Back | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Children's Books  
The Castle in the Mist
The Castle in the Mist

Amy Ephron · Philomel Books
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement - and the dangers - of wishing.Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt's sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist
The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist

Cynthia Levinson · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Meet the youngest known child to be arrested for a civil rights protest in Birmingham, Alabama, 1963, in this moving picture book that proves you're never too little to make a difference.Nine-year-old Audrey Faye Hendricks intended to go places and do things like anybody else. So when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Not Quite Narwhal
Not Quite Narwhal

Jessie Sima · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ballet Cat What's Your Favorite Favorite?
Ballet Cat What's Your Favorite Favorite?

Bob Shea · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 56
Format: Print book

Ballet Cat and her cousin Goat are preparing a show for Grandma. Each is trying to outdo the other--Ballet Cat with an elaborate dance routine (of course) , and Goat with his amazing (amazingly lame, that is) magic tricks. Neither act goes off quite as planned, but it doesn't matter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dalmatian in a Digger
Dalmatian in a Digger

Rebecca Elliott · Capstone Pr Inc
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Dugger! Dugger! Dugger! Whats that noise? It's the booming sound of big construction vehicles, and Little Dalmatian is determined to find out what they are building in this energetic picture book from Rebecca Elliott.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Masterminds: Payback
Masterminds: Payback

Gordon Korman · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 311
Format: Hardcover

The thrilling finale to the New York Times-bestselling Masterminds series from middle grade star author Gordon Korman. Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and James Patterson. After a serious betrayal from one of their former friends, the clones of Project Osiris are on the run again. Now separated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Shadows: Yes, Another Misadventure
Dark Shadows: Yes, Another Misadventure

Doreen Cronin · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 115
Format: Hardcover

The Chicken Squad is back for their fourth (mis) adventure, and this time they're facing their darkest mystery yet: shadows! A hilarious, "easy to read" (BOOKLIST ) chapter book from the bestselling author of Click, Clack, Moo and The Trouble with Chickens.There's a big,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel
Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel

Ursula Vernon · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 227
Format: Print book

Rapunzel gets a rodent twist in book three of the critically acclaimed and uproariously funny series that's perfect for fans of Princess in Black and BabymousePrincess Harriet Hamsterbone does not like sitting around at home. How's a princess supposed to have any fun when her parents are constantly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Warren the 13th and the Whispering Woods: A Novel
Warren the 13th and the Whispering Woods: A Novel

Tania Del Rio · Quirk Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Warren the 13th is back in another lushly illustrated middle grade adventure.This sequel to Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye begins soon after the first book's conclusion. Twelve-year-old Warren has learned that his beloved hotel can walk, and now it's ferrying guests around...
Read More check catalog