Back Teens | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Dear My Blank: Secret Letters Never Sent

Emily Trunko · Crown
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

From the popular Tumblr of the same name comes a collection of heart-warming, tear-jerking, and gut-wrenching anonymous letters that people never intended - or didn't have the courage - to send. The Tumblr Dear My Blank - created by 16-year-old Emily Trunko and followed by over 35,000...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Real Name is Hanna

TARA LYNN MASIH · Mandel Vilar Press
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is a powerful coming-of-age story that will resonate with fans of The Book Thief and Between Shades of Gray.--A 2018 Skipping Stones Honor Award BookHanna Slivka is on the cusp of fourteen when Hitler's army crosses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carve the Mark

Veronica Roth · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 468
Format: Print book

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth's stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Pyromantic

Lish McBride · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

Ava is having a rough time. Getting rid of Venus didn't set her free -- she's still Coterie. Her new boss seems like an improvement, but who knows if he'll stay that way? The Coterie life changes people. And since Ava's currently avoiding her friends after (disastrously) turning...

Read More check catalog
 
 
On a Sunbeam

Tillie Walden · First Second
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

On a Sunbeam is an epic graphic novel about a girl who travels to the ends of the universe to find a long lost love, from acclaimed author Tillie Walden.

Two timelines. Second chances. One love.

A ragtag crew travels to the deepest reaches of space, rebuilding...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Elements

Brian J. Knapp · Grolier Academic Reference
Format: Hardcover

From BOOKLIST
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm Siren

Mary Weber · Thomas Nelson
Format: Hardcover

There are few things more exciting to discover than a debut novel packed with powerful storytelling and beautiful language. STORM SIREN is one of those rarities. Ill read anything Mary Weber writes. More, please! -Jay Asher, New York Times bestselling author of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY Storm Siren is...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Samantha Smart Became a Revolutionary

Dawn Green · Red Deer Press
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback

Samantha Smart is the girl-next-door: student, captain of the soccer team, best friend -- revolutionary!? In a world eerily similar to contemporary times where a close election leads to a torn nation, an average girl is thrust into the social-media spotlight, labeled a terrorist and given...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Boundaries: How the Mason-Dixon Line Settled a Family Feud and Divided a Nation

Sally M Walker · Candlewick Press
Pages: 202
Format: Print book

The Mason-Dixon Line's history, replete with property disputes, persecution, and ideological conflicts, traverses our country's history from its founding to today. We live in a world of boundaries - geographic, scientific, cultural, and religious. One of America's most enduring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girls Like Me

Kristin Butcher · Orca Book Publishers
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

After accepting a ride home, sixteen-year-old Emma Kennedy is raped by a boy from school. But handsome, popular Ross Schroeder tells everyone the sex was consensual, and Emma is immediately branded as a slut. Even Emma's best friend, Jen, doesn't believe Emma's version of events....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Immigration to North America: Asylum Seekers

Frank Wright · Mason Crest
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

Asylees are people who cannot return to their homeland because of a fear of persecution. Unlike other refugees, asylees are processed within the country where they find refuge. They are permitted to stay when that country determines that they have a legitimate and compelling reason for leaving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Secrets of the Casa Rosada

Alex Temblador · Pinata Books
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

Sixteen-year-old Martha and her mother move constantly, never staying anywhere for long. So she knows better than to ask if they've been evicted again when her mom says they re going on a "vacation" to meet the grandmother Martha didn't know existed.
Laredo, Texas, is like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Beautiful Lost

Luanne Rice · Point
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Here are three things to know about Maia:

1. Ever since her mother left, Maia's struggled with depression -- which once got so bad, she had to go to an institution for a while. She doesn't want to go back.

2. Maia's sure that if she finds her mother, if the two of them can talk...
Read More check catalog
 
 
See Jane Run

Hannah Jayne · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

I know who you are. When Riley first gets the postcard tucked into her bag, she thinks it's a joke. Then she finds a birth certificate for a girl named Jane Elizabeth O'Leary hidden inside her baby book. Riley's parents have always been pretty overprotective....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein

Kiersten White · Delacorte Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The Frankenstein legend as you've never seen it before, as told by New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White! You will not be able to put down this stunning and dark reimagining of the Mary Shelley classic told from the point of view of Elizabeth, Victor Frankenstein's adopted...
Read More check catalog