Back Biographies & Memoirs | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Touched by the Sun: My Friendship with Jackie

Carly Simon - Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A chance encounter at a summer party on Martha's Vineyard blossomed into an improbable but enduring friendship.

Carly Simon and Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis made an unlikely pair -- Carly, a free and artistic spirit still reeling from her recent divorce, searching for meaning, new love,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
More Myself: A Journey

Alicia Keys - Flatiron Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An intimate, revealing look at one artist's journey from self-censorship to full expression

As one of the most celebrated musicians of our time, Alicia Keys has enraptured the nation with her heartfelt lyrics, extraordinary vocal range, and soul-stirring piano compositions. Yet away...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Appetites: A Cookbook

Anthony Bourdain - Ecco
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Anthony Bourdain is a man of many appetites. And for many years, first as a chef, later as a world-traveling chronicler of food and culture on his CNN series Parts Unknown, he has made a profession of understanding the appetites of others. These days, however, if he's cooking, it's for family...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Feeding the Soul

Tabitha Brown - William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

You are seen, you are loved, and you are heard!Before Tabitha Brown was one of the most popular personalities in the world, sharing her delicious vegan home cooking and compassionate wisdom with millions of followers across social media, she was an aspiring actress who in 2016 began struggling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Few Seconds of Radiant Filmstrip: A Memoir of Seventh Grade

Kevin Brockmeier - Pantheon
Format: Hardcover

At age twelve, Kevin Brockmeier is ready to become a different person: not the boy he has always been—the one who cries too easily and laughs too easily, who lives in an otherland of sparkling daydreams and imaginary catastrophes—but someone else altogether. Over the course...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love, Loss, and What We Ate: A Memoir

Padma Lakshmi - Ecco
Pages: 325
Format: Print book

A vivid memoir of food and family, survival and triumph, Love, Loss, and What We Atetraces Padma Lakshmi s unlikely path from an immigrant childhood to a complicated life in front of the camera a tantalizing blend of Ruth Reichl s Tender at the Bone and Nora Ephron s HeartburnLong before...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir

Jayson Greene - Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss."
--Cheryl Strayed

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paul McCartney: The Life

Philip Norman - Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 853
Format: Hardcover

The definitive Paul McCartney biography, written with his approval by bestselling biographer Philip Norman.

Since the age of twenty-one, Paul McCartney has lived one of the ultimate rock-n-roll lives played out on the most public of stages. Now, Paul's story is told by rock music's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Me & Patsy Kickin' Up Dust: My Friendship with Patsy Cline

Loretta Lynn - Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The Nashville version of Just Kids or Girls Like Us,ME & PATSY shares the never-before-told story of the remarkable relationship between legendary country queen Patsy Cline and country music icon Loretta Lynn.Loretta Lynn and the late Patsy Cline are legends--country icons and sisters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On His Own Terms: A Life of Nelson Rockefeller

Richard Norton Smith - Random House
Format: Hardcover

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE BOSTON GLOBE AND KIRKUS REVIEWSFrom acclaimed historian Richard Norton Smith comes the definitive life of an American icon: Nelson Rockefeller - one of the most complex and compelling figures of the twentieth century. Fourteen years in the making,...
Read More check catalog