Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Fiction  
Rescuing the Declaration of Independence: How We Almost Lost the Words That Built America

Anna Crowley Redding · HarperCollins
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In the name of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, Stephen had to save it!Today, the Declaration of Independence is one of the most heavily guarded treasures of the United States of America, but during the War of 1812 it would have been destroyed if not for a man whose name and story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Lane?

Torrey Maldonado · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

"STAY IN YOUR LANE." Stephen doesn't want to hear that--he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn't think it's his lane, but he goes. Here's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Popularity Pact: Camp Clique: Book One

Eileen Moskowitz-Palma · Running Press Kids
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

In the blink of a summer, Bea goes from having a best friend and a place she belongs to being dropped and invisible, eating lunch alone and only talking to teachers. The end of sixth grade and the start of Camp Amelia can't come soon enough. But then the worst part of school, ex-best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy Who Dreamed of Infinity: A Tale of the Genius Ramanujan

Amy Alznauer · Candlewick
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

A young mathematical genius from India searches for the secrets hidden inside numbers - and for someone who understands him - in this gorgeous picture-book biography.A mango . . . is just one thing. But if I chop it in two, then chop the half in two, and keep on chopping, I get more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
BOX: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom

Carole Boston Weatherford · Candlewick
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

In a moving, lyrical tale about the cost and fragility of freedom, a New York Times best-selling author and an acclaimed artist follow the life of a man who courageously shipped himself out of slavery.What have I to fear?My master broke every promise to me.I lost my beloved wife and our dear...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Outside In

Deborah Underwood · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times best-selling author behind The Quiet Book comes a mindful contemplation on the many ways nature affects our everyday lives, perfect for fans of Joyce Sidman and Julie Fogliano. Outside is waiting, the most patient playmate of all. The most generous friend. The most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Field Guide to Getting Lost

Joy McCullough · ATHENEUM BOOKS
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A girl with a passion for science and a boy who dreams of writing fantasy novels must figure out how to get along now that their parents are dating in this lively, endearing novel. Sutton is having robot problems. Her mini-bot is supposed to be able to get through a maze in under a minute,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fergus and Zeke and the Field Day Challenge

Kate Messner · Candlewick
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

Classroom pets Fergus and Zeke can't wait for Field Day! But all the events are the wrong size - what can these two little mice do?Fergus and Zeke love being the class pets in Miss Maxwell's classroom. From science experiments to art projects, they do everything the students do. But on Field...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Incredible Jobs You've (Probably) Never Heard Of

Natalie Labarre · Nosy Crow
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Do you know what you want to do when you grow up? Why not work as a babysitter . . . for sloths? Or become a farmer . . . of corpses? You might even grow up to be someone who gets paid to actually sleep on the job! From taste testers to dinosaur dusters, there are all kinds of incredible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finally, Something Mysterious

Doug Cornett · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The best mysteries can only be solved with your best friends. The perfect summer read for fans of Stuart Gibbs.Paul Marconi has always thought that Bellwood was a strange town, but also a boring one. Not much for an eleven-year-old to do. Fires are burning nearby, Paul's parents are obsessed...
Read More check catalog