Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
A Field Guide to Getting Lost

Joy McCullough · ATHENEUM BOOKS
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A girl with a passion for science and a boy who dreams of writing fantasy novels must figure out how to get along now that their parents are dating in this lively, endearing novel. Sutton is having robot problems. Her mini-bot is supposed to be able to get through a maze in under a minute,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hattie in the Spotlight

Poppy Green · Little Simon
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Sophie's friend Hattie tries out for a play at Oak Hollow Theater in this sixteenth charming book of The Adventures of Sophie Mouse series!When Hattie Frog learns that Oak Hollow Theater is putting on a play and anyone can audition, she knows it's her time to shine. Sophie is surprised...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Whirly Squirrelies

Mike Nawrocki · Tyndale Kids
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Continue the series Kirkus Reviews said will make kids "undoubtedly laugh out loud" with "plenty of humor to tickle young readers" and recommended for fans of Big Nate and Stink!Mike Nawrocki, co-creator of VeggieTales, is back with more adventures with Michael and his friends!What...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Assembling the Avengers #1

JIM ZUB · Marvel Age
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Nick Fury and Agent Coulson lead the search for Captain America after he disappeared in 1943, but a frustrating meeting with the World Security Council could put an end to their search. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Spotlight is a division of ABDO.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Isle of the Lost #4: A Descendants Novel

Melissa de la Cruz · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Mal, Evie, Jay, and Carlos may have once been the baddest of the bad, but their wicked ways are (mostly) behind them-and now graduation is almost here! But before the seniors can don their custom-designed caps and gowns, courtesy of Evie, they've got an epic plan to put into action....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wink

Rob Harrell · Dial Books
Pages: 300
Format: Hardcover

A hilarious and heartwrenching story about surviving middle school--and an unthinkable diagnosis--while embracing life's weirdness.Ross Maloy just wants to be a normal seventh grader. He doesn't want to lose his hair, or wear a weird hat, or deal with the disappearing friends who don't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sal and Gabi Break the Universe

Carlos Hernandez · Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents a brilliant sci-fi romp with Cuban influence that poses this question: What would you do if you had the power to reach through time and space and retrieve anything you want, including your mother, who is no longer living (in this universe, anyway)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Forest Babies

Mary Elizabeth Salzmann · Super Sandcastle
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Forest Babies gives young children a fun way to practice reading. The main text is written at guided reading level A and brought to life with full-page color photos of intriguing and adorable young forest animals. The book ends with a one-page teacher's guide with tips for adults to help...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ocean Babies

Mary Elizabeth Salzmann · Super Sandcastle
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

Ocean Babies gives young children a fun way to practice reading. The main text is written at guided reading level A and brought to life with full-page color photos of intriguing and adorable young ocean animals. The book ends with a one-page teacher's guide with tips for adults to help...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bat Book

Charlotte Milner · DK Children
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Take an amazing journey through the upside-down world of bats.

Bright, bold, and beautiful illustrations accompany fascinating facts about these furry flying mammals and their importance to the world we live in.

From the way they fly, to how they communicate with one another,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My First Cookbook: Fun recipes to cook together . . . with as much mixing, rolling, scrunching, and squishing as possible!

America's Test Kitchen · America's Test Kitchen Kids
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

From the creators of the #1 New York Times Bestseller The Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs, this collection of approachable and fun recipes is designed to introduce kids ages 5 to 8 to the kitchen, along with their grown-ups. It's not about getting dinner on the table, but about doing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's a Numbers Game! Basketball: The math behind the perfect bounce pass, the buzzer-beating bank shot, and so much more!

James Buckley Jr · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Why do NBA players only have 24 seconds to score a basket? What's the geometry behind making the perfect shot? Become a basketball pro and learn all about the numbers and math behind this popular sport.Numbers are everywhere in basketball--from the dimensions of the court to the points...
Read More check catalog
 
 
England

Grace Hansen · Abdo Kids Jumbo
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

From England's quaint country roads to a palace fit for a queen, readers have so much to discover about this amazing country! This title covers information like England's common foods, its largest cities and capital, plants and animals, and things to see and do. Aligned to Common...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Russia

Grace Hansen · Abdo Kids
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

From Russia's exciting and colorful architecture to its almost desolate tundra, readers have so much to discover about this amazing and vast country! This title covers information like Russia's common foods, its largest cities and capital, plants and animals, and things to see and do. Aligned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Indian No More

Charlene Willing McManis · Tu Books
Format: Hardcover

Regina Petit's family has always been Umpqua, and living on the Grand Ronde reservation is all ten-year-old Regina has ever known. Her biggest worry is that Sasquatch may actually exist out in the forest. But when the federal government signs a bill into law that says Regina's tribe...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The List of Things That Will Not Change

Rebecca Stead · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

When life takes a new direction, it's comforting to know that some things will not change. A brilliant and touching story about navigating big family shifts, from the masterful Newbery Medal winning author of When You Reach Me.

When Bea's parents got divorced, they told her about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life as a Meme

Janet Tashjian · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Book 8 of the much-loved My Life series

Derek Fallon and his friends are back for another hilarious adventure in Book 8 of the My Life series -- this time featuring epic "meme" adventures!

A Christy Ottaviano Book

Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Needs a Checkup?: An Acorn Book

Norm Feuti · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

Harry has a checkup in this adorable early reader perfect for fans of Frog and Toad! Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Disney Before the Story: Elsa's Icy Rescue

Kate Egan · Disney Press
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545}p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'; color: #454545; min-height: 14.0px}Before Elsa was queen . . . she was a girl with magic! Elsa cannot wait to spend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pepper Party Double Dare Disguise

Jay Cooper · Scholastic Press
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Silliness is the Pepper Family's superpower in this hilarious family comedy for fans of The Simpsons and Family Guy.Meet the Peppers. Funny runs in the family.Megs Pepper has been grounded! But she can't miss San Pimento's ComicCon and a chance to meet her favorite superhero,...
Read More check catalog