Back History | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Bayou Sara - Used to Be

Anne Butler · Univ of Louisiana at Lafayette
Pages: 158
Format: Paperback

There?s nothing there now but a bunch of weeping willows, but in the nineteenth century, below the St. Francisville bluff was one of the most important ports on the Mississippi River. Bayou Sara had a mile of cotton warehouses, plus extensive residential and commercial districts. Who were...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry & Meghan: The Royal Wedding Album

HALIMA SADAT · Sterling
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

A lavish commemoration of the fairy-tale wedding between Prince Harry and Meghan Markle, featuring complete, up-to-the-minute photos from this once-in-a-lifetime event!Features complete up-to-the-last-minute photos from the wedding itself! Experience the heartwarming tale of how the dashing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Henry VIII: The King and His Court

Alison Weir · Ballantine Books
Pages: 632
Format: Paperback

For fans of Wolf Hall, Alison Weir's New York Times bestselling biography of Henry VIII brilliantly brings to life the king, the court, and the fascinating men and women who vied for its pleasures and rewards."WEIR'S BOOK OUTSHINES ALL PREVIOUS STUDIES OF HENRY. Beautifully...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Young Benjamin Franklin: The Birth of Ingenuity

Nick Bunker · Knopf
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

In this new account of Franklin's early life, Pulitzer finalist Nick Bunker portrays him as a complex, driven young man who elbows his way to success.From his early career as a printer and journalist, to his scientific work and his role as a founder of a new republic, Benjamin Franklin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Presidents of War

MICHAEL BESCHLOSS · Crown
Pages: 752
Format: Hardcover

From a preeminent presidential historian comes a groundbreaking and often surprising saga of America's wartime chief executives Ten years in the research and writing, Presidents of War is a fresh, magisterial, intimate look at a procession of American leaders as they took the nation into...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Faith, Families & Friends: 150 Years of Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish and Montegut Louisiana

LAURA A BROWNING · Lulu Publishing Services
Pages: 232
Format: Paperback

The focus of the book is the history of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Roman Catholic Parish and Sacred Heart Church in Montegut, Louisiana. The book follows the church-parish boundaries, including the term of each priest, and with the creation of each new parish out of Sacred Heart, St. Ann (1908)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Almanac 2019: Hot New Science, Fearless Explorers, Epic Adventures. Incredible Photographs

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC. · National Geographic
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

A one-of-a-kind annual featuring surprising facts, stunning color photos, arresting infographics, and illuminating maps that present the world in a whole new way.An almanac like you've never seen before, this arresting volume features key information on science, nature, history, and geography,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Indian Women

Patrick Deval · Abbeville Press Publishers, 2015. Â2015
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

A wide-ranging visual history of American Indian women, from pre-Columbian times to the presentDespite their important roles in religious, political, and family life, the stories of American Indian women have remained largely untold, or else have been obscured by the glamorizing eye of popular...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chanel, the enigma

Isabelle Fiemeyer · Flammarion
Pages: 191

This new biography offers unprecedented insight into Coco Chanel s complex and enigmatic life and features previously unpublished information and images. Coco Chanel continues to beguile more than four decades after her death; her life and work are a source of enduring fascination. Chanel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hype: A Doctor's Guide to Medical Myths, Exaggerated Claims, and Bad Advice - How to Tell What's Real and What's Not

NINA SHAPIRO · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An engaging and informative look at the real science behind our most common beliefs and assumptions in the health sphere There is a lot of misinformation thrown around these days, especially online. Headlines tell us to do this, not that---all in the name of living longer, better, thinner,younger....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lincoln and the Abolitionists: John Quincy Adams, Slavery, and the Civil War

FRED KAPLAN · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The acclaimed biographer, with a thought-provoking exploration of how Abraham Lincoln's and John Quincy Adams' experiences with slavery and race shaped their differing viewpoints, provides both perceptive insights into these two great presidents and a revealing perspective on race...
Read More check catalog
 
 
100 Things to Do in New Orleans Before You Die

Beth D'Addono · Reedy Pr
Pages: 160
Format: Print book

New Orleans is on everybody's bucket list. In 2015, visitors to New Orleans spent $7.05 billion dollars a 3.5% increase compared to 2014. And the city hosted 9.78 million visitors a 2.7% increase compared to 2014. These visitors and the locals and hospitality providers that host them...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Spy and the Traitor: The Greatest Espionage Story of the Cold War

Ben Macintyre · Crown
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The celebrated author of Double Cross and Rogue Heroes returns with his greatest spy story yet, a thrilling Americans-era tale of Oleg Gordievsky, the Russian whose secret work helped hasten the end of the Cold War. If anyone could be considered a Russian counterpart to the infamous British...
Read More check catalog