Back | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery Books  
Untitled Alex Mcknight

STEVE HAMILTON · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Alex McKnight--hero of Steve Hamilton's bestselling, award-winning, and beloved private eye series--is back in a high-stakes, nail-biting thriller, facing the most dangerous enemy he's ever encountered.On the Mediterranean Sea, a vacationer logs on to the security-camera feed from his home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pale as Death

Heather Graham · MIRA
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the dark depths of Hollywood's pastThe crime scene is horrific: the corpse of a young actress, drained of blood and cut in two. LAPD Detective Sophie Manning's new case is high-profile and difficult - there's no evidence to work with. And it's a disturbing echo of the infamous Black...
Read More check catalog
 
 
TOUCAN KEEP A SECRET

DONNA ANDREWS · Minotaur Books
Pages: 294
Format: Hardcover

Toucan keep a secret, if one of them is dead.Meg Langslow is at Trinity Episcopal Church locking up after an event and checking on the toucan her friend Rev. Robyn Smith is fostering in her office. When she investigates the sound of hammering in the columbarium (the underground crypt where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shattered at Sea

CHERYL HOLLON · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Mass Market Paperback

A Mediterranean cruise gives glass shop owner Savannah Webb a chance to demonstrate her expertise - and fire up her skills when it comes to foul play . . . When Savannah signs on to perform glassblowing on a ship, part of the appeal is that she'll get a chance to reconnect with her boyfriend...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Desolation Mountain: A Novel

WILLIAM KENT KRUEGER · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger delivers yet another "punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction" (BOOKLIST , starred review) as Cork O'Connor and his son Stephen work together to uncover the truth behind the tragic plane crash...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Look Alive Twenty-Five: A Stephanie Plum Novel

JANET EVANOVICH · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Stephanie Plum faces the toughest puzzle of her career in the twenty-fifth entry in Janet Evanovich's #1 New York Times bestselling series. There's nothing like a good deli and the Red River Deli in Trenton is one of the best. World famous for its pastrami, cole slaw and for its disappearing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stabbed in the Baklava

TINA KASHIAN · Kensington
Pages: 336
Format: Mass Market Paperback

"A delectable read." - Bestselling author Shelley Freydont Lucy Berberian has taken over her family's Mediterranean restaurant on the Jersey Shore after an unsatisfying stint at a Philadelphia law firm. It's great to be back in her old beach town, even if she's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dead Ringer

M C BEATON · Minotaur Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"The Agatha Raisin series is my guilty pleasure -- it's full of perfectly pitched interest, intrigue, and charm." -- Lee ChildThe church of St. Ethelred in the village of Thirk Magna is renowned for its team of bell-ringers, the troupe led by identical twins Mavis and Millicent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Fever of the Blood: A Novel

Oscar De Muriel · Pegasus Books
Pages: 432
Format: Print book

This riveting new detective novel evokes a spellbinding concoction of crime, history, and horror -- perfect for fans of Arthur Conan Doyle and P.D. James. New Year's Day, 1889. In Edinburgh's lunatic asylum, a patient escapes as a nurse lays dying. Leading the manhunt are legendary local...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jackrabbit Smile

Joe R. Lansdale · Mulholland Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Edgar Award-winner and fan favorite Joe R. Lansdale is back with Hap and Leonard's latest caper: investigating the disappearance of a revivalist cult leader's daughter. Hap and Leonard are an unlikely pair-Hap, a self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard, a tough-as-nails black gay Vietnam...
Read More check catalog
 
 
April in Paris, 1921: A Kiki Button Mystery

TESSA LUNNEY · Pegasus Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Kiki Button -- war veteran, party girl, detective, and spy -- finds that she can't outrun her past exploits, even in the glittering world of Jazz Age Paris. Paris in 1921 is the city of freedom, where hatless and footloose Kiki Button can drink champagne and dance until dawn. She works...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Dying Note

Ann Parker · Poisoned Pen Press
Format: Hardcover

In the sixth book of the 1880's Silver Rush Mysteries, Inez Stannert, co-owner in absentia of Leadville, Colorado's Silver Queen saloon, has settled in San Francisco with her young ward, Antonia Gizzi. Her carefully constructed life as manager of a music store while forming lucrative...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Usual Santas: A Collection of Soho Crime Christmas Capers

Soho Soho Crime · Soho Crime
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Finally: the perfect stocking stuffer for the crime fiction lover in your life! With a foreword by CWA Diamond Award-winner Peter Lovesey, these eighteen delightful holiday stories by your favorite Soho Crime authors contain laughs, murders, and plenty more. This captivating collection,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
As the Christmas Cookie Crumbles

Leslie Budewitz · Midnight Ink
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

In Jewel Bay, all is merry and bright. At Murphy's Mercantile, AKA the Merc, manager Erin Murphy is ringing in the holiday season with food, drink, and a new friend: Merrily Thornton. A local girl gone wrong, Merrily's turned her life around. But her parents have publicly shunned her, and they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Solemn Graves

JAMES R BENN · Soho Crime
Format: Hardcover

A double murder in a French chateau just after D-Day threatens Allied operations, and US Army detective Billy Boyle is called to investigate. July, 1944, a full month after D-Day. Billy, Kaz, and Big Mike are assigned to investigate a double murder, close to the front lines in Normandy....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Whisper of Bones

Ellen Hart · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Jane Lawless new and old will be fascinated by newly minted Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Ellen Hart's latest intricate puzzle in A Whisper of Bones. Britt Ickles doesn't remember much from her only visit to her mother's childhood home when she was a kid, except for playing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Silver Anniversary Murder

Leslie Meier · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Much has happened since Leslie Meier first introduced her beloved sleuth Lucy Stone with Mistletoe Murder. Many holidays and bake sales have come and gone, Lucy's children have all grown up. But even after twenty-four books into the bestselling series, murder is never out of the picture...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Treacherous Curse

Deanna Raybourn · Berkley
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Members of an Egyptian expedition fall victim to an ancient mummy's curse in a thrilling Veronica Speedwell novel from the New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey mysteries. London, 1888. As colorful and unfettered as the butterflies she collects, Victorian adventuress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Darling Dahlias and the Poinsettia Puzzle

SUSAN WITTIG ALBERT · Persevero Press
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

It's Christmas, 1934, and the citizens of Darling, Alabama, are unwrapping a big package of Christmas puzzles. Mildred Kilgore and Earlynne Biddle are planning to open a bakery on the square - if they can come up with the right recipes. Charlie Dickens faces two of the biggest puzzles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cake and Punishment: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery

Maymee Bell · Crooked Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

In the first of a delectable new Southern-set baking cozy series, Sophia Cummings, pastry chef extraordinaire, must craft the perfect cake for an old friend's wedding while sifting through the suspects in a murder. Bucolic Rumford, Kentucky has glowing fields of bluegrass, a fine selection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Fire: A Shetland Island Mystery

Ann Cleeves · Minotaur Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Wild Fire is the much-anticipated final entry in Ann Cleeves's beloved Shetland series, which is now a hit television show starring Douglas Henshall."Nothing short of riveting." -- Louise Penny on Blue Lightning"Gripping from start to finish." -- BOOKLIST "Jimmy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder on the Hour: A Penny Brannigan Mystery

Elizabeth J. Duncan · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The residents of Llanelen are brimming with excitement. Antiques Cymru, a regional take on the popular national TV show, is coming to the Welsh town and people are flocking from miles around, hoping their attic treasures turn out to be worth a fortune. On the day of filming, quiet local...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Murder Is for Keeps: A Penny Brannigan Mystery

Elizabeth J. Duncan · Minotaur Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Local artist and amateur sleuth Penny Brannigan has been spending her summer painting the exterior and views of the once-lovely Gwrych Castle, now in a heartbreaking state of disrepair. A privately owned castellated country house of jaw dropping scale, the gorgeous house located just outside...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hitting the Books

Jenn McKinlay · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

It's murder by the book in the latest hit Library Lover's mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Stacks.When a stack of library materials is found at the scene of a hit and run, library director Lindsey Norris finds herself dragged into the investigation as the police...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In Cold Chocolate: A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery

Dorothy St. James · Crooked Lane Books
Format: Hardcover

In Dorothy St. James's third delectable Southern Chocolate Shop mystery, a new batch of chocolate and troubles of the heart cause a string of disasters for the Chocolate Box's new owner, Charity Penn.The vintage seaside town of Camellia Beach, South Carolina seems like the perfect...
Read More check catalog