Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Children's Picture Books  
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue

Calista Brill · Harpercollins
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this lyrical, heartwarming story by Calista Brill, brought to life by Tad Carpenter's bright and lively illustrations. Perfect for readers who can't get enough of things that GO! Bill is a tugboat. Mabel is a barge. Together they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bear Likes Jam
Bear Likes Jam

Ciara Gavin · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

On the heels of Bear Is Not Tired comes a delicious new story of a big bear with an even bigger sweet tooth - perfect for fans of Karma Wilson's Bear Wants More. When Bear discovers jam for the time, he can't think of anything else. Mama Duck tells him that growing bears need to eat their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ribbit
Ribbit

Jorey Hurley · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

With minimal prose and joyful illustrations, acclaimed artist and author Jorey Hurley tells the story of a year in the life of a frog family.From tadpole to froglet to frog, there is more to a frog's life that can be clearly seen. Filled with stunning illustrations and only one word...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen Is Coming to Tea
The Queen Is Coming to Tea

Linda Ravin Lodding · Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

One day there was a knock at Ellie's door. There stood the Queen's Footman. "A message from Her Royal Highness." He offered Ellie a note on a silver tray. May I please come for tea? Sincerely yours, The Queen HerselfWhen Ellie finds out the Queen is coming to tea, she snaps...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mama, Look!
Mama, Look!

Patricia J Murphy · Little Bee Books
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

In this picture book written by award-winning author Patricia J. Murphy and illustrated by Caldecott Medalist David Diaz, curious baby creatures and their mamas discover the world around them.When a child notices a grasshopper on a plant while outside with his mother, he exclaims, "Mama,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tony
Tony

Ed Galing · Roaring Brook
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Philip C. Stead and Erin E. Stead are author and illustrator of A Sick Day for Amos McGee, winner of the Caldecott Medal. It is their first book together. Philip is also the author and illustrator of Creamed Tuna Fish and Peas on Toast. They divide their time between Ann Arbor, Michigan,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Will Grow?
What Will Grow?

Jennifer Ward · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Seeds can be big or small, round or pointy, and all sorts of colors. They can become flowers, trees, fruits, or vegetables, and they sprout all times of year, during spring, summer, fall, and winter. But all seeds have one thing in common--inside each is a new plant life waiting to emerge....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Me Tall, You Small
Me Tall, You Small

Lilli L'Arronge · Owlkids Books
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Me Tall, You Small is a series of playful vignettes in the daily life of a pair of weasels, parent and child. Whether they are having a bubble bath, kicking a soccer ball, or eating ice cream together, simple paired phrases showcase their loving - and amusingly realistic - relationship....
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Do You Feel?
How Do You Feel?

Rebecca Bender · Pajama Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

The toad feels bumpy, like a gnarly tree. The snake feels smooth, like a stone polished by the sea. One by one the hedgehog discovers the textures of his animal friends. But how does the hedgehog feel himself? Award-winning author/illustrator Rebecca Bender's How Do You Feel? will charm...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Day With Dogs: What Do Dogs Do All Day?
A Day With Dogs: What Do Dogs Do All Day?

Dorothée de Monfreid · Gecko Press
Pages: 61
Format: Print book

Gecko Press, founded in 2005, is a New Zealand-based, award-winning independent publisher of curiously good books from around the world. We translate and publish English-language versions of children's books by some of the world's best writers and illustrators. We choose books that...
Read More check catalog