Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teen Books  
Defy the Worlds

Claudia Gray · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

This is the thrilling and romantic sequel to Defy the Stars from the New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Lost Stars and Bloodline. Noemi Vidal has returned to her planet, Genesis, as an outsider. Ostracized for refusing to sacrifice Abel, the galaxy's most advanced mechanical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Summer of Broken Things

Margaret Peterson Haddix · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix comes a haunting novel about friendship and what it really means to be a family in the face of lies and betrayal.Fourteen-year-old Avery Armisted is athletic, rich, and pretty. Sixteen-year-old Kayla Butts is known as "butt-girl"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How You Ruined My Life

Jeff Strand · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

A new hilarious novel from the author of The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever and Stranger Things Have Happened.Rod's life doesn't suck. If you ask him, it's pretty awesome. He may not be popular, but he and his best friends play in a band that has a standing gig. Yeah, it's Monday night and they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love & War: An Alex & Eliza Story

MELISSA DE LA CRUZ · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 366
Format: Hardcover

The thrilling romance of young Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler continues in the sizzling sequel to the New York Times bestselling Alex & Eliza: A Love StoryAs the war for American Independence carries on, newlyweds Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler are settling into their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ash Princess

Laura Sebastian · Delacorte Press
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes, Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alex, Approximately

JENN BENNETT · Simon Pulse
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

In this delightfully charming teen spin on You've Got Mail, the one guy Bailey Rydell can't stand is actually the boy of her dreams - she just doesn't know it yet.Classic movie buff Bailey "Mink" Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bingo Love OGN

Tee/ St Onge Jenn (CON)/ San Joy (CON)/ T Genevieve F (CON) Franklin · Image Comics
Pages: 88
Format: Paperback

When Hazel Johnson and Mari McCray met at church bingo in 1963, it was love at first sight. Forced apart by their families and society, Hazel and Mari both married young men and had families. Decades later, now in their mid-'60s, Hazel and Mari reunite again at a church bingo hall....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Day

David Levithan · Ember
Pages: 324
Format: Paperback

In his New York Times bestselling novel, David Levithan, co-author of bestsellers Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, introduces readers to what Entertainment Weekly calls a "wise, wildly unique" love story about A, a teen who wakes up every morning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead Is the New Black

Marlene Perez · HMH Books for Young Readers; 1 edition
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

Welcome to Nightshade, California—a small town full of secrets. It’s home to the pyschic Giordano sisters, who have a way of getting mixed up in mysteries. During their investigations, they run across everything from pom-pom-shaking vampires to shape-shifting boyfriends to a clue-spewing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cast No Shadow

Nick Tapalansky · First Second
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Greg has lived in Lancaster his whole life. The town's always had its quirks, and being born without a shadow means he's counted among them. When Greg discovers an old mansion in the woods just outside of town, he didn't expect to meet a smart, beautiful, funny, and...very dead teenaged...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goodbye Days

Jeff Zentner · Ember
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

"Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming." - Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.Perfect for fans of Turtles All the Way Down,Thirteen Reasons Why, and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Becky Albertalli · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 15
Format: Paperback

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!William C. Morris Award Winner: Best Young Adult Debut of the Year * National Book Award Longlist"A remarkable gift of a novel." - Andrew Smith, author of Grasshopper Jungle"I am so in love with this book." - Nina LaCour, author of Hold...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Never Always Sometimes

Adi Alsaid · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

Never date your best friend. Always be original. Sometimes rules are meant to be broken. Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they'd never, ever do in high school. Most of the rules...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Sun

TRISH COOK · Poppy
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

A heartbreaking tale of love, loss and one nearly perfect summer - perfect for fans of The Fault In Our Stars and Everything, Everything. Seventeen-year-old Katie Price has a rare disease that makes exposure to even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. Confined to her house during the day,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Moon and More

Sarah Dessen · Speak
Format: Print book

In her eleventh novel, Sarah Dessen returns to the beach town of Colby, setting of some of her best-loved books. Emaline is a Colby native, and so summer at the beach for her means hard work and a new population of beach goers. During this, her last summer before college, Emaline meets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
180 Seconds

Jessica Park · Skyscape
Pages: 300
Format: Paperback

Some people live their entire lives without changing their perspective. For Allison Dennis, all it takes is 180 seconds ... After a life spent bouncing from one foster home to the next, Allison is determined to keep others at arm's length. Adopted at sixteen, she knows better than to believe...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Blood

JENNIFER LYNN BARNES · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

When Cassie Hobbes joined the FBI's Naturals program, she had one goal: uncover the truth about her mother's murder. But now, everything Cassie thought she knew about what happened that night has been called into question. Her mother is alive, and the people holding her captive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Midnight Star

Marie Lu · Speak
Pages: 13
Format: Paperback

The thrilling finale to the New York Times bestselling Young Elites series from "hit factory" Marie Lu#1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu concludes Adelina's story with this haunting and hypnotizing final installment to the Young Elites series.Adelina Amouteru is done...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pearl Thief

Elizabeth Wein · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 325
Format: Hardcover

Before Verity . . . there was Julie.When fifteen-year-old Julia Beaufort-Stuart wakes up in the hospital, she knows the lazy summer break she'd imagined won't be exactly what she anticipated. And once she returns to her grandfather's estate, a bit banged up but alive, she begins to realize...
Read More check catalog