Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Then and Now  
Scarface and the Untouchable: Al Capone, Eliot Ness, and the Battle for Chicago

MAX ALLAN COLLINS · William Morrow
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

At last, the definitive account of the battle for Chicago: Legendary novelist Max Allan Collins and acclaimed rising historian A. Brad Schwartz combine talents in this groundbreaking dual biography of Al Capone, America's most notorious gangster, and Eliot Ness, the upright Prohibition...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Founding Martyr: The Life and Death of Dr. Joseph Warren, the American Revolution's Lost Hero

Christian Di Spigna · Crown
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A rich and illuminating biography of America's forgotten Founding Father, the patriot physician and major general who fomented rebellion and died heroically at the battle of Bunker Hill on the brink of revolutionLittle has been known of one of the most important figures in early American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fly Girls: How Five Daring Women Defied All Odds and Made Aviation History

KEITH O'BRIEN · Eamon Dolan/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The untold story of five women who fought to compete against men in the high-stakes national air races of the 1920s and 1930s - and won Between the world wars, no sport was more popular, or more dangerous, than airplane racing. Thousands of fans flocked to multi‑day events, and cities...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fighters

C. J. Chivers · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Pulitzer Prize-winning conflict journalist C.J. Chivers follows the arcs of the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq through the experiences of those who fought them, as Stephen Ambrose did for the grunts of WWII, and Michael Herr's classic Dispatches did for Vietnam.Almost 2.5 million Americans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
U.S. Constitution For Dummies

Arnheim · For Dummies
Pages: 408
Format: Paperback

Your complete guide to understanding the U.S. Constitution. Want to make sense of the U.S. Constitution? This new edition walks you through this revered document, explaining how the articles and amendments came to be and how they have guided legislators, judges, and presidents - and sparked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Women of the Blue and Gray: True Stories of Mothers, Medics, Soldiers, and Spies of the Civil War

Marianne Monson · Shadow Mountain
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Hidden amongst the photographs, uniforms, revolvers, and war medals of the Civil War are the remarkable stories of some of the most unlikely heroes--women. North, South, black, white, Native American, immigrant--the women in these micro-drama biographies are wives, mothers, sisters, and friends...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Perfect Weapon: War, Sabotage, and Fear in the Cyber Age

DAVID E SANGER · Crown
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the premiere New York Times Washington correspondent, a stunning and incisive look into how cyberwarfare is influencing elections, threatening national security, and bringing us to the brink of global war.Behind the Russian cyberattacks that may have thrown the 2016 election; behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World as It Is: A Memoir of the Obama White House

BEN RHODES · Random House
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From one of Obama's closest aides comes a revelatory, behind-the-scenes account of his presidency - and how idealism can confront harsh reality and still survive - in the tradition of Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.'s A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House. For nearly ten years,...
Read More check catalog