Back Teens | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
The Closest I've Come

Fred Aceves · HarperTeen
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Read the book Morris Award finalist Sonia Patel called "a brilliant, subtle debut," and Kirkus Reviews hailed as "heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed" in a starred review!The Closest I've Come is a must-read from talented first-time author Fred Aceves,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Get Happy

Mary Amato · EgmontUSA
Pages: 244
Format: Hardcover

In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with.Minerva has been raised by her single mother after her father...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Final Four: The Pursuit of College Basketball Glory

Matt Doeden · Millbrook Press
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

When basketball fans hear the words Final Four, they probably think of the buzzer-beaters, Cinderella stories, and bracket-busters that have thrilled people for years. However, you don't need to be a die-hard fan to know that the NCAA men's basketball tournament is one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
BZRK Apocalypse

Michael Grant · Egmontusa
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The Matrix meets Inner Space in this third book in the BZRK trilogy from New York Times best-selling author Michael Grant.The staggering conclusion to the BZRK trilogy, from the author of GONE. The members of BZRK are preparing for their final stand. Noah and Sadie have seen death, and it holds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree

ADAOBI TRICIA NWAUBANI · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Based on interviews with young women who were kidnapped by Boko Haram, this poignant novel by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani tells the timely story of one girl who was taken from her home in Nigeria and her harrowing fight for survival. Includes an afterword by award-winning journalist Viviana...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chasing King's Killer: The Hunt for Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Assassin

James L Swanson · Scholastic Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In his meteoric, thirteen-year rise to fame, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. led a mass movement for Civil Rights -- with his relentless peaceful, non-violent protests, public demonstrations, and eloquent speeches. But as violent threats cast a dark shadow over Dr. King's life, Swanson hones...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Middle School Rules of Brian Urlacher

Sean Jensen · Broadstreet Publishing Group LLC
Format: Hardcover

For more than a decade, Brian Urlacher was the face of the Chicago Bears—one of the NFLs most storied franchises. An eight-time Pro Bowl middle linebacker, Urlacher established himself as one of the leagues preeminent defenders with his athleticism, intelligence and ferocity. He is widely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Wrinkle in Time Movie Tie-In Edition

MADELEINE L'ENGLE · Square Fish
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

It was a dark and stormy night ... In 1962, Madeleine L'Engle debuted her novel A Wrinkle in Time, which would go on to win the 1963 Newbery Medal. Bridging science and fantasy, darkness and light, fear and friendship, the story became a classic of children's literature and is beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Survive Zits and Bad Hair Days

Lisa Miles · Rosen Pub Group
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

From School Library Journal Gr 6-9-These busy books are designed to look like magazines, with Cosmo Girl-like subtitles on the cover and lists, quizzes, peppy photos, and personal stories against a background of pastel patterns inside. They are not designed for classrooms,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inferno

Julie Kagawa · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times, USA TODAY and international bestselling author of The Iron Fey and the Blood of Eden series comes the fiery, hugely anticipated finale of The Talon Saga ... INFERNOWhat if dragons walked among us in human form? Enter a modern fantasy of heroes, sacrifice, forbidden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Not to Disappear

Clare Furniss · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 448
Format: eBook

A pregnant teen and her gin sling loving great-aunt go on the journey of a lifetime in this "absolutely gorgeous, heartfelt, and incredibly enjoyable" (Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike) novel that shows what happens when you're on the brink of losing everything.Our...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cruel Beauty

Rosamund Hodge · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 346
Format: Hardcover

If you're excited about the upcoming Disney film Beauty and the Beast, starring Emma Watson, don't miss Cruel Beauty. The romance of Beauty and the Beast meets the adventure of Graceling in this dazzling fantasy novel about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.Perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mary Shelley: The Strange True Tale of Frankenstein's Creator

Catherine Reef · Clarion Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

On the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein, comes a riveting biography of its author, Mary Shelley, whose life reads like a dark gothic novel, filled with scandal, death, drama, and one of the strangest love stories in literary history. The story of Frankenstein's creator...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heart of the Storm: Undertow Trilogy Book 3

Michael Buckley · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

After seven months as a captive of Minerva, the insane Alpha queen, Lyric Walker has escaped to the surface. Her only goal is to warn the world about the Great Abyss. When she finally arrives back in Coney Island, she discovers a world she never expected, one where humans and Alpha are finally...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 Reasons Why

JAY ASHER · Razorbill
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES AND INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERFeaturing cover art from the upcoming Netflix original series executive produced by Selena Gomez, with exclusive interviews and photos inside! "Eerie, beautiful, and devastating." - Chicago Tribune "A stealthy hit with staying...
Read More check catalog