Back Ages 9-12 | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
Just Under the Clouds

Melissa Sarno - Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Can you still have a home if you don't have a house? In the spirit of The Truth About Jellyfish and Fish in a Tree comes a stunning debut about a family struggling to find something lasting when everything feels so fleeting.Always think in threes and you'll never fall, Cora's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Do You Burp in Space?: And Other Tips Every Space Tourist Needs to Know

Susan E Goodman - Bloomsbury
Format: Book

Want to blast into orbit? Walk on the moon? Snag a personal photo of a shooting star? Well your time is coming! And when it does, you're going to need How Do You Burp in Space? This guide is filled with the kind of information you'd need to plan any vacation including what to pack...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Boy

CATHERINE GILBERT MURDOCK - Greenwillow Books
Format: Hardcover

A young outcast is swept up into a thrilling and perilous medieval treasure hunt in this literary page-turner by acclaimed bestselling author Catherine Gilbert Murdock.This epic and engrossing quest story is for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where the Mountain...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warriors Super Edition: Graystripe's Vow

Erin Hunter - HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

In this Super Edition, set during the events of The Broken Code, respected ThunderClan warrior Graystripe seeks a path to the Clans future by returning to his pastand the Moonstone in the Clans old forest territory. Graystripe served ThunderClan for many moons before retiring to the elders...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling

William Ritter - Algonquin Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

"Funny, exciting, and ultimately epic. Wow. I can't wait for the next one." - Adam Gidwitz, author of the New York Times bestseller A Tale Dark and Grimm"Set in a magical world filled with incredible creatures from folklore, this fast-paced fantasy will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
City of Ghosts

VICTORIA SCHWAB - Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it) , she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.So things are already pretty strange. But they're about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2, Special Rehearsal Edition Script

J.K. Rowling - Arthur A. Levine Books
Format: Hardcover

"The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Granted

JOHN DAVID ANDERSON - Walden Pond Press
Format: Hardcover

From the author of beloved novels Ms. Bixby's Last Day and Posted comes a hilarious, heartfelt, and unforgettable novel about a fairy-in-training.Everyone who wishes upon a star, or a candle, or a penny thrown into a fountain knows that you're not allowed to tell anyone what you've wished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The badger knight

Kathryn Erskine - Scholastic Press, 2014.
Format: Print book

In England in 1346 Adrian has three problems: he is small for his twelve years, he is an albino, so people are suspicious of him, and his father wants him to be a scribe, while he wants to be an archer--but when he runs away to join his friend in the fight against the invading Scots, he learns...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Panther

Todd Mitchell - Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

For animal lovers and fans of The One and Only Ivan and Hoot, this is the uplifting story of a girl who discovers a family of panthers that were thought to be extinct, and her journey to save the species. Eleven-year-old Kiri has a secret: wild things call to her. More...
Read More check catalog