Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
The Countdown Conspiracy

KATIE SLIVENSKY · HarperCollins
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Ambassador, you are go for launch in T- minus 5 ... 4 ... 3 ... 2 ... . Get ready to blast off with this high-action, high-stakes middle grade adventure that's perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein and Peter Lerangis!Miranda Regent can't believe she was just chosen as one of six kids from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tumble & Blue

CASSIE BEASLEY · Dial Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of Circus Mirandus comes the magic-infused story of a golden gator, two cursed kids, and how they take their destinies into their own hands. When the red moon rises over the heart of the Okefenokee swamp, legend says that the mysterious golden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dog Man: A Tale of Two Kitties: From the Creator of Captain Underpants

Dav Pilkey · GRAPHIX
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

He was the best of dogs... He was the worst of dogs... It was the age of invention... It was the season of surprise... It was the eve of supa sadness... It was the dawn of hope... Dog Man, the newest hero from the creator of Captain Underpants, hasn't always been a paws-itive addition to the police...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Patina

JASON REYNOLDS · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

A newbie to the track team, Patina must learn to rely on her teammates as she tries to outrun her personal demons in this follow-up to the National Book Award finalist Ghost by New York Times bestselling author Jason Reynolds.Ghost. Lu. Patina. Sunny. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Adventures: Marvel's Spider-Man: Adventures of the Web-Slinger

Dorling Kindersley Inc. · Dk Publishing
Pages: 96
Format: Print book

Swing through New York City with your friendly neighborhood Spider-Man in DK Adventures: Marvel's Spider-Man: Adventures of the Web-Slinger.Join Peter Parker he fights to stop crime throughout the city and faces off against villains determined to defeat him, all while maintaining his day job at The Daily...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The First Rule of Punk

CELIA C PREZ · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From debut author and longtime zine-maker Celia C. Pérez, The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one's watching. There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school - you can't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Almanac 2017.

Editors of TIME For Kids Magazine
Pages: 288
Format:  Print book : English

pages
Read More check catalog
 
 
Energy Lab for Kids: 40 Exciting Experiments to Explore, Create, Harness, and Unleash Energy

Emily Hawbacker · Quarry Books
Pages: 142
Format: Print book

"Energy Lab for Kids, created for kids by a teacher, offers challenging experiments and guided discussions along with how-tos, discoveries, and pointers from prize-winning kids."--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amazon Adventure: How Tiny Fish Are Saving the World's Largest Rainforest

Sy Montgomery · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

Considered the "lungs of the world," the Amazon provides a full fifth of the world's oxygen, and every year unsustainable human practices destroy 2.7 million acres. What can be done to help? That's where Project Piaba comes in. Join the award-winning author Sy Montgomery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Margaret and the Moon

DEAN ROBBINS · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Library Binding

Margaret Hamilton loved numbers as a young girl. She knew how many miles it was to the moon (and how many back) . She loved studying algebra and geometry and calculus and using math to solve problems in the outside world. Soon math led her to MIT and then to helping NASA put a man on the moon!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Easy Dollar Bill Origami

John Montroll · Dover Publications
Format: Print book

Popular as party favors and presents, origami figures folded from paper money offer clever possibilities for folders at all levels of skill. This easy-to-follow guide features thirty-two simple models, both traditional and original. Figures include a heart, a house, and an array of animals,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Clay Lab for Kids: 52 Projects to Make, Model, and Mold With Air-Dry, Polymer, and Homemade Clay

Cassie Stephens · Quarry Books
Pages: 144
Format: Flexibound

Clay Lab for Kids, a new addition to Quarry's Lab series, focuses on kid-friendly clays--air-dry, homemade, and polymer--that are safe and easy to use at home or in the classroom; no kiln required.Nashville art teacher Cassie Stephens makes clay a focus of her classes with amazing results....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Minecraft: Guide to Creative

BALLANTINE. · Del Rey
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

The official Minecraft: Guide to Creative will teach you all you need to know to create builds more impressive than you could've dreamed of.The world of Minecraft is so varied and limitless that incredible creations can often be daunting to think about, never mind to build. With insider...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Was Alexander Hamilton?

PAM POLLACK · Grosset & Dunlap
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Read the story of the Founding Father who inspired the smash Broadway musical.Born in the British West Indies and orphaned as a child, Alexander Hamilton made his way to the American Colonies and studied to become a lawyer. He joined a local militia during the American Revolution, rose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Igloos and Inuit Life

Louise Spilsbury · Capstone Press
Format: Print book

Did you know that people called Inuits once lived in houses made of snow? What other things helped Inuits live in the cold? --This text refers to the Paperback edition.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Friendship Code #1

STACIA DEUTSCH · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science, this series is published in partnership with the organization Girls Who Code!Loops, variables, input/output - Lucy can't wait to get started with the new coding club at school. Finally, an after school activity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Revenge of the Zombie Monks: An Unofficial Graphic Novel for Minecrafters, #2

Megan Miller · Sky Pony Pr
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Behind the walls of the monastery, the monks of Xenos grow enchanted golden apples for the villagers who live in their border world. The golden apples have magical healing powers that keep the villagers from harm. The monks also guard the knowledge that binds Xenos to her sister worlds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Beast Within: A Tale of Beauty's Prince

Serena Valentino · Harpercollins
Pages: 215
Format: Print book

A cursed prince sits alone in a secluded castle. Few have seen him, but those who claim they have say his hair is wild and nails are sharp--like a beast's! But how did this prince, once jovial and beloved by the people, come to be a reclusive and bitter monster? And is it possible that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tenney In The Key Of Friendship

Kellen Hertz · Turtleback Books
Pages: 192
Format: Library Binding

FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. The second book in a new middle grade series featuring contemporary characters!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Platypus Police Squad: Never Say Narwhal

Jarrett J Krosoczka · Walden Pond Press
Pages: 235
Format: Print book

From Jarrett J. Krosoczka comes Never Say Narwhal, the final installment in the hilarious, high-action illustrated middle grade series featuring two platypus detectives, perfect for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Big Nate, and Jarrett's own Lunch Lady series.Frank Pandini Jr. is the mayor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Otherwise known as possum

Maria D Laso · Scholastic
Format: Audiobook

This item is Non-Returnable.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stone Warriors

Michael Northrop · Scholastic Inc., 2016. ©2016
Pages: 186
Format: Print book

From the New York Times bestselling author of TombQuest: <i>Book of the Dead</i>, comes book 4 in an epic adventure filled with the magic of ancient Egypt! It's a race for the Spells! Alex and Ren are on a desperate hunt, and time's running out. They've discovered that The Order...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Race to Danger (Pokémon: Chapter Book)

TRACEY WEST · SCHOLASTIC (US)
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

The Pokémon hot air balloon race is on. And the prize is a rare Dratini. Windy could have won-but Team Rocket took the wind out of her sails!Can Ash and his Pokémon help Windy blow off the competition? Between hail storms, Beedrill swarms, Weezing's Smoke Screen and Arbok's balloon-tearing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Can't Hide

Dan Poblocki · Scholastic (Us)
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Shadow House will find you . . . Poppy, Marcus, Dash, Dylan, and Azumi are all trapped within Shadow House, a sinister estate where past and present intertwine. As they fight to find a way out, the kids think the ghosts of the house are the greatest danger they face. Little do the kids...
Read More check catalog
 
 
School of Secrets: Lonnie's Warrior Sword

JESSICA BRODY · Disney Press
Pages: 186
Format: Hardcover

Lonnie is the daughter of Mulan. She's strong. She's fearless. And she's willing to fight for what she wants .like the very special sword that once belonged to her mother. When Lonnie brings her friends Jay and Jordan on an forbidden trip to Imperial City to get it, she must prove she's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Girl: Contemporary MG Series 1, Novel 1

Kellen Hertz · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 192
Format: Print book

Tenney's biggest dream is to share what's in her heart through music. Little does she know, she's about to get the opportunity of a lifetime. In this first book, Tenney gets invited to perform solo at Nashville's famed Bluebird Cafe and the pressure is on to write the song that will show...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My First Coding Book

Dorling Kindersley, Inc. · DK Children
Pages: 24
Format: Board book

Teach kids as young as 5 years old the basic programming skills necessary to code, including sequencing and loops, without a computer.It's never too early to learn computer coding. With interactive paper engineering, My First Coding Book is a playful, hands-on introduction to offline...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World

RESHMA SAUJANI · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, from the leader of the movement championed by Sheryl Sandberg, Jack Dorsey, and other giants of tech. Since 2012, the organization Girls Who Code has taught computing skills to and inspired over 10,000 girls across America. Now its founder,...
Read More check catalog