Back Biographies & Memoirs | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies & Memoirs  
The Great American Read: The Book of Books

PBS - Black Dog & Leventhal
Format: Hardcover

A blockbuster illustrated book that captures what Americans love to read, The Great American Read: The Book of Books is the gorgeously-produced companion book to PBS's ambitious summer 2018 series. What are America's best-loved novels? PBS will launch The Great American Read series...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 Years a Slave: A Memoir of Kidnap, Slavery and Liberation

Solomon Northup - Hesperus Press; Reprint edition
Format: Book

The astonishing memoir of a free man who was sold into slavery in Louisiana where he was kept for 12 years - a powerful, riveting condemnation of slavery, and a story soon to be introduced to a new audience through a major filmTricked by two men offering him a job as a musician in New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wildflower

Drew Barrymore - Dutton
Format: Print book

Award-winning actress Drew Barrymore shares funny, insightful, and profound stories from her past and present told from the place of happiness she's achieved today. Wildflower is a portrait of Drew's life in stories as she looks back on the adventures, challenges, and incredible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Becoming Dr. Seuss: Theodor Geisel and the Making of an American Imagination

Brian Jay Jones - Dutton
Format: Hardcover

The definitive, fascinating, all-reaching biography of Dr. SeussDr. Seuss is a classic American icon. His work has defined our childhoods and the childhoods of our own children. More than twenty-five years after his death, his books continue to find new readers, now grossing over half a billion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4-H Stories from the Heart

Dan Tabler - iUniverse
Format: Book

4-H Stories from the Heart presents inspirational and heartfelt stories by 4-H'ers, volunteers, and staff that will inspire, amuse, and bring back fond memories. "For more than a century, the 4-H movement has touched the lives of millions of people, one experience at a time. You will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Raising a Rare Girl: A Memoir

Heather Lanier - Penguin Press
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning writer Heather Lanier's memoir about raising a child with a rare syndrome, defying the tyranny of normal, and embracing parenthood as a spiritual practice that breaks us open in the best of ways.Like many women of her generation, Heather Lanier did everything by the book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Take This Man: A Memoir

Brando Skyhorse - Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

Named one of Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Books of 2014 One of NBC Newss 10 Best Latino Books of 2014 From PENHemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boys turbulent childhood growing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Write for Your Life

Anna Quindlen - Random House
Format: Hardcover

In this clarion call to pick up a pen and find yourselffrom "one of our most astute chroniclers of modern life" (The New York Times Book Review) , #1 New York Times bestselling author Anna Quindlen shows us how anyone can write, and why everyone should.What really matters in life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo

Amy Schumer - Gallery Books
Format: Print book

#1 New York Times Bestseller "Amy Schumer's book will make you love her even more. For a comedian of unbridled (and generally hilarious) causticity, Schumer has written a probing, confessional, unguarded, and, yes, majorly humanizing non-memoir, a book that trades less on sarcasm,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Takedown Twenty: A Stephanie Plum Novel

Janet Evanovich - Random House Audio
Format: Audio CD

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERPowerhouse author Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum novels are "as entertaining as ever" (Entertainment Weekly) , "brilliantly evocative" (The Denver Post) , and "making trouble and winning hearts" (USA...
Read More check catalog