Back | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding

JENNIFER ROBSON · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

From the internationally bestselling author of Somewhere in France comes an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it."Millions will welcome this joyous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In a House of Lies

IAN RANKIN · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A new investigation threatens to unearth skeletons from Rebus' pastRebus' retirement is disrupted once again when skeletal remains are identified as a private investigator who went missing over a decade earlier. The remains, found in a rusted car in the East Lothian woods, not far from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Insurrecto

Gina Apostol · Soho Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Histories and personalities collide in this literary tour-de-force about the Philippines' present and America's past by the PEN Open Book Award-winning author of Gun Dealer's Daughter.Two women, a Filipino translator and an American filmmaker, go on a road trip in Duterte's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The King Is Always Above the People: Stories

Daniel Alarco?n · Riverhead Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A slyly political collection of stories about immigration, broken dreams, Los Angeles gang members, Latin American families, and other tales of high stakes journeys, from the award-winning author of War by Candlelight and At Night We Walk in Circles. Migration. Betrayal. Family secrets....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Call Me Lonesome

Brett Cogburn · Five Star Publishing
Pages: 452
Format: Hardcover

Former Union marksman, roving lawman and town tamer, Morgan Clyde, has tamed the wide open, Indian Territory railroad camp, Ironhead Station, but there's one piece of unfinished business left to him that he must handle alone. The Arkansas Traveler, a crazed Confederate sniper and hired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alice Isn't Dead: A Novel

JOSEPH FINK · Harper Perennial
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of It Devours! and Welcome to Night Vale comes a fast-paced thriller about a truck driver searching across America for the wife she had long assumed to be dead."This is not a story. It's a road trip."Keisha Taylor lived a quiet life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be Safe: A Novel

TOM MCALLISTER · Liveright
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

We Need to Talk about Kevin meets Dept. of Speculation in a novel about one woman's furious grappling with the repercussions of small-town tragedy.FORMER TEACHER HAD MOTIVE. Recently suspended for a so-called outburst, high school English teacher Anna Crawford is stewing over the injustice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata · Grove Press
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

Keiko Furukura had always been considered a strange child, and her parents always worried how she would get on in the real world, so when she takes on a job in a convenience store while at university, they are delighted for her. For her part, in the convenience store she finds a predictable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Overstory: A Novel

RICHARD POWERS · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 502
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller A monumental novel about trees and people by one of our most "prodigiously talented" (The New York Times Book Review) novelists.An Air Force loadmaster in the Vietnam War is shot out of the sky, then saved by falling into a banyan. An artist inherits...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Before We Were Yours: A Novel

LISA WINGATE · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT - A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal."*Memphis,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Virgil Wander

LEIF ENGER · Grove Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first novel in ten years from award-winning, million-copy bestselling author Leif Enger, Virgil Wander is an enchanting and timeless all-American story that follows the inhabitants of a small Midwestern town in their quest to revive its flagging heart Midwestern movie house owner Virgil...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Number One Chinese Restaurant: A Novel

Lillian Li · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2018 by The Millions and CosmopolitanAn exuberant and wise multigenerational debut novel about the complicated lives and loves of people working in everyone's favorite Chinese restaurant.The Beijing Duck House in Rockville, Maryland, is not only a beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Remind Me Again What Happened

Joanna Luloff · HighBridge Audio
Format: Audiobook

Claire wakes in a hospital room in the Florida Keys. She has no idea how she got there or why. The loss of so many memories is paralyzing. Some things she can piece together by looking at old photos saved by her husband, Charlie, and her best friend, Rachel, and by combing through boxes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Next Person You Meet in Heaven: The Sequel to The Five People You Meet in Heaven

MITCH ALBOM · Harper
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

In this enchanting sequel to the number one bestseller The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Mitch Albom tells the story of Eddie's heavenly reunion with Annie - the little girl he saved on earth - in an unforgettable novel of how our lives and losses intersect.Fifteen years ago, in Mitch...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Transcription: A Novel

KATE ATKINSON · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

A dramatic story of WWII espionage, betrayal, and loyalty, by the #1 bestselling author of Life After Life In 1940, eighteen-year old Juliet Armstrong is reluctantly recruited into the world of espionage. Sent to an obscure department of MI5 tasked with monitoring the comings and goings...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Day Like Any Other: The Great Hamptons Hurricane of 1938: A Novel

GENIE CHIPPS HENDERSON · Pushcart Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A bucolic resort setting -- the summer colony and locals are caught in the path of a sudden and devastating hurricane in this brilliant and prophetic fiction that is a warning of storms to come. "For those few who still remember, the images are seared into their brains: the corpses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Coyote Doggirl

LISA HANAWALT · Drawn and Quarterly
Pages: 156
Format: Hardcover

A raucous and fierce Western by the BoJack Horseman producer/production designer and award-winning cartoonistCoyote is a dreamer and a drama queen, brazen and brave, faithful yet fiercely independent. She beats her own drum and sews her own crop tops. A gifted equestrian, she's half dog,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
City of Ink

Elsa Hart · Minotaur Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Following the enthralling 18th century Chinese mysteries Jade Dragon Mountain and White Mirror, comes the next Li Du adventure in Whisper of Ink.Li Du was prepared to travel anywhere in the world except for one place: home. But to unravel the mystery that surrounds his mentor's execution,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Welcome to Paradise

ELIN HILDERBRAND · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Spend the coldest days of winter on a Caribbean beach with New York Times Bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand. Join New York Times Bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand on the stunning beaches of St. John for the beginning of her thrilling new winter series-The Paradise. Welcome to Paradise,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unsheltered: A Novel

BARBARA KINGSOLVER · Harper
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
LADY BE GOOD

AMBER BROCK · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 320

Set in the 1950s, Lady Be Good marks Amber Brock's mesmerizing return, sweeping readers into the world of the mischievous, status-obsessed daughter of a hotel magnate and the electric nightlife of three iconic cities: New York, Miami, and Havana. Kitty Tessler is the winsome and clever...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shepherd's Hut: A Novel

Tim Winton · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From Tim Winton, Australia's most decorated and beloved novelist and the author of Cloudstreet, comes The Shepherd's Hut, the story of a young man on a thrilling journey of self-discovery in one of the most harshest, near-uninhabitable climates on Earth.Tim Winton is Australia's most decorated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Once a Midwife: A Hope River Novel

PATRICIA HARMAN · William Morrow
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

Welcome back to Hope River in New York Times bestselling author Patricia Harman's newest novel as midwife Patience Hester, along with her family and friends, face the challenges of the home front during World War II.The women of Hope River trust midwife Patience Hester, whose skill...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Asymmetry: A Novel

Lisa Halliday · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BESTSELLER Shortlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize "Asymmetry is extraordinary...Halliday has written, somehow all at once, a transgressive roman a clef, a novel of ideas and a politically engaged work of metafiction." - Alice Gregory, The New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Melody: A Novel

Jim Crace · Nan A. Talese
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From the Booker Prize-shortlisted author of Harvest, Quarantine, and Being Dead, a tender new novel about music, celebrity, local intrigue, and lost love--all set by the Mediterranean SeaAside from his trusty piano, Alfred Busi lives alone in his villa overlooking the waves. Famed in his town...
Read More check catalog