Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Fiction  
Good Company: A Novel

Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney · Ecco
Format: Hardcover

"Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney plumbs the depths of marriage, motherhood and friendship with warmth and wit. I devoured it in one gulp! Treat yourself to some Good Company." - Maria Semple, author of Today Will Be DifferentA warm, incisive new novel about the enduring bonds of marriage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red Book

James Patterson
Format: Hardcover

To Harney, the newest member of Chicago PD's elite strike force -- Special Operations Section (SOS) -- getting shot in the head, stalked by a state's attorney, and accused of murder by his fellow cops is all part of breaking a case. So when a drive-by shooting on the Chicago's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the Stars Go Dark: A Novel

Paula McLain
Format: Hardcover

Anna Hart is a seasoned missing persons detective in San Francisco with far too much knowledge of the darkest side of human nature. When tragedy strikes her personal life, Anna, desperate and numb, flees to the Northern California village of Mendocino to grieve. She lived there as a child...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stargazer: A Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel

Anne Hillerman
Format: Hardcover

Murder, deception, Navajo tradition, and the stars collide in this enthralling entry in New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman's Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito series, set amid the beautiful landscape of the American Southwest.What begins as a typical day for Officer Bernadette...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Bookshop in London: A Novel of World War II

Madeline Martin · Hanover Square Press; Original edition
Format: Paperback

Inspired by the true World War II history of the few bookshops to survive the Blitz, The Last Bookshop in London is a timeless story of wartime loss, love and the enduring power of literature.August 1939: London is dismal under the weight of impending war with Germany as Hitler's forces...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girlhood

Melissa Febos · Bloomsbury Publishing; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

In her powerful new book, critically acclaimed author Melissa Febos examines the narratives women are told about what it means to be female and what it takes to free oneself from them.When her body began to change at eleven years old, Febos understood immediately that her meaning to other...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Letters Across the Sea

Genevieve Graham · Simon & Schuster
Format: Paperback

I'm writing to say goodbye ... With all my love, M Summer 1933 At eighteen, Molly Ryan feels as though she is always looking for work to help her family through the Great Depression crippling her city. The one bright spot in her life is playing baseball with her best friend, Hannah...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stars We Share: A Novel

Rafe Posey · Pamela Dorman Books
Format: Hardcover

Alec and June meet in a small English town in 1927 when they are children. Alec has lost his parents in India to cholera; he's a dreamy, thoughtful child who maps the stars and invents magical stories. June is a gifted young mathematician, memorizing train timetables and studying equations....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Infinite Country: A Novel

Patricia Engel
Format: Hardcover

At the dawn of the new millennium, Colombia is a country devastated by half a century of violence. Elena and Mauro are teenagers when they meet, their blooming love an antidote to the mounting uncertainty of life in Bogotá. Once their first daughter is born, and facing grim economic prospects,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sooley: A Novel

John Grisham · Doubleday
Format: Hardcover

In the summer of his seventeenth year, Sam­uel Sooleymon gets the chance of a lifetime: a trip to the United States with his South Sudanese teammates to play in a showcase basket­ball tournament. He has never been away from home, nor has he ever been on an airplane. The opportunity to be scouted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Four Winds: A Novel

Kristin Hannah · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The Four Winds, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Kristin Hannah, is an epic novel of love and heroism and hope, set against the backdrop of one of America's most defining eras--the Great Depression. "If I close my eyes, I can still taste the dust..."Texas, 1934. Millions...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Klara and the Sun

Kazuo Ishiguro · Knopf Canada
Format: Hardcover

. An international literary event, it will be published simultaneously on March 2, 2021, by Knopf Canada, Faber & Faber in the UK and Alfred A. Knopf in the US. Klara and the Sun, the first publication by Kazuo Ishiguro since he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, is a thrilling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Women of Chateau Lafayette

Stephanie Dray
Format: Hardcover

Most castles are protected by men. This one by women.A founding mother...1774. Gently-bred noblewoman Adrienne Lafayette becomes her husband, the Marquis de Lafayette's political partner in the fight for American independence. But when their idealism sparks revolution in France and the guillotine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nine Lives of Rose Napolitano

Donna Freitas
Format: Book

In every woman there are many stories . . . Rose Napolitano is fighting with her husband, Luke, about prenatal vitamins. She promised she'd take them, but didn't. He promised before they got married that he'd never want children, but now he's changed his mind. Their marriage...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Of Women and Salt

Gabriela Garcia

In present-day Miami, Jeanette is battling addiction. Daughter of Carmen, a Cuban immigrant, she is determined to learn more about her family history from her reticent mother and makes the snap decision to take in the daughter of a neighbor detained by ICE. Carmen, still wrestling with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Raft of Stars: A Novel

Andrew J. Graff
Format: Hardcover

An instant classic for fans of Jane Smiley and Kitchens of the Great Midwest: when two hardscrabble young boys think they've committed a crime, they flee into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Will the adults trying to find and protect them reach them before it's too late?It's the summer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mrs. Wiggins

Mary Monroe
Format: Hardcover

The daughter of a prostitute mother and an alcoholic father, Maggie Franklin knew her only way out was to marry someone upstanding and church-going. Someone like Hubert Wiggins, the most eligible man in Lexington, Alabama--and the son of its most revered preacher. Proper and prosperous,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rose Code

Kate Quinn · William Morrow
Pages: 672
Format: Book

The New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network returns with another heart-stopping World War II story of three female code breakers at Bletchley Park and the spy they must root out after the war is over.1940. As England prepares to fight the Nazis,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Five Wounds: A Novel

Kirstin Valdez Quade · W. W. Norton & Company
Format: Hardcover

Named one of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021 by Oprah Magazine, The Week, The Millions, and Electric Lit. From an award-winning storyteller comes a stunning debut novel about a New Mexican family's extraordinary year of love and sacrifice.It's Holy Week in the small town of Las Penas,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Irish Country Welcome

Patrick Taylor · Forge Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

An Irish Country Welcome is a charming entry in Patrick Taylor's internationally bestselling Irish Country series.In the close-knit Northern Irish village of Ballybucklebo, it's said that a new baby brings its own welcome. Young doctor Barry Laverty and his wife Sue are anxiously...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Comes After: A Novel

JoAnne Tompkins · Riverhead Books
Format: Hardcover

In misty, coastal Washington State, Isaac lives alone with his dog, grieving the recent death of his teenage son, Daniel. Next door, Lorrie, a working single mother, struggles with a heinous act committed by her own teenage son. Separated by only a silvery stretch of trees, the two parents...
Read More check catalog