Back Teens | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Life Inside My Mind: 31 Authors Share Their Personal Struggles

Jessica Burkhart · Simon Pulse
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Your favorite YA authors including Ellen Hopkins, Maureen Johnson, and more recount their own experiences with mental illness in this raw, real, and powerful collection of essays that explores everything from ADD to PTSD.Have you ever felt like you just couldn't get out of bed? Not the occasional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prescription Drugs: Opioids That Kill

Simon Pierce · Lucent Press
Pages: 104
Format: Library Binding

Since prescription drugs can be obtained legally and found in medicine cabinets in young adults own homes, there is a perception that they are not as dangerous as other types of drugs. However, abuse of prescriptions can have hazardoussometimes even deadlyconsequences, which readers discover...
Read More check catalog
 
 
People Like Us

Dana Mele · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A sharp psychological thriller that's just right for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Pretty Little Liars--this story will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you.Kay Donovan may have skeletons in her closet, but the past is past, and she's reinvented herself entirely. Now she's a star...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Queen of shadows

Sarah J Maas · Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire-for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Night School Fracture

CJ Daugherty · Moonflower Books Ltd; 1 edition
Format: Print book

It all falls apart... Cimmeria Academy's solid walls have protected the children of the British elite for centuries. But now those walls are beginning to crumble. And if they fall, Allie Sheridan knows nothing can save her. A powerful and dangerous secret society - one that controls...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is Our Constitution

Khizr Khan · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

From Gold Star father and beloved Democratic National Convention speaker Khizr Khan comes a book for young people about the Constitution - what it says and why it matters for everyone. Our Founding Fathers created the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights as a blueprint for American government...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of Oz

Danielle Paige · HarperCollins
Pages: 12
Format: Hardcover

In this dark, action-packed fourth book in the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, Amy Gumm travels from Oz to the twisted land of Ev, where she fights to free Oz from evil once and for all.My name is Amy Gumm. You might remember me as the other girl from Kansas. When a tornado...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Feral Nights

Cynthia Leitich Smith · Candlewick; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

Fans of the Tantalize quartet will thrill to see werepossum Clyde and other favorite secondary characters — plus all-new ones — take to the fore in book one of an all-new series.When sexy, free-spirited werecat Yoshi tracks his sister, Ruby, to Austin, he discovers that she is not only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daniel X: Lights Out

James Patterson · Little
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

James Patterson's high-octane sci-fi adventure series comes to a white-knuckle conclusion in the final battle that Daniel X has been waiting for his entire life. In this sixth and last installment of the Daniel X series, the alien-hunting hero is finally ready to take on the biggest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dream Thieves

Maggie Stiefvater · Scholastic Press
Pages: 439
Format: Hardcover

The second installment in the all-new series from the masterful, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Living Proud! Being Transgender

Robert Rodi · Mason Crest
Pages: 64
Format: Print book

What is gender? What are gender stereotypes? Whats the difference between being a tomboy or an effeminate man and being transgender? What are your options when you feel like your physical sex is out of sync with who you are? Explore the answers to these questions and more with an in-depth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sunny

Jason Reynolds · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 198
Format: Hardcover

Sunny tries to shine despite his troubled past in this third novel in the critically acclaimed Track series from National Book Award finalist Jason Reynolds.Ghost. Patina. Sunny. Lu. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds, with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mystery of Hollow Places

REBECCA PODOS · Balzer Bray
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

The Mystery of Hollow Places is a gorgeously written, stunningly original novel of love, loss, and identity, from debut author Rebecca Podos.All Imogene Scott knows of her mother is the bedtime story her father told her as a child. It's the story of how her parents met: he, a forensic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac: A Novel

Gabrielle Zevin · Square Fish
Pages: 284
Format: Book

If Naomi had picked tails, she would have won the coin toss.She wouldn't have had to go back for the yearbook camera, and she wouldn't have hit her head on the steps.She wouldn't have woken up in an ambulance with amnesia.She certainly would have remembered her boyfriend, Ace....
Read More check catalog