Back | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Nonfiction  
Tell Me More: And 11 Other Important Things I'm Learning to Say

KELLY CORRIGAN · Random House
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A story-driven collection of essays on the twelve powerful phrases we use to sustain our relationships, from the bestselling author of Glitter and Glue and The Middle Place "Kelly Corrigan takes on all the big, difficult questions here, with great warmth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jefferson's Daughters: Three Sisters, White and Black, in a Young America

CATHERINE KERRISON · Ballantine Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Thomas Jefferson fathered three girls: two white and free, one black and a slave. This book about Martha, Maria, and Harriet tells the fascinating story of their very different lives at Monticello and beyond, as daughters of one of our most brilliant and complicated Founding Fathers.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Most Dangerous Man in America: Timothy Leary, Richard Nixon and the Hunt for the Fugitive King of LSD

Bill Minutaglio · Twelve
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From Bill Minutaglio and Steven L. Davis, authors of the PEN Center USA award-winning Dallas 1963, comes a madcap narrative about Timothy Leary's daring prison escape and run from the law.On the moonlit evening of September 12, 1970, an ex-Harvard professor with a genius I.Q. studies a twelve-foot...
Read More check catalog
 
 
France is a Feast: The Photographic Journey of Paul and Julia Child

Katherine Pratt · Thames & Hudson
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From the coauthor of My Life in France, a revealing collection of photographs taken by Paul Child that document his and Julia Child's years in France Through intimate and compelling photographs taken by her husband Paul Child, a gifted photographer, France is a Feast documents how Julia...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unqualified

ANNA FARIS · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Anna Faris has advice for you. And it's great advice, because she's been through it all, and she wants to tell you what she's learned. After surviving an awkward childhood (when she bribed the fastest boy in the third grade with ice cream) , navigating dating and marriage in Hollywood,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hiking Naked: A Quaker Woman's Search for Balance

IRIS GRAVILLE · Homebound Publications
Pages: 260
Format: Paperback

Knocked off her feet after twenty years in public health nursing, Iris Graville quit her job and convinced her husband and their thirteen-year-old twin son and daughter to move to Stehekin, a remote mountain village in Washington State's North Cascades. They sought adventure; she yearned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An American Family: A Memoir of Hope and Sacrifice

Khizr Khan · Thorndike Press Large Print

This inspiring memoir by the Gold Star parent and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family's pursuit of the American dream and why--especially in these tumultuous times--we must not be afraid to step forward for what we believe in when it matters most. An American Family is an intensely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We're Going to Need More Wine: Stories That are Funny, Complicated, and True

GABRIELLE UNION · Dey Street Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"A book of essays as raw and honest as anyone has ever produced." - Lena Dunham, Lenny LetterIn the spirit of Amy Poehler's Yes Please, Lena Dunham's Not That Kind of Girl, and Roxane Gay's Bad Feminist, a powerful collection of essays about gender,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's All Relative: Adventures Up and Down the World's Family Tree

A J JACOBS · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author of The Know-It-All and The Year of Living Biblically, A.J. Jacobs undergoes a hilarious, heartfelt quest to understand what constitutes family - where it begins and how far it goes - and attempts to untangle the true meaning of the "Family of Humankind."A.J....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl on the Velvet Swing: Sex, Murder, and Madness at the Dawn of the Twentieth Century

Simon Baatz · Mulholland Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Simon Baatz, the first comprehensive account of the murder that made the Gilded Age-and of the trial that shocked the world. In 1901, Evelyn Nesbit, the pin-up girl and penniless young actress, dined with Stanford White, the legendary architect whose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Square and the Tower: Networks and Power, from the Freemasons to Facebook

Niall Ferguson · Penguin Press
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A brilliant recasting of the turning points in world history, including the one we're living through, as a collision between old power hierarchies and new social networksMost history is hierarchical: it's about emperors, presidents, prime ministers and field marshals. It's about states,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

DANIEL H PINK · Riverhead Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Daniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks the scientific secrets to good timing to help you flourish at work, at school, and at home.Everyone knows that timing is everything. But we don't know much about timing itself. Our lives are a never-ending...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Electric Shock: From the Gramophone to the iPhone – 125 Years of Pop Music

Peter Doggett · Random House UK
Pages: 736
Format: Paperback

Ambitious and groundbreaking, Electric Shock tells the story of popular music, from the birth of recording in the 1890s to the digital age, from the first pop superstars of the twentieth century to the omnipresence of music in our lives, in hit singles, ringtones and on Spotify. Over that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Story of the Great British Bake Off

ANITA SINGH · Head of Zeus
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Take one tent. Fill with 12 amateur bakers. Garnish with one venerable cookery writer, one blue-eyed bread-maker, and two comedy queens with a love of innuendo, and you have the recipe for the most popular show of our times. When The Great British Bake Off made its debut in August 2010,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Can't Breathe: A Killing on Bay Street

MATT TAIBBI · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A work of riveting literary journalism that explores the roots and repercussions of the infamous killing of Eric Garner by the New York City police - from the bestselling author of The Divide "[A] searing exposé . . . What emerges from the author's superb reporting and vivid writing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Garden of the Lost and Abandoned: The Extraordinary Story of One Ordinary Woman and the Children She Saves

JESSICA YU · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The problem by most lights is overwhelming: at least 5,000 children live on the streets of Uganda's capital city of Kampala. Some forget the names of their villages. The youngest may not know the names of their parents. But Gladys Kalibbala - part journalist, part detective, part Good Samaritan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News

KEVIN YOUNG · Graywolf Press
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Has the hoax now moved from the sideshow to take the center stage of American culture?Award-winning poet and critic Kevin Young tours us through a rogue's gallery of hoaxers, plagiarists, forgers, and fakers -- from the humbug of P. T. Barnum and Edgar Allan Poe to the unrepentant bunk...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kids These Days: Human Capital and the Making of Millennials

MALCOLM HARRIS · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A Millennial's groundbreaking investigation into why his generation is economically worse off than their parents, creating a radical and devastating portrait of what it means to be young in America.Millennials have been called lazy, entitled, narcissistic, and immature, but when you push...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Newcomers: Learning a New Language and Making a New Home in a Place Called America

HELEN THORPE · Scribner
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

From an award-winning, "meticulously observant" (The New Yorker) writer comes a powerful and moving account of how refugee teenagers at a Denver public high school learn English and become Americans.The Newcomers follows the lives of twenty-two immigrant teenagers throughout...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Student Pilot's Flight Manual: From First Flight to Pilot Certificate

Kershner · Aviation Supplies and Academics, Inc.
Pages: 458
Format: Paperback

This first volume in The Flight Manuals Series is a ground school textbook, maneuvers manual, and syllabus all rolled into one, providing a step-by-step comprehensive course for student pilots working towards a Private or Sport Pilot certificate. This authoritative manual from the legendary...
Read More check catalog