Back Science | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Particle Physics Brick by Brick: Atomic and Subatomic Physics Explained... in LEGO

Ben Still · Firefly Books
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

A simple and entertaining introduction to the building blocks of the universe. In 2014 the Lego® Group sold 62 billion Lego® pieces. That's 102 Lego® bricks for every person in the world. That's nothing however to the estimated seven billion billion billion atoms that make up each...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shrewdunnit: The Nature Files

Conor Mark Jameson · Pelagic Publishing, 2014.
Pages: 300
Format: Print book

Conor Mark Jameson has spent most of his life exploring the natural environment and communicating his enthusiasm for it to family, friends and, more recently, readers of a range of newspapers and magazines. Shrewdunnit brings together the best of these dispatches, alongside unpublished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peterson Reference Guides: Birding by Impression: A Different Approach to Knowing and Identifying Birds

Kevin Karlson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 286
Format: Hardcover

A highly visual guide to identifying birds in the field based on the important, unchanging features of size, shape, structure, and behavior Birding is an extremely rewarding and fun hobby, but some situations can be frustrating or unsuccessful because of a variety of challenging viewing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poison: Sinister Species with Deadly Consequences

Dr. Mark Siddall · Sterling Signature
Format: Hardcover

Beware: it's a poisonous world—and this is the ultimate guide to surviving nature at her most toxic! Journeying from the plains of the outback to the jungles of Madagascar, Dr. Mark Siddall, curator of Invertebrate Zoology at the American Museum of Natural History, delves into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Immune: How Your Body Defends and Protects You

CATHERINE CARVER · Bloomsbury Sigma
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The human body is like an exceedingly well-fortified castle, defended by billions of soldiers--some live for less than a day, others remember battles for decades, but all are essential in protecting us from disease. This hidden army is our immune system, and without it we could not survive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Green Gold: Alabama's Forests and Forest Industries

James E Fickle · The University of Alabama Press
Pages: 360
Format: Print book

Green Gold is a thorough and valuable compilation of information on Alabama's timber and forest products industry, the largest manufacturing industry in the state. Alabama has the third-largest commercial forest in the nation, after only Georgia and Oregon. Fully two-thirds of the state's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everyday Calculus: Discovering the Hidden Math All Around Us

Oscar E Fernandez · Princeton University Press
Pages: 150
Format: Hardcover

Uses everyday experiences to reveal the hidden calculus behind a typical day's events, showing how math naturally emerges from simple observations such as how hot coffee cools down, and demonstrating that calculus can be both useful and fascinating.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Water Footprint: The Shocking Facts About How Much Water We Use to Make Everyday Products

Stephen Leahy · Firefly Books
Format: Hardcover

The average American lifestyle is kept afloat by about 2,000 gallons of H2O a day. The numbers are shocking. Your Water Footprint reveals the true cost of our lifestyle. A water footprint is the amount of fresh water used to produce the goods and services we consume, including growing,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mother of God: An Extraordinary Journey into the Uncharted Tributaries of the Western Amazon

Paul Rosolie · Harper,
Pages: 306
Format: Print book

For fans of The Lost City of Z, Walking the Amazon, and Turn Right at Machu Picchu comes naturalist and explorer Paul Rosolie's extraordinary adventure in the uncharted tributaries of the Western Amazon - a tale of discovery that vividly captures the awe, beauty, and isolation of this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Indispensable Guide to Undergraduate Research: Success in and Beyond College

Anne H Charity Hudley · Teachers College Press
Pages: 186
Format: Paperback

Despite all of the information that exists to encourage students to attend and do well in college, this is the first research-based guide that directly advises first- and second-year college students. With a focus on the needs and interests of students who are underrepresented in the academy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cat in the Box: A History of Science in 100 Experiments

Mary Gribbin · Race Point Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

This book distills the history of science into 100 epic experiments that have fueled our understanding of Earth and the Universe beyond. Everything in the scientific world view is based on experiment, including observations of phenomena predicted by theories and hypotheses, such as the bending...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Virtual Unreality: Just Because the Internet Told You, How Do You Know It’s True?

Charles Seife · Viking
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of Proofiness and Zero explains how to separate fact from fantasy in the digital worldDigital information is a powerful tool that spreads unbelievably rapidly, infects all corners of society, and is all but impossible to controleven when that information is actually...
Read More check catalog
 
 
College Algebra DeMYSTiFieD, 2nd Edition

Rhonda Huettenmueller · McGraw-Hill Professional Publishing
Pages: 497
Format: Paperback

Don't let quadratic equations make you irrational If you are absolutely confused by absolute value equations, or you think parabolas are short moral stories, College Algebra DeMYSTiFied, Second Edition is your solution to mastering the topic's concepts and theories at your own pace....
Read More check catalog