Back Adult New Fiction | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Adult New Fiction  
The Marriage Portrait: A novel

KNOPF. · Knopf
Format: Kindle Edition

From the author of the breakout New York Times best seller Hamnet - winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award - an electrifying new novel set in Renaissance Italy, and centering on the captivating young duchess Lucrezia de Medici. Florence, the 1550s. Lucrezia, third daughter of the grand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Killers of a Certain Age

Deanna Raybourn · ?Berkley
Format: Hardcover

Older women often feel invisible, but sometimes that's their secret weapon. They've spent their lives as the deadliest assassins in a clandestine international organization, but now that they're sixty years old, four women friends can't just retire - it's kill or be killed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ways We Hide: A Novel

Kristina McMorris · Sourcebooks Landmark
Format: Kindle Edition

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sold On A Monday - over a million copies sold! - comes a sweeping World War II tale of an illusionist whose recruitment by British intelligence sets her on a perilous, heartrending path.As a little girl raised amid the hardships of Michigan's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ink Black Heart

Robert Galbraith
Format: Hardcover

The latest installment in the highly acclaimed, internationally bestselling Strike series finds Cormoran and Robin ensnared in another winding, wicked case.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Making of Her

BERNADETTE JIWA · Dutton
Format: Kindle Edition

A moving, intergenerational novel set in 1990s Dublin about a woman reconnected with the daughter she gave up for adoption who gets in touch after thirty years, setting off an exploration into past secrets. Dublin 1996. Joan Egan lives an enviable life. She and her husband, Martin, and daughter,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Back to the Garden: A Novel

Laurie R King · ?Bantam
Format: Hardcover

A fifty-year-old cold case involving California royalty comes back to life - with potentially fatal consequences - in this gripping standalone novel from the New York Times bestselling author of the Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes seriesThe Gardener Estate is one of the most storied and beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Delphi: A Novel

CLARE POLLARD · Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Format: Kindle Edition

For readers of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, and Olivia Laing, an exquisite debut novel about a classics academic researching prophecy in the ancient world, just as the pandemic descends and all visions of her own family's future begin to blur.Covid-19 has arrived in London, and the entire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unfolding: A Novel

A M HOMES · Viking
Format: Hardcover

From a writer who is always "razor sharp and furiously good" (Zadie Smith) , a darkly comic political parable braided with a Bildungsroman that takes us inside the heart of a divided country. The Big Guy loves his family, money and country. Undone by the results of the 2008 presidential...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Thread Collectors: A Novel

Shaunna J Edwards · Graydon House
Format: Kindle Edition

"An unforgettable story of female strength, hope and friendship. This collaborative work is magnificent - a true revelation!" - Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman with the Blue Star"A brilliant story brimming with unexpected friendships and family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Assassins: A Novel

KOTARO ISAKA · ?The Overlook Press
Format: Hardcover

By the internationally bestselling author of Bullet Train, the high-octane new thriller, set in Tokyo's criminal underworld, pits an ordinary man against a group of talented and very unusual assassins Three Assassins is the high-stakes, high-style, and utterly propulsive follow-up to Kotaro...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mika in Real Life: A Novel

Emiko Jean · William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

In this brilliant new novel by from Emiko Jean, the author of the New York Times bestselling young adult novel Tokyo Ever After, comes a whip-smart, laugh-out-loud funny, and utterly heartwarming novel about motherhood, daughterhood, and love - how we find it, keep it, and how it always...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lioness: A Novel

Mark Powell · West Virginia University Press
Format: Paperback

"Emotionally wrenching. . . . Haunting (and haunted) in the best possible way." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Darkly compelling." - Tom PerrottaIn the fall of 2018, a bomb goes off at a water-bottling plant in the mountains of southwest Virginia, an incident...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unleashed: A Novel

CAI EMMONS · ?Dutton
Format: Hardcover

Set amid California's wildfire season, a vivid and magical novel following a family in crisis thrust on a collision course with the world around them that has an outcome beyond their wildest imaginings . . .   When Lu and George Barnes drop their only daughter, Pippa, off at college,...
Read More check catalog