Back | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Freaky in Fresno

Laurie Boyle Crompton · Blink
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Ricki has one goal: save the Starlight Drive-in movie theater from going dark forever. Okay, make that two goals ... she may also want a first kiss from her cinema-rescuing partner and major crush, Jake. Lana definitely has only one goal: grow her online makeup channel to keep her momager...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The King of Crows

Libba Bray · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times; color: #000000} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} The breath-taking finale to the epic New York Times bestseller, The Diviners, from Printz winner and beloved author, Libba Bray.

After the horrifying explosion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Stars and Teeth

Adalyn Grace · Imprint
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"Fierce and unrelenting ... Do yourself a favor and get lost in this beautiful book!" -- Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and BoneSet in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Children of Virtue and Vengeance

Tomi Adeyemi · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

After battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally succeeded in bringing magic back to the land of Orïsha. But the ritual was more powerful than they could've imagined, reigniting the powers of not only the maji, but of nobles with magic ancestry, too.

Now, Zélie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reverie

Ryan La Sala · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Inception meets The Magicians in this wildly imaginative story about about what happens when the secret world's that people hide within themselves come to light.

All Kane Montgomery knows for certain is that the police found him half-dead in the river. He can't remember anything...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Light It Up

Kekla Magoon · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Told in a series of vignettes from multiple viewpoints, Kekla Magoon's Light It Up is a powerful, layered story about injustice and strength -- as well as an incredible follow-up to the highly acclaimed novel How It Went Down.

A girl walks home from school. She's...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Patron Saints of Nothing

Randy Ribay · Kokila
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder.

Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Batman: Nightwalker

Marie Lu · Ember
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

This dark and twisty BATMAN in the blockbuster DC Icons series is an action-packed thrill ride from #1 New York Times bestselling author MARIE LU.THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERBefore he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Crossover

Kwame Alexander · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Kwame Alexander's New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal-winning The Crossover is vividly brought to life as a graphic novel with stunning illustrations by star talent Dawud Anyabwile.

New York Times Bestseller · Newbery Medal Winner · Coretta Scott...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stranger Things Volume 1

Jody Houser · Dark Horse Books
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

The hit Netflix series from the Duffer Brothers is now a spine-tingling comic that recounts Will Beyers' harrowing survival in the treacherous Upside Down!When Will Byers finds himself in the Upside Down, an impossible dark parody of his own world, he's understandably frightened....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ali Cross

James Patterson · jimmy patterson
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

James Patterson's blockbuster Alex Cross series has sold over 100 million copies--and now he's bringing those thrills to a new generation! Alex's son Ali is eager to follow in his father's footsteps as a detective, but when his best friend goes missing, what price will he have to pay to solve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Of Fire and Stars

Audrey Coulthurst · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner's Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wildcard

Marie Lu · Penguin Books
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

An Instant New York Times Bestseller!Return to the immersive, action-packed world of Warcross in this thrilling sequel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie LuEmika Chen barely made it out of the Warcross Championships alive. Now that she knows the truth behind Hideo's new NeuroLink...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daytime Shooting Star, Vol. 2

Mika Yamamori · VIZ Media LLC
Pages: 200
Format: Paperback

Optimistic high schooler Suzume moves to Tokyo and finds her heart caught between two men!After arriving in Tokyo to live with her uncle, Suzume collapses in a nearby park where she had once seen a shooting star during the day. A handsome stranger brings her to her new home and tells her they'll...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Monster Secret Vol. 9

EIJI MASUDA · Seven Seas
Pages: 180
Format: Paperback

A monster-filled high school rom-com--now a New York Times bestseller and a hit anime series!High school student Kuromine Asahi is the kind of guy who literally cannot tell a lie. Whether it's trying to maintain a poker face in a simple game of cards or keeping scurrilous gossip to himself,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One-Punch Man, Vol. 18

ONE
Format: Paperback


Read More check catalog
 
 
Stolen Justice: The Struggle for African American Voting Rights

Lawrence Goldstone · Scholastic Focus
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling and incisive examination of the post-Reconstruction era struggle for and suppression of African American voting rights in the United States.Following the Civil War, the Reconstruction era raised a new question to those in power in the US: Should African Americans, so many of them...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Book Is Anti-Racist: 20 lessons on how to wake up, take action, and do the work

Tiffany Jewell · Frances Lincoln Children's Books
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

Who are you? What is racism? Where does it come from? Why does it exist? What can you do to disrupt it? Learn about social identities, the history of racism and resistance against it, and how you can use your anti-racist lens and voice to move the world toward equity and liberation."In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What the Eagle Sees: Indigenous Stories of Rebellion and Renewal

Eldon Yellowhorn · Annick Press - Annick Press - Annick Press
Pages: 132
Format: Hardcover

"There is no death. Only a change of worlds." - Chief Seattle [Seatlh], Suquamish Chief What do people do when their civilization is invaded? Indigenous people have been faced with disease, war, broken promises, and forced assimilation. Despite crushing losses and insurmountable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The First Conspiracy

Brad Meltzer · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer unravels the truth behind the secret assassination attempt on George Washington and how the plot helped create the CIA and the FBI in this young reader's adaptation for younger audiences.1776.The early days of the Revolutionary War.It...
Read More check catalog