Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
A Sitting in St. James

Rita Williams-Garcia · Quill Tree Books
Format: Hardcover

A tour-de-force from three-time National Book Award finalist Rita Williams-Garcia, this story of an antebellum plantation - and the enduring legacies of slavery upon every person who lives there - is essential reading for both teens and adults grappling with the long history of American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl from the Sea

Molly Knox Ostertag · Graphix
Format: Hardcover

From the author of The Witch Boy trilogy comes a graphic novel about family, romance, and first love.Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish high school and escape her sad divorced mom, her volatile...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Simone Breaks All the Rules

Debbie Rigaud · Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Netflix's Never Have I Ever and You Should See Me in a Crown, this hilarious and heartfelt #ownvoices rom-com from rising star Debbie Rigaud is pure Black girl joy.It's senior year, and Simone Thibodeaux is ready to shake things up.Until now, her life has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gamora and Nebula: Sisters in Arms

Mackenzi Lee · Marvel Press
Format: Hardcover

This three-book series explores the untapped potential and duality of heroism of popular characters in the Marvel Universe. The first book in these series, Loki: wehre Mischief Lies, was an instant New York Times best seller and received two starred reviews. She doesn't know who sent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe

Raquel Vasquez Gilliland · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

When her twin sister reaches social media stardom, Moon Fuentez accepts her fate as the ugly, unwanted sister hidden in the background, destined to be nothing more than her sister's camerawoman. But this summer, Moon also takes a job as the "merch girl" on a tour bus full...
Read More check catalog
 
 
These Violent Delights

Chloe Gong · Margaret K. McElderry
Format: Hardcover

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dire Days of Willowweep Manor

Shaenon K. Garrity · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Format: Hardcover

One dark and stormy night, Haley sees a stranger drowning in the river. Since her greatest passion is Gothic romance novels, she knows her moment has come. But when Haley leaps into the water to rescue the stranger, she awakens in Willowweep. It certainly looks like the setting of one of her favorite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wild Ones

Nafiza Azad · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Format: Hardcover

We are the Wild Ones, and we will not be silenced. We are girls who have tasted the worst this world can offer. Our story begins with Paheli, who was once betrayed by her mother, sold to a man in exchange for a favor. When Paheli escaped, she ran headlong into Taraana - a boy with stars...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Poison Heart

Kalynn Bayron · Bloomsbury YA
Format: Hardcover

Briseis has a gift: she can grow plants from tiny seeds to rich blooms with a single touch.When Briseis's aunt dies and wills her a dilapidated estate in rural New York, Bri and her parents decide to leave Brooklyn behind for the summer. Hopefully there, surrounded by plants and flowers,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 Ways to Die

Vincent Ralph · Sourcebooks Fire
Format: Paperback

A page-turning thriller for the social media age, perfect for fans of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder and One of Us Is Lying.Ten years ago Jess lost her mother to the Magpie Man, an infamous serial killer who is still at large and planning to kill again. She's going to use her new platform...
Read More check catalog