Back | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
Social Creature: A Novel

Tara Isabella Burton · Doubleday
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A sharp, biting, and irresistible debut about parties and ambition in New York City--introducing a talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, with all the glitz and grit of Bright Lights, Big City.If you can make it here, you can make it anywhere. Louise Wilson is an expert at just barely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry's Trees

Jon Cohen · Harlequin Audio and Blackstone Audio
Pages: 1
Format: Hardcover

Thirty-four-year-old Harry Crane, lifelong lover of trees, works as an analyst in a treeless US Forest Service office. When his wife dies in a freak accident, devastated, he makes his way to the remote woods of northeastern Pennsylvania's Endless Mountains, intent on losing himself....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ayiti

ROXANE GAY · Grove Press
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

From New York Times -bestselling powerhouse Roxane Gay, Ayiti is a powerful collection exploring the Haitian diaspora experience. Originally published by a small press, this Grove Press paperback will make Gay's debut widely available for the first time, including several new stories....
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Hard Can It Be?

ALLISON PEARSON · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Allison Pearson's brilliant debut novel, I Don't Know How She Does It, was a New York Times bestseller with four million copies sold around the world. Called "the definitive social comedy of working motherhood" (The Washington Post) and "a hysterical look -- in both the laughing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost for Words Bookshop: A Novel

Stephanie Butland · Macmillan Audio
Format: Audiobook

The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending audiobook from author Stephanie ButlandLoveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Summer List: A Novel

Amy Mason Doan · Graydon House
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

A tender yet tantalizing novel about two friends, the summer night they fell apart, and the scavenger hunt that reunites them decades later - until the clues expose a breathtaking secret that just might shatter them once and for all.Laura and Casey were once inseparable: as they floated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Remind Me Again What Happened

Joanna Luloff · Algonquin Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"There is a smudge where my memory is supposed to be." Claire wakes in a hospital room in the Florida Keys. She has no idea how she got there or why. The loss of so many memories is paralyzing. Some things she can piece together by looking at old photos saved by her husband, Charlie,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bedlam Stacks

Natasha Pulley · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 337
Format: Paperback

An Indie Next PickNow in paperback, Natasha Pulley's "witty, entrancing novel . . . burnishes her reputation as a gifted storyteller" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) .In 1859, ex-East India Company smuggler Merrick Tremayne is trapped at home in Cornwall with an injury...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Optimistic Decade

Heather Abel · Algonquin Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

You say you want a revolution? This energetic and entertaining novel about a utopian summer camp and its charismatic leader asks smart questions about good intentions gone terribly wrong. Framed by the oil shale bust and the real estate boom, by protests against Reagan and against the Gulf...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tell Tale: Short Stories

JEFFREY ARCHER · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Nearly a decade after his last volume of short stories was published, Jeffrey Archer returns with his eagerly-awaited, brand-new collection TELL TALE, giving us a fascinating, exciting and sometimes poignant insight into the people he has met, the stories he has come across and the countries...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Lucky Man: Stories

JAMEL BRINKLEY · Graywolf Press
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

"This is the rare debut that introduces not a promising talent but a major writer, fully formed." -- Garth GreenwellIn the nine expansive, searching stories of A Lucky Man, fathers and sons attempt to salvage relationships with friends and family members and confront mistakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Invitation to a Bonfire

Adrienne Celt · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

The seductive story of a dangerous love triangle, inspired by the infamous Nabokov marriage, with a spellbinding psychological thriller at its core.In the 1920s, Zoya Andropova, a young refugee from the Soviet Union, finds herself in the alien landscape of an elite all-girls New Jersey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ensemble: A Novel

Aja Gabel · Riverhead Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The addictive novel about four young friends navigating a cutthroat world and their complex relationships with each other, as ambition, passion, and love intertwine over the course of their lives.Jana. Brit. Daniel. Henry. They would never have been friends if they hadn't needed each other....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Map of Salt and Stars: A Novel

Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar · Touchstone
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

This rich, moving, and lyrical debut novel is to Syria what The Kite Runner was to Afghanistan; the story of two girls living eight hundred years apart - a modern-day Syrian refugee seeking safety and a medieval adventurer apprenticed to a legendary mapmaker - places today's headlines in the sweep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Half Gods

Akil Kumarasamy · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Passing through countries and generations, Akil Kumarasamy's Half Gods is a vibrant interlinked collection following the unspooling threads of nationality, religion, and love. Through two brothers named after demigods from the ancient epic the Mahabharata, we explore the messy lines...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Island Dwellers: Stories

Jen Silverman · Random House
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Miranda July, Rebecca Lee, and Mary Gaitskill, a debut short-story collection that is a mesmerizing blend of wit, transgression, and heart. A passive-aggressive couple in the midst of a divorce compete over whose new fling is more exotic. A Russian migrant in Tokyo agonizes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother

Danielle Teller · William Morrow
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella's "evil" stepmother.We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Aviator

EUGENE VODOLAZKIN · Oneworld Publications
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning author Eugene Vodolazkin comes this poignant story of memory, love and loss spanning twentieth-century Russia A man wakes up in a hospital bed, with no idea who he is or how he came to be there. The only information the doctor shares with his patient is his name: Innokenty...
Read More check catalog