Back Teens | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Fatal throne : the wives of Henry VIII tell all

M T Anderson · Random House/Listening Library
Format: Audiobook on CD

Seven award-winning young adult authors illuminate the lives of Britain's King Henry VIII and his six wives from different viewpoints.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 1

NaRae Lee · Yen Press
Pages: 232
Format: Paperback

Fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride knows what it's like to soar above the world. She and all the members of her "flock" - Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman, and Angel - are just like ordinary kids, except they have wings and can fly! It may seem like a dream come true to some, but for the flock...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadowcaster

Cinda Williams Chima · HarperCollins
Pages: 10
Format: Paperback

From New York Times bestselling author Cinda Williams Chima, this is a thrilling story of the unfathomable costs of war, the allure of dark magic, and two principled and conflicted characters drawn together despite everything they stand to lose.Alyssa ana'Raisa, the reluctant princess...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wrecked

Maria Padian · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Everyone has heard a different version of what happened that night at MacCallum College. Haley was already in bed when her roommate, Jenny, arrived home shell-shocked from the wild Conundrum House party. Richard heard his housemate Jordan brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nyxia

Scott Reintgen · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Library Binding

"A high-octane thriller . . . Nyxia grabs you from the first line and never lets go." - Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Young Elites seriesEvery life has a price in this sci-fi thriller that has the nonstop action of The Maze Runner and the high-stakes space...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tool of War

Paolo Bacigalupi · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

This third book in a major series by a bestselling science fiction author, Printz Award winner, and National Book Award finalist is the gripping story of the most provocative character from his acclaimed novels Ship Breaker and The Drowned Cities.Tool, a half-man/half-beast designed for combat,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tonight the Streets Are Ours: A Novel

Leila Sales · Farrar, Straus Giroux,
Pages: 344
Format: Print book

Recklessly loyal. That's how seventeen-year-old Arden Huntley has always thought of herself. Taking care of her loved ones is what gives Arden purpose in her life and makes her feel like she matters. But lately she's grown resentful of everyone--including her needy best friend and her absent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crooked Kingdom: A Sequel to Six of Crows

Leigh Bardugo · Henry Holt and Company
Pages: 546
Format: Print book

Crooked Kingdom: the highly anticipated sequel to Leigh Bardugo's thrilling #1 New York Times-bestselling Six of Crows.Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn't think they'd survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they're right back to fighting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beacham's Sourcebook For Teaching Young Adult Fiction: Exploring Harry Potter

Elizabeth D Schafer · Beacham Pub Corp
Pages: 479
Format: Hardcover

Guides readers of the Harry Potter series to appreciate the books' literary qualities more fully. Literary analysis of each book is followed by a brief list of activities for extending readers' enjoyment, such as projects, discussion questions, and activities for developing writing and critical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last 8

Laura Pohl · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Extinction was just the beginning in this thrilling, post-apocalyptic debut, perfect for fans of The 5th Wave seriesClover Martinez has always been a survivor, which is the reason she isn't among the dead when aliens invade and destroy Earth as she knows it. Clover is convinced she's the only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Empress

S. J. Kincaid · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 378
Format: Hardcover

The thrilling sequel to S.J. Kincaid's New York Times bestselling novel, The Diabolic that TeenVogue.com called "the perfect kind of high-pressure adventure."It's a new day in the Empire. Tyrus has ascended to the throne with Nemesis by his side and now they can find a new way forward...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lie Tree

Frances Hardinge · Amulet Books
Pages: 377
Format: Print book

Read this thought-provoking, critically acclaimed novel (6 starred reviews ) from Frances Hardinge, winner of the Costa Book of the Year, Costa Children's Book Award, and Horn Book-Boston Globe Award. Faith Sunderly leads a double life. To most people, she is reliable, dull, trustworthy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Little in Love

Susan E. Fletcher · Chicken House
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.Paris, 1832A girl lies alone in the darkness, clutching a letter to her heart.Eponine remembers being a child: her swing and the peach tree, and the baby...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I've read in a very long time. . . . I didn't just read the pages, I lived in them." - Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola...
Read More check catalog