Back | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Inheritance: A Visual Poem

Elizabeth Acevedo
Format: Hardcover

They tell me to "fix" my hair.And by fix, they mean straighten, they mean whiten;but how do you fix this shipwreckedhistory of hair In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpr-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Agathas

Kathleen Glasgow - ?Delacorte Press
Format: Hardcover

Who killed Brooke Donovan? It's the biggest mystery of the summer, and everyone in Castle Cove thinks it's the wrong guy. Fans of One of Us Is Lying and Riverdale can't miss this page-turning who-done-it that's sure to be the next must read Young Adult thriller!Last summer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Noh Family

Grace K. Shim - ?Kokila
Format: Hardcover

A sparkling K-drama inspired debut teen novel by Grace Shim, THE NOH FAMILY introduces irrepressibly charming teen Chloe Chang, who is reunited with her deceased father's estranged family via a DNA test, and is soon whisked off to Seoul to join them...When her friends gift her a 23-and-Me...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Family of Liars: The Prequel to We Were Liars

E. Lockhart - Delacorte
Format: Hardcover

The thrilling prequel to the TikTok phenomenon and #1 New York Times bestseller We Were Liars takes readers back to the story of another summer, another generation, and the secrets that will haunt them for decades to come. A windswept private island off the coast of Massachusetts. A hungry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ballad & Dagger

Daniel Jose Older - Rick Riordan Presents
Format: Hardcover

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Daniel Jos Older's music-and-magic-filled YA urban fantasy about two teens who discover each other and their powers during a political battle within a unique diaspora community."Brimming with mystery, mayhem, and heart, Ballad and Dagger...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Sister's Big Fat Indian Wedding

Sajni Patel - Amulet Books
Format: Hardcover

A fresh, witty rom-com romp set against the backdrop of a high-profile music competition and a riotous Indian weddingZurika Damani is a naturally gifted violinist with a particular love for hip hop beats. But when you're part of a big Indian family, everyone has expectations, and those...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Unreliable Magic

Rin Chupeco - ?Sourcebooks Fire
Format: Hardcover

The second book in the A Hundred Names for Magic trilogy, an unforgettable alternative history fairy-tale series from the author of The Bone Witch about found family, modern day magic, and finding the place you belong.Tala, Alex, and the rest of their friends are safe for now, but know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Search for the Astral Dragon

Bryan Davis - ?Wander
Format: Hardcover

This fast-paced YA space opera (reminiscent of Star Wars) follows a strong female protagonist, Megan, on an interplanetary search for her mother. On her journey, Megan witnesses the horrors of child trafficking and slavery and joins with a group of other teens to fight against corrupt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Howl

Shaun David Hutchinson - Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Virgil Knox was attacked by a monster. Of course, no one in Merritt believes him. Not even after he stumbled into the busy town center, bleeding, battered, and bruised, for everyone to see. He'd been drinking, they said. He was hanging out where he wasn't supposed to, they said....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Many Half-Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester

Maya MacGregor - ?Astra Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

"Look no further for your next favorite read, because The Many Half-Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester has it all: a gripping murder mystery that will keep you turning pages, ghosts, romance, and a treasure trove of queer characters with depth and heart. Here's something rare - a suspenseful...
Read More check catalog