Back History | March Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Kate Winkler Dawson · Hachette Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. In winter 1952, London automobiles and thousands...
Read More check catalog
 
 
No Hero: The Evolution of a Navy Seal

Mark Owen · New American Library
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

The companion volume to the multimillion-copy classic No Easy Day by former Navy SEAL Mark Owen reveals the evolution of a SEAL Team Six operator.Mark Owen's instant #1 New York Times bestseller, No Easy Day: The Firsthand Account of the Mission that Killed Osama bin Laden, focused...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Louisiana: A History

Light Townsend Cummins · Wiley-Blackwell
Pages: 540
Format: Paperback

Covering the lively, even raucous, history of Louisiana from before First Contact through the Elections of 2012, this sixth edition of the classic Louisiana history survey provides an engaging and comprehensive narrative of what is arguably America's most colorful state. Since the appearance...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Madame President

Helene Cooper · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

The harrowing, but triumphant story of Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, leader of the Liberian women's movement, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, and the first democratically elected female president in African history.When Ellen Johnson Sirleaf won the 2005 Liberian presidential election, she demolished...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chucks!: The Phenomenon of Converse: Chuck Taylor All Stars

Hal Peterson · W W Norton
Pages: 168
Format: Print book

A sneaker's evolution from style dud to global icon.In this book, shoe enthusiast Hal Peterson takes an in-depth look at the history, significance, and magic of "Chucks." Originally a rubber shoe company, Converse rolled out the canvas All Star in 1917, nicknamed "Chucks"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Death Embraced: New Orleans Tombs and Burial Customs, Behind the Scenes Accounts of Decay, Love and Tradition

Mary LaCoste · Lulu Publishing Services
Pages: 112
Format: Print book

Death Embraced is like no other book you have ever read. Fascinating and entertaining, it leads readers to ponder issues that should not be avoided. Some may want to use it as a guide to visiting New Orleans graveyards . . . or as a guide to life. "An amazing book by an even more amazing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond Freedom's Reach: A Kidnapping in the Twilight of Slavery

Adam Rothman · Harvard University Press
Format: Hardcover

Born into slavery in rural Louisiana, Rose Herera was bought and sold several times before being purchased by the De Hart family of New Orleans. Still a slave, she married and had children, who also became the property of the De Harts. But after Union forces captured New Orleans in 1862...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rasputin: Faith, Power, and the Twilight of the Romanovs

Douglas Smith · Farrar
Pages: 832
Format: Print book

On the centenary of the death of Rasputin comes a definitive biography that will dramatically change our understanding of this fascinating figureA hundred years after his murder, Rasputin continues to excite the popular imagination as the personification of evil. Numerous biographies, novels,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Art of Dress: The Women Who Once Made America Stylish

Linda Przybyszewski · Perseus Books Group
Pages: 347
Format: Hardcover

As a glance down any street in America quickly reveals, American women have forgotten how to dress. We chase fads, choose inappropriate materials and unattractive cuts, and waste energy tottering in heels when we could be moving gracefully. Quite simply, we lack the fashion know-how we need...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mathews Men: Seven Brothers and the War Against Hitler's U-boats

William Geroux · Viking
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

"Vividly drawn and emotionally gripping." - Daniel James Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Boys in the BoatOne of the last unheralded heroic stories of World War II: the U-boat assault off the American coast against the men of the U.S. Merchant Marine who were...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Gorilla Man and the Empress of Steak: A New Orleans Family Memoir

Randy Fertel · University Press of Mississippi; First Edition edition
Format: Print book

The Gorilla Man and the Empress of Steak is the story of two larger-than-life characters and the son whom their lives helped to shape. Ruth Fertel was a petite, smart, tough-as-nails blonde with a weakness for rogues, who founded the Ruth's Chris Steak House empire almost by accident....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story

Diane Ackerman · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

When Germany invaded Poland, bombers devastated Warsaw--and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals dead, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski began smuggling Jews into the empty cages. Another dozen "guests" hid inside the Zabinskis' villa, emerging after...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Guide to the French and American Claims Commission 1880-1885: Our French Immigrant Ancestors and the American Civil War

Carol Mills-Nichol · Janaway Publishing, Inc.
Pages: 800
Format: Hardcover

The U.S. Civil War was fought mostly on southern soil where many foreign residents suffered significant monetary and personal losses. In 1880 the United States and France set up a commission to examine claims from French citizens living or doing business in America between 1861 and 1866....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creating the Illusion

Jay Jorgensen · Running Press ;
Pages: 416
Format: Print book

Marilyn Monroe made history by standing over a subway grating in a white pleated halter dress designed by William Travilla. Hubert de Givenchy immortalized the Little Black Dress with a single opening scene in Breakfast at Tiffany's. A red nylon jacket signaled to audiences that James Dean...
Read More check catalog