Back | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
The Way to Bea

Kat Yeh · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

With a charming voice, winning characters, and a perfectly-woven plot, Kat Yeh delivers a powerful story of friendship and finding a path towards embracing yourself.Everything in Bea's world has changed. She's starting seventh grade newly friendless and facing big changes at home, where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

MICHELLE CUEVAS · Dial Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses. When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Threads of Blue

SUZANNE LAFLEUR · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The thrilling sequel to the acclaimed Beautiful Blue World follows a brave girl who must flee her country during wartime and work undercover to defeat the enemy. For fans of The War That Saved My Life and Wolf Hollow. "A thoughtful, pellucid story . . . [that] gently probes questions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Glass Town Game

CATHERYNNE M VALENTE · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

Charlotte and Emily must enter a fantasy world that they invented in order to rescue their siblings in this adventurous and fiercely intelligent novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.Inside a small Yorkshire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be an Elephant

Katherine Roy · David Macaulay Studio
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

The savanna is not an easy place to live, even for African elephants, the largest land animals on earth. If it's a challenge for these 7,000-pound giants, what's it like for their newborn babies?An infant elephant has precious little time to learn the incredible array of skills that are necessary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bound by Ice: A True North Pole Survival Story

SANDRA NEIL WALLACE · Calkins Creek
Format: Hardcover

In the years following the Civil War, ?Arctic fever? gripped the American public, fueled by myths of a fertile, tropical sea at the top of the world. Several explorers attempted to find a route to the North Pole, but none succeeded. Bound by Ice follows the journey of George Washington...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Marvelwood Magicians

DIANE ZAHLER · Boyds Mills Press
Format: Hardcover

Eleven-year-old Mattie Marvelwood comes from a family of traveling performers. Her dad is an illusionist; her mom is a fortune-teller; her brother has a vanishing act; and she herself is a mind-reader. But the Marvelwoods have a deep secret. The acts they perform at carnivals, fairs, and circuses...
Read More check catalog