generation One

PITTACUS LORE · HARPERCOLLINS
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

The first book in a pulse-pounding new series that's set in the world of the #1 New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series. The war may be over - but for the next generation, the battle has just begun!It has been over a year since the invasion of Earth was thwarted in Pittacus Lore's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadow Fall

Audrey Grey · Blaze Publishing, LLC
Pages: 363
Format: Paperback

How far would you go to save the one you love? Sixteen-year-old Maia Graystone lives in a world of fear. Trapped inside the hellish pit below Rhine prison with psychopaths and murderers, she spends every second worrying about the brother she left behind, knowing that if the other inmates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Takedown

Corrie Wang · Freeform
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover

Kyla Cheng doesn't expect you to like her. For the record, she doesn't need you to. On track to be valedictorian, she's president of her community club, a debate team champ, plus the yummy Mackenzie Rodriguez has firmly attached himself to her hip. She and her three high-powered best friends...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road to Winter

MARK SMITH · Text Publishing Company
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Since a deadly virus and the violence that followed wiped out his parents and most of his community, Finn has lived alone on the rugged coast with only his dog Rowdy for company.He has stayed alive for two winters - hunting and fishing and trading food, and keeping out of sight of the Wilders,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

MACKENZI LEE · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s in this hilarious and swashbuckling stand-alone teen historical fiction novel. A young bisexual British lord who embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush stars. An 18th-century romantic adventure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Obsidian and Stars

JULIE ESHBAUGH · HarperTeen
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In the riveting sequel to Ivory and Bone - the YA fantasy novel that New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman described as having a "richly crafted world of life-and-death stakes" - the story shifts to Mya's viewpoint as vengeful adversaries force her to flee the life she once...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Jewel

Richelle Mead · Razorbill
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The Selection meets Reign in this dazzling trilogy of interwoven novels about three girls on a quest for freedom and true love from #1 internationally bestselling author Richelle Mead.Mira is not like the other Glittering Court girls. She is a war refugee, cast out of her home country and thrust...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seeker

VERONICA ROSSI · Macmillan Audio
Format: Audiobook

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Veronica Rossi's new fantasy adventure in the Rider series -- Seeker .When Daryn claimed she was seeing "visions" during her sophomore year of high school, no one believed the truth. She wasn't losing her mind, she was gaining the Sight...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hundredth Queen

EMILY R KING · Skyscape
Pages: 300
Format: Paperback

As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she's an unlikely candidate for even a servant's position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thief's Cunning

Sarah Ahiers · HarperTeen
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The companion novel to Assassin's Heart - an action-packed fantasy that Printz Award winner Laura Ruby said "will keep you turning the pages all night long" - Thief's Cunning picks up eighteen years later and follows Allegra Saldana as she uncovers the secrets about the line of killers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Disappearances

Emily Bain Murphy · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

What if the ordinary things in life suddenly ... disappeared? Aila Quinn's mother, Juliet, has always been a mystery: vibrant yet guarded, she keeps her secrets beyond Aila's reach. When Juliet dies, Aila and her younger brother Miles are sent to live in Sterling, a rural town far from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Leaf Reader

Emily Arsenault · Soho Teen
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Like a contemporary take on Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle, Marnie Wells comes face-to-face with the occult, discovering she can tell the future by reading tea leaves.Marnie Wells knows that she creeps people out. It's not her fault: her parents are out of the picture, her brother is always in trouble,...
Read More check catalog