Back | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Janae Marks · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Enticing and enthralling." -Jewell Parker RhodesFrom debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating mystery full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what she believes is right - even in the face of great opposition. A perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Go with the Flow

Karen Schneemann · First Second
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

High school students embark on a crash course of friendship, female empowerment, and women's health issues in Lily Williams and Karen Schneemann's graphic novel Go With the Flow. Good friends help you go with the flow.Best friends help you start a revolution.Sophomores Abby, Brit,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Under the Love Umbrella

· Scribe Publications; UK paperback edition
Format: Paperback

Whatever you fear, come close my dear You're tucked in safe for always here And I will never not be near Because of our love umbrella From this award-winning creative duo comes a book about the wonder of ever-present love. A stunning celebration of the joy and comfort that is always...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Can You Hear the Trees Talking?: Discovering the Hidden Life of the Forest

Peter Wohlleben · Greystone Kids
Pages: 84
Format: Hardcover

A walk in the park will never be the same after kids discover this awe-inspiring book. Meet Peter Wohlleben - but you can call him Peter the Forester! With his groundbreaking, internationally bestselling book The Hidden Life of Trees, Peter Wohlleben established himself as a global advocate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Humanimal: Incredible Ways Animals Are Just Like Us!

Christopher Lloyd · What on Earth Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Fascinating and stunningly illustrated, Humanimal explores, and celebrates, the astonishing ways in which animals and humans are alike.So you think you're special? You think that just because people have built giant cities, invented pop-up toasters and put a person on the Moon that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ultimate Kids' Baking Book: 60 Easy and Fun Dessert Recipes for Every Holiday, Birthday, Milestone and More

Tiffany Dahle · Page Street Publishing
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Take the Lead Baking Treats You and Your Family Will Love

This time you're in charge of making dessert instead of your parents! Master what all the best bakers know, from separating eggs to creaming butter and sugar together and even rolling your own cookie dough. Each skill you learn...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Legends: Exceptional Men in Black History

Vashti Harrison · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Vashti Harrison shines a bold, joyous light on black men through history.An important book for readers of all ages, this beautifully illustrated and engagingly written volume brings to life true stories of black men in history. Among these biographies,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy Who Invented the Popsicle: The Cool Science Behind Frank Epperson's Famous Frozen Treat

Anne Renaud · Kids Can Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Frank William Epperson is a curious boy who wants to be an inventor when he grows up. Since inventing begins with experimenting, Frank spends a lot of time in his ?laboratory? (i.e. his back porch) trying out his ideas, such as building a double-handled handcar...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Ruth Bader Ginsburg?

Patricia Brennan Demuth · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

You've probably seen her on t-shirts, mugs, and even tattoos, well, now that famous face graces the cover of our latest Who Is? title.

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg is famous for her stylish collars (called jabots) and her commanding dissents. This opera-loving New Yorker has always...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hi, I'm Norman: The Story of American Illustrator Norman Rockwell

Robert Burleigh · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning author Robert Burleigh comes a striking, intimate picture book biography about an American icon - beloved artist Norman Rockwell.

"An inviting and admiring introduction to an important American artist." - Kirkus Reviews

Norman Rockwell...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Notorious

Gordon Korman · Balzer Bray
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Told in different voices, on Centerlight Island, halfway between the United States and Canada, middle-schoolers Keenan and ZeeBee team up to seek gold rumored to be hidden there a famous gangster.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let's Have a Sleepover!: An Acorn Book

Norm Feuti · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

Harry is going to his first sleepover!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!


This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pax

Sara Pennypacker · Balzer Bray
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the YearFinally in paperback! This handsome edition features French flaps.From bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ada Lovelace Cracks the Code

Rebel Girls
Format: Hardcover


Read More check catalog
 
 
Where Is the Vatican?

Megan Stine · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Did you know that the Vatican is a country--the smallest in the world? Find out the amazing history of the headquarters of the Catholic Church.It's time to elect a new pope. Hundreds of thousands of people gather in front of St. Peter's Basilica to learn who will be the next leader...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tornado Terror

Lauren Tarshis · Scholastic Press
Pages: 157
Format: Hardcover

The Tri-State Tornado of 1925 was the deadliest tornado strike in American history, tearing through three states and killing 700 people. Almost a century later, the Joplin Tornado was a mile-wide monster that nearly destroyed the heart of a vibrant city. The author of the New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Do They Do with All That Poo?

Jane Kurtz · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Find out what happens to all of the poo at the zoo in this funny and factual picture book!

There are so many different kinds of animals at the zoo, and they each make lots and lots (and sometimes LOTS!) of poo. So what do zoos do with all of that poo? This zany, fact-filled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crazy Contraptions: Build Rube Goldberg Machines that Swoop, Spin, Stack, and Swivel: with Engineering Activities for Kids

Laura Perdew · Nomad Press
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

An exciting book about the chain reaction world of Rube Goldberg for middle schoolers, including 25 engineering design projects that get middle schoolers applying the laws of physics to their own inventions as they learn the scientific principles behind the actions and reactions they...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Thief Knot: A Greenglass House Story

Kate Milford
Format: Hardcover

Marzana and her best friend are bored. Even though they live in a notorious city where normal rules do not apply, nothing interesting ever happens to them. Nothing, that is, until Marzana’s parents are recruited to help solve an odd crime, and she realizes that this could be the excitement...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Pug's Snow Day: A Branches Book

Kyla May · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 80
Format: Library Binding

The second book in a sweet and funny Branches series about a pug and his human, told from the pug's POV!Pick a book. Grow a reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frankie Sparks and the Class Pet

Megan Frazer Blakemore · Aladdin
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback

Ivy and Bean meets Aliens in my Pocket in this start to a brand-new chapter book series about Frankie Sparks, a third grader who uses her love for science and math to help her solve problems she comes across in her daily life.

The best thing EVER is happening in Frankie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Purrmaids #7: Kittens in the Kitchen

Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

Can the purrmaids win a cooking competition? Find out in this seventh book in the popular chapter book series perfect for fans of Magic Kitten and Mermaid Tales!It's time for another field trip! The purrmaids are off to one of Kittentail Cove's farms to learn about new kinds of food....
Read More check catalog
 
 
FGTeeV Presents: Into the Game!

FGTeeV · HarperCollins
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

It's game time! Press start on Into the Game, the awesome-packed graphic novel adventure by YouTube's favorite family of gamers, FGTeeV! The FGTeeV family gamers have played hundreds of games together. Which is why Moomy decides to make a new game called My Pet Fish. Just one problem:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cub

Cynthia L. Copeland · Algonquin Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

A laugh-out-loud funny and empowering graphic memoir about growing up and finding your voice. Twelve-year-old Cindy has just dipped a toe into seventh-grade drama - with its complicated friendships, bullies, and cute boys - when she earns an internship as a cub reporter at a local newspaper...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Indian-American Journey

Emma Carlson Berne · Jump!, Inc.
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

In this book, leveled text and vibrant, full-color photographs help readers to understand the journeys that Indian-Americans took to the United States. This title also introduces readers to their country of origin, reasons for leaving their former home, the steps and challenges to becoming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Somali-American Journey

Rachel Castro · Jump!, Inc.
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

In this book, leveled text and vibrant, full-color photographs help readers to understand the journeys that Somali-Americans took to the United States. This title also introduces readers to their country of origin, reasons for leaving their former home, the steps and challenges to becoming...
Read More check catalog