Back History | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
A Bunch of Plumbers

John Newcomb · High Tide Publications
Pages: 274
Format: Print book

The Unsung Heroes of the American Space Program A Bunch of Plumbers is the behind-the-scenes story of how NASA engineers, armed with butcher paper, slide rules, and punch card computers, accomplished two of the most successful missions of the 20th century-the Lunar Orbiter Project that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Invisible Bridge: The Fall of Nixon and the Rise of Reagan

Rick Perlstein · Simon & Schuster
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of Nixonland a dazzling portrait of America on the verge of a nervous breakdown in the tumultuous political and economic times of the 1970s. In January of 1973 Richard Nixon announced the end of the Vietnam War and prepared for a triumphant second term—until...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spies in the Congo: America's Atomic Mission in World War II

Susan Williams · Public Affairs
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

In the 1940s, the brightest minds of the United States and Nazi Germany raced to West Africa with a single mission: to secure the essential ingredient of the atomic bomb - and to make sure nobody saw them doing itAlbert Einstein told President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1939 that the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
California Rich: The lives, the times, the scandals and the fortunes of the men & women who made & kept California's wealth

Stephen Birmingham · Lyons Pr
Pages: 318
Format: Print book

Since the Gold Rush, California has represented a land of opportunity and bounty for a special breed of Americans. Heading west in pursuit of sunshine, riches, and elusive dreams, the early mavericks of California set out to make their fortunes--and often succeeded beyond their wildest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meister Eckhart: Philosopher of Christianity

Kurt Flasch · Yale University Press
Pages: 321
Format: Print book

Renowned philosopher Kurt Flasch offers a full-scale reappraisal of the life and legacy of Meister Eckhart, the medieval German theologian, philosopher, and alleged mystic who was active during the Avignon Papacy of the fourteenth century and posthumously condemned as a heretic by Pope...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Earth-Shattering Events: Earthquakes, Nations, and Civilization

A G Robinson · Thames & Hudson
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

"A truly welcome and refreshing study that puts earthquake impact on history into a proper perspective." --Amos Nur, Emeritus Professor of Geophysics, Stanford University, California, and author of Apocalypse: Earthquakes, Archaeology, and the Wrath of GodSince antiquity, on every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Teacher Wars: A History of America's Most Embattled Profession

Dana Goldstein · Doubleday
Pages: 349
Format: Print book

In her groundbreaking history of 175 years of American education, Dana Goldstein finds answers in the past to the controversies that plague our public schools today.Teaching is a wildly contentious profession in America, one attacked and admired in equal measure. In The Teacher Wars, a rich,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans

Gary Krist · Crown; 1St Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling author Gary Krist, a vibrant and immersive account of New Orleans' other civil war, at a time when commercialized vice, jazz culture, and endemic crime defined the battlegrounds of the Crescent City Empire of Sin re-creates the remarkable story of New Orleans'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shanghai Grand: Forbidden Love and International Intrigue in a Doomed World

Taras Grescoe · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

On the eve of WWII, the foreign-controlled port of Shanghai was the rendezvous for the twentieth century's most outlandish adventurers, all under the watchful eye of the fabulously wealthy Sir Victor Sassoon. Emily "Mickey" Hahn was a legendary New Yorker journalist whose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The 40s: The Story of a Decade

The New Yorker Magazine · Random House; First Edition ~1st Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Including contributions by W. H. Auden Elizabeth Bishop John Cheever Janet Flanner John Hersey Langston Hughes Shirley Jackson A. J. Liebling William Maxwell Carson McCullers Joseph Mitchell Vladimir Nabokov Ogden Nash John OHara George Orwell V. S. Pritchett Lillian Ross...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Waterloo: A New History

Gordon Corrigan · Pegasus; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

In time for the bicentennial in 2015, a veteran historian brings the campaign and battle, its armies and their commanders, to fresh and vivid life in his brilliant new military history of one of the key battles in world history. Wellington remarked that Waterloo was “a damned nice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Reckoning: The Vietnam War and Our National Identity

Christian G. Appy · Viking
Format: Hardcover

"Few people understand the centrality of the Vietnam War to our situation as much as Christian Appy." - Ken BurnsThe critically acclaimed author of Patriots offers profound insights into Vietnam's place in America's self-image. How did the Vietnam War change the way we think...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival

Peter Stark · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 366
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Flying Tigers: The Untold Story of the American Pilots Who Waged a Secret War Against Japan

Samuel Kleiner · Viking
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The thrilling story behind the American pilots who were secretly recruited to defend the nation's desperate Chinese allies before Pearl Harbor and ended up on the front lines of the war against the Japanese in the Pacific Sam Kleiner's The Flying Tigers uncovers the hidden story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Edge of the Empire: A Journey to Britannia: From the Heart of Rome to Hadrian's Wall

Bronwen Riley · Pegasus Books
Pages: 335
Format: Print book

AD 130. Rome is the dazzling heart of a vast empire and Hadrian its most complex and compelling ruler. Faraway Britannia is one of the Romans' most troublesome provinces: here the sun is seldom seen and "the atmosphere in the country is always gloomy. " What awaits the traveller...
Read More check catalog