Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Rooting for Rafael Rosales

KURTIS SCALETTA · Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Rafael has dreams. Every chance he gets he plays in the street games trying to build his skills, get noticed by scouts, and -- someday -- play Major League Baseball. Maya has worries. The bees are dying all over the world, and the company her father works for is responsible, making products...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fair Ball

Derek Jeter · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

Inspired by Derek Jeter's own life, Fair Ball is the fourth middle grade novel in the New York Times bestselling Jeter Publishing Program and focuses on the theme "the world isn't always fair."Life isn't always fair. You can't control that, but you can control...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

RITA WILLIAMS-GARCIA · AMISTAD
Pages: 176
Format: Print book

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unexpected Life of Oliver Cromwell Pitts: Being an Absolutely Accurate Autobiographical Account of My Follies, Fortune, and Fate

Avi · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

High adventure from a master storyteller about one boy's attempt to fend for himself among cruel orphan masters, corrupt magistrates, and conniving thieves. In the seaside town of Melcombe Regis, England, 1724, Oliver Cromwell Pitts wakes to find his father missing and his house flooded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
York: The Shadow Cipher

LAURA RUBY · WALDEN POND PR
Pages: 496
Format: Print book

From National Book Award finalist and Printz Award winner Laura Ruby comes the first book in an epic alternate history series about three kids who try to solve the greatest mystery of the modern world: a puzzle and treasure hunt laid into the very streets and buildings of New York City.It...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bubble

Stewart Foster · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Wonder meets Mark Haddon in the poignant and uplifting debut novel about superheroes, super-nurses, and the beauty you can find in hope.Eleven-year-old Joe has never had a life outside of the hospital, with its beeping machines and view of London's rooftops. His condition means he's not allowed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Enchanted Files: Hatched

Bruce Coville · Random House
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Introducing the second book in the The Enchanted Files! Told in diary entries and more, it's a new magical, modern-day comedy series by the master of funny fantasy and bestselling author of My Teacher is an Alien: Bruce Coville! Meet Gerald. Gerald is a griffin - a creature with the body...
Read More check catalog