Back Biographies & Memoirs | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
Lincoln's Last Trial: The Murder Case that Propelled Him to the Presidency

Dan Abrams · Hanover Square
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The true story of Abraham Lincoln's last murder trial, a strange case in which he had a deep personal involvement - and which was played out in the nation's newspapers as he began his presidential campaign.

At the end of the summer of 1859, twenty-two-year-old Peachy Quinn Harrison...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jack and Norman: A State-Raised Convict and the Legacy of Norman Mailer's "The Executioner's Song"

Jerome Loving · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

This is the story of an author and his apprentice. It is the story of literary influence and tragedy. It is also the story of incarceration in America.Norman Mailer was writing The Executioner's Song, his novel about condemned killer Gary Gilmore, when he struck up a correspondence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Other People: Takes & Mistakes

David Shields · Knopf
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

An intellectually thrilling and emotionally wrenching investigation of otherness: the need for one person to understand another person completely, the impossibility of any such absolute knowing, and the erotics of this separation. Can one person know another person? How do we live through...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flunk. Start.: Reclaiming My Decade Lost in Scientology

Sands Hall · Counterpoint
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

"I could not put down this book -- it is a triumph, a work of great honesty and insight. It is a necessary book for our time." -- Karen E. Bender, author of Refund

In Flunk. Start., Sands Hall chronicles her slow yet willing absorption into the Church of Scientology....

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Memory of You

Catherine West · Center Point Pub
Pages: 447
Format: Hardcover

Thirteen years ago, Natalie lost a part of herself when her twin sister died. Will traveling back to the family winery finally put the memory to rest, or will it completely destroy her?
Read More check catalog
 
 
SELF-ish: A Transgender Awakening

Chloe Schwenke · Red Hen Press
Pages: 260
Format: Paperback

SELF-ish is a narrative drawn from an international life, beginning with some early glimpses out at the world by a girl in a boy's body. Chloe Schwenke was raised as Stephen in a Marine Corps family, and was sent off at age fourteen to "man-up" at a military academy. Later...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fail Until You Don't: Fight Grind Repeat

BOBBY BONES · Dey Street Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Bare Bones, host of the marquee morning program "The Bobby Bones Show," comedian and dedicated philanthropist delivers an inspirational and humorous collection of stories about his biggest misses in life and how he turned them into...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comfort Food Diaries

Emily Nunn · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family.

One life-changing night, reeling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Natural Disaster: I Cover Them. I am One.

Ginger Zee · Kingswell
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

ABC News chief meteorologist Ginger Zee pulls back the curtain on her life in Natural Disaster. Ginger grew up in small-town Michigan where she developed an obsession with weather as a young girl. Ginger opens up about her lifelong battle with crippling depression, her romances that range...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rabbit: A Memoir

Patricia Williams · Dey Street Books
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Finalist for an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding LiteratureFinalist for a 2018 Southern Book Prize for Biography and History"An absolute must-read" - Shondaland"[Rabbit] tells how it went down with brutal honesty and outrageous humor" - New York Times"I know a lot of people...
Read More check catalog
 
 
America's Great Illustrators

Susan E. Meyer · H. N. Abrams
Pages: 311
Format: Unknown Binding

Book by Susan E. Meyer
Read More check catalog
 
 
Give Me My Flowers Now

Marsha Trice-Cole · Semaj Publishing, Incorporated
Pages: 141
Format: Paperback

'Give Me My Flowers Now' is story told from the eyes and heart of a daughter who is the caregiver for her mother with Alzheimer's Disease/ Dementia. The author is reflective on the woman her mother was and who she is as a result of the disease. Cole-Trice believes that anyone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Muskets and Applejack: Spirits, Soldiers, and the Civil War

Mark Will-Weber · Regnery History
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"I wish some of you would tell me the brand of whiskey that Grant drinks. I would like to send a barrel of it to my other generals."- President Abraham Lincoln, when confronted about General Ulysses Grant's excessive drinking.Blood, gunfire, and whiskey: they are the three...
Read More check catalog