Back | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Fiction  
The Turtle of Michigan

Naomi Shihab Nye - Greenwillow Books
Pages: Hardcover
Format: Hardcover

Aref is excited for his journey to reunite with his father in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Aref makes a friend on an airplane, wonders what Michigan will be like, and starts school in the United States. While he does miss his grandfather, his Sidi, Aref knows that his home in Oman will always be waiting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret of Glendunny: The Haunting

Kathryn Lasky - HarperCollins
Pages: Hardcover
Format: Hardcover

Deep in the wilds of Scotland, land of ancient warrior kings and myths, there is a deep secret. The secret is a colony of beavers, a species that is craved for their fur pelts, but vilified for what humans consider to be the destruction of their land. No beaver has been spotted in Scotland...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Song Called Home

Sara Zarr - Balzer Bray
Pages: Hardcover
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning author Sara Zarr comes a story of the small moments that show us who we are, and how family is not just something you're part of, but something you make.Lou and her family don't have much, but for Lou it's enough. Mom. Her sister, Casey. Their apartment in the city....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Asking for Trouble

Sarah Prineas
Format: Hardcover

The heartwarming and adventure-filled sequel to Trouble in the Stars, in which Trouble, an adorable but dangerous shape-shifter must travel the galaxy on a rescue mission with their best friend Electra and a troublesome baby shapeshifter. Perfect for fans of Greg van Eekhout and Geoff Rodkey.After...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alien Summer #1

James S. Murray
Format: Hardcover

From the mind of Murr from the Impractical Jokers comes a new hilarious, action-packed seriesabout a world of bizarre creatures, wacky gadgets, and four kid interns at the most interesting place on Earth: Area 51!It's the first day of summer vacation, and Viv Harlow just wants to relax...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A to Z Mysteries Super Edition #14: Leopard on the Loose

Ron Roy
Format: Paperback

Can you SPOT the mystery? Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose are visiting the San Diego Zoo. When a rare amur leopard goes missing, everyone is a suspect! Can these expert clue hunters find out how the leopard got loose?Help Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose solve mysteries from A to Z! From The Absent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Miss Communication

Jennifer L. Holm - ?Yearling
Format: Paperback

Watch out, middle school! In her second foray out of graphic novels and into middle grade, Babymouse has a smartphone, and she's not afraid to use it. . . .Ping! Ping! The sound of texting is in the air. Everyone at middle school has a cell phone. Babymouse just has to get one, too.But...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Worser

Jennifer Ziegler - Margaret Ferguson Books
Format: Hardcover

A bullied 12-year-old boy must find a new normal after his mother has a stroke and his life is turned upside down.William Wyatt Orser, a socially awkward middle schooler, is a wordsmith who, much to his annoyance, acquired the ironically ungrammatical nickname of "Worser" so long...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Flower Garden

Renée Kurilla - Amulet Books
Format: Hardcover

A magical graphic novel adventure perfect for fans of Peter & Ernesto or Tiger vs. Nightmare After planting a seed packet in the backyard, things don't go as expected for best friends Anna and Tess. They fall asleep in the sun and wake up to blooms as tall as buildings! Did the seeds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
War and Millie McGonigle

KAREN CUSHMAN - YEARLING BOOKS
Format: Paperback

The Newbery Award-winning author of Catherine, Called Birdy and The Midwife's Apprentice tells a heartfelt and humorous story of WWII on the homefront.Millie McGonigle lives in sunny California, where her days are filled with beach and surf. It should be perfect--but times are tough....
Read More check catalog