Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teen Books  
Vow of Thieves

Mary E. Pearson · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Vow of Thieves is the thrilling sequel to Dance of Thieves, set in the same world as Mary E. Pearson's New York Times-bestselling Remnant Chronicles.Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in love than ever. Their new life now lies before them -- the Ballengers will be outlaws no longer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pumpkinheads

Rainbow Rowell · First Second
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends.Every autumn, all through high school, they've worked together at the best pumpkin patch in the whole wide world. (Not many people know that the best pumpkin patch in the whole wide world is in Omaha, Nebraska, but it definitely is.) They...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight

Gilly Segal · Sourcebooks Fire
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"An absolute page turner, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. " -- Angie Thomas, New York Times bestelling author of The Hate U GiveLena and Campbell aren't friends.Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beneath the Attic

V. C. Andrews · Gallery Books
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

Forbidden passions have shaped and haunted the Dollanganger family since their first novel - Flowers in the Attic - debuted forty years ago. Now discover how twisted the family roots truly are, and witness the clan's origins as a result of one wild and complicated relationship. In this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Our Broken Pieces

L.D. Crichton · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

You can't keep two people who are meant to be together apart for long...Lennon Davis doesn't believe in much, but she does believe in the security of the number five. If she flicks the bedroom light switch five times, maybe her new LA school won't suck. But that doesn't feel right, so she flicks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Wish You All the Best

Mason Deaver · Push
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder compounded by their parents' rejection,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Spaces Between Us

Stacia Tolman · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"A girl-centered Catcher in the Rye for the 21st century. " -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review Two outcast best friends are desperate to survive senior year and break away from their dying factory town in Stacia Tolman's The Spaces Between Us, an unforgettable YA debut. Serena...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Music of What Happens

Bill Konigsberg · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Max: Chill. Sports. Video games. Gay and not a big deal, not to him, not to his mom, not to his buddies. And a secret: An encounter with an older kid that makes it hard to breathe, one that he doesn't want to think about, ever.Jordan: The opposite of chill. Poetry. His "wives"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

MACKENZI LEE · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 528
Format: Hardcover

A Kirkus Prize nominee and Stonewall Honor winner with 5 starred reviews! A New York Times bestseller! Named one of the best books of 2017 by NPR and the New York Public Library!"The queer teen historical you didn't know was missing from your life." - Teen Vogue"A stunning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be Luminous

Harriet Reuter Hapgood · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A heartrending story of art, love, grief, and color.Minnie Sloe and her sisters have weathered it all together -- growing up without fathers, living an eccentric lifestyle with a pet rabbit named Salvador Dali, and riding out their famous artist mother's mental highs and lows. But then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ms. Marvel: Kamala Khan

G. Willow Wilson · Marvel
Pages: 120
Format: Paperback

Marvel Comics presents the all-new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation! Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City - until she is suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the all-new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spill Zone Book 2: The Broken Vow

Scott Westerfeld · First Second
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Now in paperback! All hell breaks loose in Spill Zone Book 2: The Broken Vow, the second volume of this dystopian graphic novel duology by science fiction visionary Scott Westerfeld and artist Alex Puvilland.Three years ago an event destroyed the small city of Poughkeepsie, forever changing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gender Identity: Beyond Pronouns and Bathrooms

Maria Cook · Nomad Press
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

An informative and project-filled book for middle graders to explore the meaning and history behind LGBTQ rights movements, including biographies of key figures in gender and gay/lesbian history, the context behind today's transgender "bathroom wars" and dozens of activities...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moon Mission: The Epic 400-Year Journey to Apollo 11

Sigmund Brouwer · Kids Can Press
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 10.0px Verdana} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 10.0px Verdana; min-height: 12.0px} This riveting narrative told from the astronauts' points of view offers a unique approach to the story behind Apollo 11's successful - though nearly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amelia Earhart: First Woman to Fly Solo Across the Atlantic

Kristin Thiel · Cavendish Square
Pages: 128
Format: Library Binding

Popularly referenced for her disappearance over the Pacific Ocean, Amelia Earhart is one of historys great aviation pioneers. Prior to her famous attempt to fly around the globe, Earhart achieved many incredible things, from writing best-selling books to being the first female pilot to fly solo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Confederate Flag

Anne Cunningham · Greenhaven Publishing
Pages: 192
Format: Library Binding

Is it a symbol of pride in one's heritage or an ugly reminder of slavery and the fruits of racism? The issue of whether the Confederate flag belongs in front of government buildings, or even on Southern pride paraphernalia, has been a hot button for more than a century, long after the Civil...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cheshire Crossing

Andy Weir · Ten Speed Press
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

#1 New York Times bestselling author Andy Weir and acclaimed illustrator Sarah Andersen tackle what transpires after "happily ever after." What happens to Alice when she comes back from Wonderland? Wendy from Neverland? Dorothy from Oz? The three meet here, at Cheshire Crossing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Broken Throne: A Red Queen Collection

Victoria Aveyard · HarperTeen
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Return once more to the deadly and dazzling world of Red Queen in Broken Throne, a beautifully designed, must-have companion to the chart-topping series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard.The perfect addition to the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Hunt the Flame

Hafsah Faizal · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A BuzzFeed Pick for "YA Books You Absolutely Must Read This Spring"A Bustle's Most Anticipated 2019 YA ReleasePaste Magazine's Top 10 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2019"Lyrical and spellbinding" -- Marieke Njikamp, #1 New York Times Bestselling AuthorSet in a richly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Far Away Brothers

Lauren Markham · Delacorte Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The inspiring true story about identical twin teenage brothers who escape El Salvador's violence to build new lives in California as undocumented immigrants, perfect for fans of Enrique's Journey and anyone interested in learning about the issues that underlie today's conversations about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Promise of Change: One Girl's Story in the Fight for School Equality

Jo Ann Allen Boyce · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Moviemaking Magic of Marvel Studios: Heroes & Villains

Eleni Roussos · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

GO BEHIND THE SCENES OF YOUR FAVORITE MARVEL STUDIOS' FILMS TO SEE HOW THE MIGHTIEST HEROES AND DEADLIEST VILLAINS WERE BROUGHT TO LIFE! When Iron Man exploded into theaters in 2008, it was the first installment in what would become the biggest and most awe-inspiring collection of Super...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Forward Me Back to You

Mitali Perkins · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Katina King is the reigning teen jiu-jitsu champion of Northern California, but she's having trouble fighting off the secrets in her past. Robin Thornton was adopted from an orphanage in Kolkata, India and is reluctant to take on his future. Since he knows nothing about his past, how is he supposed...
Read More check catalog