Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teen Books  

Flame in the Mist

RENEE AHDIEH · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 392
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass. The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place - she may be an accomplished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lost

KRISTIN CAST · Blackstone Publishing
Format: Hardcover

[Young Adult Fiction (Ages 12-17) ] Things have settled down at the Tulsa House of Night since Zoey and the gang closed the tear between worlds and sent Other Kevin back to the Other World. Neferet hasn't stirred. Damien and Jack are falling in love all over again. Stevie Rae and Rephaim...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thief of Happy Endings

KRISTEN CHANDLER · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Sarah Dessen meets the Wild West in this tale of wild mustangs, irresistible wranglers, and the first rule of horses: if you get bucked off, you have to get back on. Cassidy Carrigan wasn't planning to ever get on a horse again. She wasn't even planning on going to back to school...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm-Wake

LUCY CHRISTOPHER · Chicken House
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Moss has grown up on the strangest and most magical of islands. Her father has a plan to control the tempestuous weather that wracks the shores. But the island seems to have a plan of its own once Callan -- a wild boy her age -- appears on its beaches. Her complex feelings for Callan shift...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love Scene, Take Two

Alex Evansley · Swoon Reads
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Debut author Alex Evansley delivers a sweet summer romance in this inventive novel about a young heartthrob and teen author falling in love. Teddy Sharpe is kind of famous. He might actually be on his way to being really famous, especially if he'd nailed an audition for the lead role in the movie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nyxia Unleashed

Scott Reintgen · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Discover book two in the sci-fi space trilogy that Bustle described as "The 100 meets Illuminae" and Marie Lu called, "a high-octance thriller."Emmett Atwater thought Babel's game sounded easy. Get points. Get paid. Go home. But it didn't take long for him to learn that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Always Forever Maybe

Anica Mrose Rissi · HarperTeen
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A powerful YA debut, told with astonishing insight and wit, about the depths and boundaries of true friendship and obsessive teenage love - perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, E. Lockhart, and Sara Zarr.When Betts meets Aiden at the candy store where she works, their connection is like a sugar...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Your Destination Is on the Left

Lauren Spieller · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Seventeen-year-old Dessa Rhodes is torn between leaving her modern nomadic life and pursuing her dreams of becoming an artist in this fun, contemporary debut novel that's perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson.Dessa Rhodes is a modern day nomad. Her family travels in an RV, their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Price of Duty

Todd Strasser · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning author Todd Strasser comes a gripping new novel that explores the struggles of war, the price paid by those who fight in them, and what it really means to be a hero.Jake Liddell is a hero. At least, that's what everyone says he is. The military is even awarding him a Silver...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Felt a Funeral in My Brain

Will Walton · Push
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the poignant and provocative debut Anything Could Happen comes another hard-hitting exploration of love and friendship.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dive Smack

DEMETRA BRODSKY · Tor Teen
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"A tense psychological drama with a voice that pulls you in and a twist you won't see coming." -- Gretchen McNeil, author of TenTheo Mackey only remembers one thing for certain about the fire that destroyed his home: he lit the match.Sure, it was an accident. But the blaze killed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How We Roll

Natasha Friend · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Quinn is a teen who loves her family, skateboarding, basketball, and her friends, but after she's diagnosed with a condition called alopecia which causes her to lose all of her hair, her friends abandon her. Jake was once a star football player, but because of a freak accident -- caused...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Letting Go of Gravity

Meg Leder · Simon Pulse
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Parker struggles to reconnect with her twin brother, Charlie - who's recovering from cancer - as she tries to deal with her anxiety about the future in this powerful new novel.Twins Parker and Charlie are polar opposites. Where Charlie is fearless, Parker is careful. Charlie is confident...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Neverworld Wake

Marisha Pessl · Delacorte Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Enter a realm where fears are physical and memories come alive in this absorbing psychological suspense thriller, from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film.Once upon a time, back at Darrow-Harker School, Beatrice Hartley and her five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Furyborn

Claire Legrand · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

The stunningly original, must-read fantasy of 2018 follows two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world...or doom it.When assassins ambush her best friend, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing herself as one of a pair of prophesied...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm Not Missing: A Novel

Carrie Fountain · Flatiron Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning poet Carrie Fountain comes I'm Not Missing, a debut novel set in Las Cruces, New Mexico, about a half-Latina girl stepping outside of the shadow of her best friend."I savored and cherished this funny, tender, poetic novel about yearning, love, loss, ambition,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am Still Alive

KATE MARSHALL · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Cheryl Strayed's Wild meets The Revenant in this heart-pounding story of survival and revenge in the unforgiving wilderness.After Jess is alone. Her cabin has burned to the ground. She knows if she doesn't act fast, the cold will kill her before she has time to worry about food. But she is still...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead Weight: Murder at Camp Bloom

TERRY BLAS · Oni Press
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

Deep in the Oregon wilderness sits Camp Bloom, a weight-loss camp where "overweight" teens can "get in shape." Jesse would rather be anywhere else, but her parents are forcing her to go. Noah isn't sure if he wants to be there, but it's too late to turn back. Tony is heartbroken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Screenshot

DONNA COONER · Point
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Skye's social media game is always on point. Until her best friend, Asha, films an embarrassing video of Skye at a sleepover and posts it online. But Asha quickly deletes the post, so everything's okay. Right?Then Skye gets an anonymous message. Someone has texted her a screenshot...
Read More check catalog