Back | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland

Patrick Radden Keefe · Doubleday
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

"Meticulously reported, exquisitely written, and grippingly told, Say Nothing is a work of revelation."- David Grann, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon"[This] gripping account of the Troubles is equal parts true-crime, history, and tragedy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Sherlock: Murder, Forensics, and the Birth of American CSI

Kate Winkler Dawson · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed author of Death in the Air ("Not since Devil in the White City has a book told such a harrowing tale"--Douglas Preston) comes the riveting story of the birth of criminal investigation in the twentieth century.Berkeley, California, 1933. In a lab filled with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Race Against Time: A Reporter Reopens the Unsolved Murder Cases of the Civil Rights Era

Jerry Mitchell · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

An award-winning investigative reporter shares the real-life detective story of how Klansmen came to justice in notorious unsolved civil rights cold cases - decades after they had gotten away with murder.On June 21, 1964, more than twenty Klansmen murdered three civil rights workers. The killings,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

Amy Shira Teitel · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube's "Vintage Space" Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives' Club, Fighting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cosy: The British Art of Comfort

Laura Weir · HarperOne
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

The Danes have hygge. The Swedes have lagom. Now, Laura Weir, a beloved lifestyle journalist and editor-in-chief of London Evening Standard's weekly ES magazine, introduces American readers to the Brits' best-kept secret - coziness - an indulgent, luxurious, yet unfussy way of creating...

Read More check catalog
 
 
No Visible Bruises: What We Don't Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us

Rachel Louise Snyder · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"Gut-wrenching, required reading."-Esquire, "Most Anticipated Books of 2019"

An award-winning journalist's intimate investigation of the true scope of domestic violence, revealing how the roots of America's most pressing social crises are buried in abuse...

Read More check catalog
 
 
ASVAB Prep 2020-2021: 4 Practice Tests Proven Strategies Online

Kaplan Test Prep · Kaplan Publishing
Pages: 648
Format: Paperback

Kaplan's ASVAB Prep 2020-2021 features proven strategies and realistic practice for all sections of the ASVAB and AFQT. Comprehensive subject review, expert tips, and detailed explanations will help you face the test with confidence.Kaplan is so certain that ASVAB Prep 2020-2021 offers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hero

Lee Child · TLS Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

WHAT MAKES A HERO? WHO BETTER TO ANSWER THAT QUESTION THAN LEE CHILD ... 'It's Lee Child. Why would you not read it?' Karin Slaughter'I don't know another author so skilled at making me turn the page' The TimesIn his first work of nonfiction, the creator of the multimillion-selling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl on Film Original Graphic Novel

Cecil Castellucci · Archaia
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

Follow novelist Cecil Castellucci in this insightful memoir of making art, the nature of memory, and being a teenager in 80s New York City.

One thing young Cecil was sure of from the minute she saw Star Wars was that she was going to be some kind of artisté. Probably a filmmaker....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Game: My Mother, Her Lover, and Me

Adrienne Brodeur · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A daughter's tale of living in the thrall of her magnetic, complicated mother, and the chilling consequences of her complicity.

On a hot August night on Cape Cod when Adrienne was fourteen, her mother, Malabar, woke her at midnight with five simple words that would set the course...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion

Jia Tolentino · Random House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A breakout writer at The New Yorker examines the fractures at the center of contemporary culture with verve, deftness, and intellectual ferocity - for readers who've wondered what Susan Sontag would have been like if she had brain damage from the internet.

"A whip-smart,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tiny Habits: The Small Changes that Change Everything

BJ Fogg Ph.D · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The world's leading expert on habit formation shows how you can have a happier, healthier life: by starting small.

Myth: Change is hard. Reality: Change can be easy if you know the simple steps of Behavior Design.

Myth: It's all about willpower. Reality:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Scouting Guide to Tracking: An Official Boy Scouts of America Handbook: Essential Skills for Identifying and Trailing Animals

America · Skyhorse
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

In Scouting's Guide to Tracking, current Scouts, Scout alumni, and readers interested in the outdoors are provided with time-tested advice on how to track big and small animals over different types of terrain. Some practical tips include: How to determine the age of tracks in any circumstances...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Photo Basics: The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Great Photography

JOEL SARTORE · National Geographic
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

For digital camera and smartphone users, this easy how-to guide, written by an experienced National Geographic photographer, imparts the essentials of taking great pictures.

This entertaining book from beloved National Geographic photographer and Photo Ark founder Joel Sartore shows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Consider This

Chuck Palahniuk · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Renowned, bestselling novelist Chuck Palahniuk takes us behind the scenes of the writing life, with postcards from decades on the road and incredible examination of the power of fiction and the art of storytelling.In this spellbinding blend of memoir and insight, bestselling author Chuck...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hill Women: Finding Family and a Way Forward in the Appalachian Mountains

Cassie Chambers · Ballantine Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

After rising from poverty to earn two Ivy League degrees, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong "hill women" who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region - an uplifting and eye-opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope

Nicholas D. Kristof
Format: Hardcover


Read More check catalog
 
 
Uncanny Valley: A Memoir

Anna Wiener · MCD
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"A definitive document of a world in transition: I won't be alone in returning to Uncanny Valley for clarity and consolation for many years to come." -- Jia Tolentino, author of Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion The prescient, page-turning account of a journey in Silicon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Song for You: My Life with Whitney Houston

Robyn Crawford · Dutton
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times Bestseller!

After decades of silence, Robyn Crawford, close friend, collaborator, and confidante of Whitney Houston, shares her story.

Whitney Houston is as big a superstar as the music business has ever known. She exploded on the scene in 1985 with...
Read More check catalog