Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Voices from the Second World War: Stories of War as Told to Children of Today

CANDLEWICK PRESS. · Candlewick
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In an intergenerational keepsake volume, witnesses to World War II share their memories with young interviewers so that their experiences will never be forgotten.The Second World War was the most devastating war in history. Up to eighty million people died, and the map of the world was redrawn....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island

LIZ KESSLER · Candlewick
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

While on vacation, Emily Windsnap finds herself swept up in an ancient prophecy as the New York Times best-selling series continues.Emily is headed to a tropical island for a relaxing vacation with friends and family. And this time, Emily promises her best friend, Shona, there will be absolutely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spying

Henry Brook · Usborne Books
Pages: 80
Format: Paperback

There is an endless fascination with spies and the shadowy world they inhabit, but naturally their activities are shrouded in secrecy. This book reveals some of high-tech methods used by spies working today, as well as the more traditional spy tradecraft. It contains real life spy stories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of Baby Jesus

Elizabeth Tanner · Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Very First Dinosaurs Book

Alex Firth · Usborne Publishing Ltd.
Pages: 30
Format: Print book

This is non-fiction for very young children, who will find lots of things to look at and talk about in this highly visual book about dinosaurs. Little ones can find out about the different types of dinosaurs- whilst learning lots of interesting new words. Dinosaurs are current, now more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Usborne Illustrated Dictionary of Math: Internet Referenced

Tori Large · Usborne Pub Ltd
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. Discusses terms and concepts dealing with numbers, calculations, plane and solid geometry, graphing, algebra, trigonometry and vectors. --This text refers to the Library Binding edition.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Usborne Big Book of Big Dinosaurs

Stephen Wright · Usborne Books
Pages: 16
Format: Hardcover

An enormous new book for kids fascinated by gigantic dinosaurs. Full of the biggest dinosaurs on land, in the sea and in the air. Includes giant foldout pages to show the most enormous dinosaurs. A simple timeline at the end shows when each dinosaur roamed the earth. 16 pages + fold outs
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caterpillars and Butterflies

Stephanie Turnbull · Usborne Books
Format: Book

This series aims to encourage children to access the wonder of the world around them. The books have two reading levels, with a simple sentence on each page for beginners, and more complex information for more confident readers. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drones IR

Henry Brook · EDC Publishing
Pages: 80

Where can drones fly that no human would dare? Why do engineers turn to nature to design new flying machines? Could a drone space rover reveal the secrets of distant planets? How can a fire rescue drone save lives? Fast, agile and cheap to build, drones offer all the benefits of flight...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gardening for Beginners IR

Emily Bone · EDC Publishing
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

This delightful book is packed with simple and straightforward growing projects specially chosen for beginner gardeners. Clear instructions and step-by-step illustrations show what to do at every stage. There are plenty of tips and hints for growing things in pots, indoors and out, and for gardening...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Usborne chess book

Lucy Bowman · EDC Publishing
Pages: 63

A fun, write-in book packed with brain-teasing puzzles, useful facts and clever tips that show how to play chess and improve your game. Some of the puzzles are answered using chess-piece stickers and all the answers are at the back of the book. Simple puzzles show how to use the pieces,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Go First

ERIN ENTRADA KELLY · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First is an engaging exploration of family, bullying, spelling, art, and the ever-complicated world of middle school friendships. Her perfectly pitched tween voice will resonate with fans of Kate DiCamillo's Raymie Nightingale.Twelve-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wolf Keepers

Elise Broach · Square Fish
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

A thrilling middle-grade historical mystery set in Yosemite National Park from the New York Times-bestselling author of MasterpieceTwelve-year-old Lizzie Durango and her dad have always had a zoo to call their home. Lizzie spends her days watching the animals and taking note of their various...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Things to Know About History

Laura Cowan · Usborne Publishing Ltd
Pages: 127
Format: Hardcover

What was the 'Flute of Shame'? Which two US Presidents were arrested for reckless riding? Why would an African king be afraid of a parrot's egg? Find the answers these questions, along with loads of othercurious, amazing and shocking facts from history in this eye-catching book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lift-the-Flap Computers and Coding

Rosie Dickins · EDC Publishing ; London
Pages: 16
Format: Print book

An interactive introduction to information and communication technology, which explains what goes on inside computers to make them do what they do. With lots of flaps to lift and look beneath, fact-hungry children will devour the fascinating data contained in this bright and engaging non-fiction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bunny vs. Monkey, Book 2

Jamie Smart · David Fickling Books
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

Welcome back to the woods! It's a peaceful home, really, but wait . . . ZAP! ZAAP!! ZAAAPPPPP!!!!It's Monkey in a hovercraft that fires lasers! And is that a kitten cannon and a Hamster Mobile too?Join Bunny, Monkey, Skunky, Pig, and all the rest of the lovable and crazy characters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Loud House #3: "Live Life Loud"

Chris Savino · Papercutz
Pages: 56
Format: Hardcover

You think you know Loud? Try living with ten sisters, four pets, and non-stop chaos! That's life for 11-year-old Lincon Loud as he navigates life with sisters Lori, Leni, Luna, Luan, Lynn, Lucy, Lisa, Lola, Lana, and Lily! Featuring stories by The Loud House animation crew and show...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How things grow

Felicity Brooks · EDC Publishing
Pages: 32

How do peanuts grow? Where do seeds come from? Which flowers bloom in the spring? Find out and have fun doing puzzles and quizzes.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bear Grylls Survival Camp "The Ultimate All-terrain Training Manual"

Bear Grylls · Kane Miller, a Division of EDC Publishing
Pages: 121
Format: Hardcover

"It's a wonderful world out there just waiting to be discovered, but are you ready to be an explorer? Do you know how to cope with searing heat and intense cold? Can you find food and water in the wild? Could you avoid deadly diseases and fight back against man-eating beasts? Let Bear...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cat Encyclopedia for Kids

Joanne Mattern · Capstone Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

Sink your claws into some cat facts! Learn the history, behaviors, physical traits, and special characteristics of cat breeds including Siamese, Persian, American Shorthair, Abyssinian, Maine Coon, and many more. This guidebook gives cat lovers and owners an in-depth look at some furry...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 things to know about the human body

Alex Frith · Usborne Publishing Ltd. ; Tulsa
Pages: 126
Format: Print book

An eye-catching information book filled with one hundred interesting facts to learn about the human body.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Creature of the Pines

Adam Gidwitz · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A fully illustrated, globe-trotting new middle grade fantasy-adventure series about mythical creatures and their cultures of origin, from the Newbery Honor-winning author of The Inquisitor's Tale.Elliot Eisner isn't exactly excited about starting at a brand-new school in a brand-new town;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Heat Is On

Charise Mericle Harper · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

The competition heats up in episode two of this zesty series for fans of MasterChef Jr. and Kids Cook-off! With this episode's theme of family and tradition, from a diner challenge to a quinceañera to the farmer's market, the junior chefs will have to sauté their way through...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Prickly Problem: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet

JACQUELINE KELLY · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 112
Format: Hardcover

In this story in the Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet chapter book series, Callie must help the family dog out of a prickly situation.When the Tate family dog, Ajax, has a run-in with a porcupine, things get prickly -- and dangerous -- quickly. It'll take Callie's quick thinking and doctoring,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Time Jumpers

BRANDON MULL · Aladdin
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Trapped in a world where magic is powerful and dreams are real, Cole's epic adventure comes to a close in book five of the New York Times bestselling "fanciful, action-packed adventure" series (Publishers Weekly, starred review) , from the author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wish

Barbara O'Connor · Square Fish
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal loversEleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish, such as cutting off the pointed end of a slice of pie and wishing...
Read More check catalog