Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery Books  
Untitled Alex Mcknight

STEVE HAMILTON · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Alex McKnight--hero of Steve Hamilton's bestselling, award-winning, and beloved private eye series--is back in a high-stakes, nail-biting thriller, facing the most dangerous enemy he's ever encountered.On the Mediterranean Sea, a vacationer logs on to the security-camera feed from his home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pale as Death

Heather Graham · MIRA
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the dark depths of Hollywood's pastThe crime scene is horrific: the corpse of a young actress, drained of blood and cut in two. LAPD Detective Sophie Manning's new case is high-profile and difficult - there's no evidence to work with. And it's a disturbing echo of the infamous Black...
Read More check catalog
 
 
TOUCAN KEEP A SECRET

DONNA ANDREWS · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A new side-splitting Meg Langslow mystery from award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Gone Gull.Meg Langslow is at Trinity Episcopal locking up after an event and checking on the toucan Meg's friend Rev. Robyn Smith is fostering in her office. After hearing a hammering in the columbarium...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Desolation Mountain: A Novel

WILLIAM KENT KRUEGER · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger delivers yet another "punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction" (BOOKLIST , starred review) as Cork O'Connor and his son Stephen work together to uncover the truth behind the tragic plane crash...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Whisper the Dead: A Cotsworld village mystery

Stella Cameron · Severn House Publishers
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Breakers

MARCIA MULLER · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Sharon McCone returns in New York Times bestselling author Marcia Muller's thrilling new mystery!On a foggy summer morning, private investigator Sharon McCone receives a call from her former neighbors, the Curleys. Their usually dependable daughter Chelle hasn't been answering their calls...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ginger Snapped: A Spice Shop Mystery

GAIL OUST · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Piper Prescott and Police Chief Wyatt McBride might have gotten off on the wrong foot but, over the past year, their interactions have evolved into a friendship of sorts. And when the body of Shirley Randolph is found floating in a fishing hole, their relationship reaches entirely new territory.Shirley,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heaven's Crooked Finger: An Earl Marcus Mystery

HANK EARLY. · Crooked Lane Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Eerie, intense, and masterfully-crafted, Hank Early's gripping series debut Heaven's Crooked Finger transports readers to a secretive community in the Georgia mountains.Earl Marcus thought he had left the mountains of Georgia behind forever, and with them, the painful memories of a childhood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unholy City: A Claire Codella Mystery

CARRIE SMITH. · Crooked Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

Despite their rocky history, Detective Claire Codella and Precinct Detective Brian Haggerty come together when senior churchwarden Philip Graves's bloody body is found lying in the herb garden of historic St. Paul's Episcopal Church on Manhattan's Upper West Side just two days before Good...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cobra Clutch

A J Devlin · Newest Pr
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

"Hammerhead" Jed Ounstead thought he'd traded the pro-wrestling world for the slightly less dangerous one of a bar bouncer and errand boy for his father's detective agency, but the squared circle wasn't quite done with him yet. When his former tag-team partner draws...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sinners

ACE ATKINS · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

In the new novel from New York Times-bestselling crime master Ace Atkins, violence comes in many forms...and this time it may be more than Quinn Colson can handle.The Pritchards had never been worth a damn--an evil, greedy family who made their living dealing drugs and committing mayhem....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Date with Malice: A Samson and Delilah Mystery

Julia Chapman · Minotaur Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The second book in a delightful new English village mystery series set in the Yorkshire Dales.When a pensioner turns up at the Dales Detective Agency and tells Samson O'Brien that someone in her old people's home is trying to kill her, he dismisses her fears as the ramblings of a confused...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fiction Can Be Murder

BECKY CLARK · Midnight Ink
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback

Mystery author Charlemagne "Charlee" Russo thought the twisty plots and peculiar murders in her books were only the products of her imagination. That is, until her agent is found dead exactly as described in her new, unpublished manuscript. Suspicion swirls around her and her critique...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hangman: A Novel

DANIEL COLE · Ecco
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A detective with no one to trustA killer with nothing to loseDetective Emily Baxter is still reeling from the Ragdoll case, and from the disappearance of her friend William "Wolf" Fawkes. Despite her reluctance to jump into another gruesome case, she's summoned to a meeting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death Comes in through the Kitchen

Teresa Dovalpage · Soho Crime
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Set in Havana during the Black Spring of 2003, a charming but poison-laced culinary mystery reveals the darker side of the modern Revolution, complete with authentic Cuban recipesHavana, Cuba, 2003: Matt, a San Diego journalist, arrives in Havana to marry his girlfriend, Yarmila, a 24-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hard Aground: A Lewis Cole Mystery

BRENDAN DUBOIS · Pegasus Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

With echoes of Rear Window, award-winning Brendan DuBois' new thriller finds defense analyst Lewis Cole trapped and under siege in his beachfront home. In this, his eleventh outing, Lewis Cole -- former Department of Defense research analyst -- is "hard aground" at his beachfront...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pirata: A Novel

Patrick Hasburgh · Harper Perennial
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

From 21-Jump Street writer and series creator Patrick Hasburgh, a part thriller, part family novel about an ex-pat American living and surfing in Mexico, the family he loves, and the murder he witnesses, in the vein of Don Winslow's The Dawn Patrol."Going straight at the stuff...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ten Year Stretch: Celebrating a Decade of Crime Fiction at CrimeFest

Martin Edwards · Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Paperback

The twenty brand new crime stories in this book have been specially commissioned to celebrate the tenth anniversary of CrimeFest, described by the Guardian as "one of the 50 best festivals in the world." Contributors come from around the world and include the legendary Maj Sjowall...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder Borrowed, Murder Blue

STEPHANIE BLACKMOORE · Kensington
Pages: 352
Format: Mass Market Paperback

A celebrity couple getting hitched on Valentine's Day would be a big boost for Mallory Shepard's wedding planning business, but someone's got cold feet: a corpse . . . Actress Dakota Craig is set to tie the knot with her famous musician boyfriend at Mallory's Pennsylvania B&B on the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oh, Fudge!

NANCY COCO · Kensington
Pages: 352
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Life is always sweet in Allie McMurphy's delectable fudge shop. But murder can make things unpleasantly sticky . . . A DEADLY CONFECTION After Allie inherited her family's McMurphy Hotel and Fudge Shop, cousin Tori moved off to California in a bitter huff, and the two haven't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cat About Town

· Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Mass Market Paperback

The first novel in a frisky new mystery series set in a small New England town, where an unlikely citizen is called in to solve the purrfect crime. . .Maddie James has arrived in Daybreak Island, just off the coast of Massachusetts, eager to settle down and start her own business -- and maybe...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Assaulted Caramel

AMANDA FLOWER · Kensington
Pages: 340
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Sometimes you need a sweet tooth to take a bite out of crime . . .Bailey King is living the sweet life as assistant chocolatier at world-famous JP Chocolates in New York City. But just when Bailey's up for a life-changing promotion, her grandmother calls with news that her grandfather's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chime and Punishment

Julianne Holmes · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Expert clockmaker Ruth Clagan has another murder on her hands in the third Clock Shop Mystery from the author of Clock and Dagger. Years ago, the serenity of picturesque Orchard, Massachusetts, was shattered by a fire that destroyed the town's beloved clock tower. Ruth inherited the dream...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Uninvited Corpse

DEBRA SENNEFELDER · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Leaving behind a failed career as a magazine editor and an embarrassing stint on a reality baking show, newly divorced lifestyle entrepreneur Hope Early thought things were finally on the upswing - until she comes face-to-face with a murderer . . . Hope's schedule is already jam packed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bottom Feeders: A Novel

JOHN SHEPPHIRD · Blackstone Publishing
Pages: 238
Format: Paperback

A page-turning whodunit set in the wilds of a remote movie ranch, Bottom Feeders describes the hapless Hollywood cast and crew that eke out a living working on low-budget fare. Their ambitious TV movie needs to be made fast and cheap, but a brutal murder grinds production to a halt. An approaching...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dressed to Confess

Diane Vallere · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Costume shop owner Margo Tamblyn faces a deadly conspiracy when a small-town festival turns into big-time trouble.It's no secret around Proper City, Nevada, that the Sagebrush Festival, the town's annual family-friendly event, is the place to be. This year's theme of board games has everything...
Read More check catalog