Back | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
A State of Freedom: A Novel

NEEL MUKHERJEE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A devastating and powerful vision of a people defined by that most unquenchable human urge, the striving for a different life.Can we transform the possibilities we are born into? A State of Freedom wrests open the central, defining events of our century: displacement and migration. Five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Music Shop: A Novel

RACHEL JOYCE · Random House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A love story and a journey through music, the exquisite and perfectly pitched new novel from the bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy
Read More check catalog
 
 
Halsey Street

· Little A
Pages: 332
Format: Hardcover

A modern-day story of family, loss, and renewal, Halsey Street captures the deeply human need to belong - not only to a place but to one another.Penelope Grand has scrapped her failed career as an artist in Pittsburgh and moved back to Brooklyn to keep an eye on her ailing father. She's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Liar in the Library, The

SIMON BRETT · Crème de la Crime
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

When an author event at the local library ends in murder, Jude finds herself a suspect in the waspishly witty new Fethering mystery.Having been booked to give a talk at Fethering Library, successful author Burton St Clair invites his old friend Jude to come along. Although they haven?t...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ravenspur: Rise of the Tudors

Conn Iggulden · Michael Joseph
Pages: 468
Format: Print book

England, 1470. A kingdom divided against itself cannot stand. The Yorkist king Edward IV is driven out of England, his wife and children forced to seek sanctuary from the House of Lancaster. Yet rage and humiliation prick Edward back to greatness. He lands at Ravenspur, with a half-drowned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witches of New York

Ami McKay · Knopf Canada
Pages: 528
Format: Print book

The beloved, bestselling author of The Birth House and The Virgin Cure is back with her most beguiling novel yet, luring us deep inside the lives of a trio of remarkable young women navigating the glitz and grotesqueries of Gilded-Age New York by any means possible, including witchcraft...The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Across the China Sea: A Novel

GAUTE HEIVOLL · Graywolf Press
Pages: 232
Format: Paperback

An atmospheric and affecting novel set in rural Norway, by the award-winning author of Before I BurnIn the waning days of the German occupation of Norway, Karin and her husband move from Oslo to a tiny village in the south with their young son, the narrator. There they aim to live out their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Beautiful People We Once Knew: A Novel

Edward Carlson · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 296
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Don DeLillo and Joseph O'Neill, an enthralling debut about the one percent, what they'll do to stay on top, and the callous gaze they turn on those below them. Burned-out and alienated, Kilgore associate attorney Stephen Harker spends his work days defending insurance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Misfortune of Marion Palm: A novel

EMILY CULLITON · Knopf
Pages: 281
Format: Hardcover

A wildly entertaining debut about a Brooklyn Heights wife and mother who has embezzled a small fortune from her children's private school and makes a run for it, leaving behind her trust fund poet husband, his maybe-secret lover, her two daughters, and a school board who will do anything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pieces of Happiness: A Novel of Friendship, Hope and Chocolate

Anne Ostby · Thorndike Press Large Print
Pages: 501
Format: Library Binding

I've planted my feet on Fijian earth and I intend to stay here until the last sunset. Why don't you join me? Leave behind everything that didn't work out! When recently-widowed Kat writes to her four old school friends, inviting them to live with her on a cocoa plantation in the South...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs: A Novel

JANET PEERY · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Janet Peery's first novel, The River Beyond the World, was a National Book Award finalist in 1996. Acclaimed for her gorgeous writing and clear-eyed gaze into the hearts of people, Peery now returns with her second novel, The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs.On a summer evening in the blue-collar...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Under a Pole Star

Stef Penney · Quercus
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

A whaler's daughter, Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve, falling in love with the cold and unforgiving terrain and forging lifelong bonds with the Inuit people who have carved out an existence on its icy plains. She sets out to become a scientist and polar...
Read More check catalog
 
 
After Anatevka: A Novel Inspired by "Fiddler on the Roof"

Alexandra Silber · Pegasus Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping historical novel in the grand tradition of Russian literature that imagines what happens to the characters of Fiddler on the Roof after the curtain falls. The world knows well the tale of Tevye, the beloved Jewish dairyman from the shtetl Anatevka of Tsarist Russia. In stories...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Resurrection of Joan Ashby: A Novel

Cherise Wolas · Flatiron Books
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

"A stunning debut...Reminds me of my most favorite authors: J.D. Salinger, Carson McCullers, Truman Capote, Joan Didion." -- A.M. HomesI viewed the consumptive nature of love as a threat to serious women. But the wonderful man I just married believes as I do -- work is paramount,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
New Boy

TRACY CHEVALIER · HOGARTH PR
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Arriving at his fifth school in as many years, diplomat's son Osei Kokote knows he needs an ally if he is to survive his first day - so he's lucky to hit it off with Dee, the most popular girl in school. But one student can't stand to witness this budding relationship: Ian decides to destroy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Start Without Me: A Novel

JOSHUA MAX FELDMAN · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The author of the critically acclaimed The Book of Jonah explores questions of love and choice, disappointment and hope in the lives of two strangers who meet by chance in this mesmerizing tale that unfolds over one Thanksgiving Day.Adam is a former musician and recovering alcoholic who is home...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Execute Authority: A Delta Force Novel

DALTON FURY · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 292
Format: Hardcover

The explosive conclusion to the New York Times bestselling series.In Dalton Fury's Execute Authority, Kolt "Racer" Raynor and his Delta Force squadron are in Greece, providing VIP security for the newly elected -- and deeply controversial -- American president on his desperate...
Read More check catalog