Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Neck & Neck

Elise Parsley · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In this crowd-pleasing read-aloud from the creator of the bestselling If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't!, a giraffe's self-esteem is tested during a hilarious confrontation between unlikely look-alikes!Everybody loves Leopold the giraffe. He inspires awe and wonder....
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Spot a Sasquatch

J Torres · Owlkids
Pages: 62
Format: Hardcover

On a camping trip with the Junior Rangers, Jay feels like the odd one out. He's determined to get a photo of Bigfoot -- but none of his friends believe Bigfoot exists. But if there's no such thing as Bigfoot, why is there a giant footprint? And who is stealing all the snacks?Meanwhile,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Triumphant Tale of the House Sparrow

JAN THORNHILL · Groundwood Books
Pages: 44
Format: Hardcover

Behold the most despised bird in human history!So begins Jan Thornhill's riveting, beautifully illustrated story of the House Sparrow. She traces the history of this perky little bird, one of the most adaptable creatures on Earth, from its beginnings in the Middle East to its spread...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Chupacabras of the Río Grande

Adam Gidwitz · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The fourth book in the fully illustrated, globe-trotting middle grade fantasy-adventure series about mythical creatures and their cultures of origin, from the Newbery Honor-winning author of The Inquisitor's Tale.Elliot and Uchennna have only just returned from their most recent Unicorn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
TBH #3: TBH, Too Much Drama

Lisa Greenwald · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell.Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can't wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they're...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweeping Up the Heart

Kevin Henkes · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

From two-time Newbery Honor and New York Times-bestselling author Kevin Henkes, this timeless novel about loss, loneliness, and friendship tells the story of the spring break that changes seventh-grader Amelia Albright's life forever.Amelia Albright dreams about going to Florida for spring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fast Break

Derek Jeter · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

In the sixth book in the New York Times bestselling middle grade series inspired by the life of iconic New York Yankee Derek Jeter, young Derek bites off more than he can chew when he decides to enter the school talent show and try out for the basketball team.Between promising Vijay that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Squirrelly Situation: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet

Jacqueline Kelly · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

Featuring the charming characters from the Newbery Honor Book The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, this exciting chapter book series introduces young readers to Callie Vee and the rough-and-tumble world of turn-of-the-century Texas. When Travis finds an abandoned baby squirrel, he brings him home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Billie B. Brown The Best Project

Sally Rippin · Kane Miller; 1st edition Language: English ISBN-10: 1610672585 ISBN-13: 978-1610672580 Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.1 x 7.6 inches Shipping Weight: 1.6 ounces Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,325,524 in Books
Format: Paperback

Billie's little brother is cute, but he can be annoying. Billie has to keep everything out of his reach. Especially her school project ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sinking of Titanic

Valerie Bodden · Creative Educ
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

Read More check catalog
 
 
Understanding Business

Lara Bryan · EDC Publishing / UBAM
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Understand the ins and outs of business with this approachable, quirky book. The diagrams and cartoons will explain in terms people can understand how the global market works, what businesses and companies do, what they need, and what purpose they serve. From a small market stall to the biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Is Michael Jordan?

Kirsten Anderson · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Grab your Js and hit the court with this Who Was? biography about NBA superstar Michael Jordan.Meet the man who changed the game forever. Michael Jordan has always been competitive--even as a young boy, he fought for attention. His need to be the best made him a star player on his college...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lift-the-Flap Multiplying & Dividing

Lara Bryan · EDC Publishing / UBAM
Pages: 16
Format: Board book

Lift the flaps and learn to solve all kinds of multiplying and dividing puzzles - with toucans to feed, planets to visit and treasure to find along the way. Packed with helpful tips and tricks, plus fun puzzles and a board game.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Seeds Move!

Robin Page · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Discover the fascinating and surprising ways that seeds move and find a place to grow in this gorgeous picture book from Caldecott Honoree Robin Page.Every seed, big or small, needs sunlight, water, and an uncrowded place to put down roots. But how do seeds get to the perfect place to grow?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Understanding Hinduism

SUSAN BRADLEY · Essential Library
Pages: 112
Format: Library Binding

Understanding Hinduism covers the history of Hinduism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about spiritual leaders, how Hindus perceive the world, and how Hindus live in the modern world. This title also discusses the complex interactions between Hinduism...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Using a Wheelchair

Harriet Brundle · Kidhaven
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Colorful illustrated characters serve as friendly guides in this exploration of what life is like for someone who uses a wheelchair. The age-appropriate text encourages readers to develop empathy for people with disabilities and people who have been injured and need the use of a wheelchair....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beware of the Crocodile

Martin Jenkins · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Explore an informative, playfully illustrated story about one of the world's most dangerous animals: the crocodile.You probably know a little about crocodiles already. They're reptiles, they have an awful lot of teeth, and they're pretty scary - at least, the big ones are!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wearing Braces

Harriet Brundle · Kidhaven
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Why do some people wear braces? How do braces work? Questions such as these are answered in this accessible text, which explains this common part of growing up in a creative way. It resonates with those who already wear braces and prepares those who may be nervous about having to wear braces....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Understanding Buddhism

A W BUCKEY · Essential Library
Pages: 112
Format: Library Binding

Understanding Buddhism covers the history of Buddhism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about monks and nuns, the branches of Buddhism, and important rituals. This title also discusses misunderstandings about Buddhism and the challenges some women have...
Read More check catalog