Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Nonfiction  
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Women Rise: Break the 12 Habits Holding You Back from Your Next Raise, Promotion, or Job

Sally Helgesen · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Since the publication of his international bestseller What Got You Here Won't Get You There, business guru Marshall Goldsmith has spoken to hundreds of thousands of people around the world, sharing the ideas he put forth in that groundbreaking book. But a few years ago, he realized that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Displaced: Refugee Writers on Refugee Lives

Viet Thanh Nguyen · Abrams Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

In January 2017, Donald Trump signed an executive order stopping entry to the United States from seven predominantly Muslim countries and dramatically cutting the number of refugees allowed to resettle in the United States each year. The American people spoke up, with protests, marches,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Consciousness Instinct: Unraveling the Mystery of How the Brain Makes the Mind

Michael S Gazzaniga · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"The father of cognitive neuroscience" illuminates the past, present, and future of the mind-brain problemHow do neurons turn into minds? How does physical "stuff" -- atoms, molecules, chemicals, and cells -- create the vivid and various worlds inside our heads? The problem...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Easy Keto Dinners

CAROLYN KETCHUM · Victory Belt Publishing
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Modern life may be fast-paced and furious, but everyone needs a healthy and delicious home-cooked meal. From her hundreds of thousands of social media followers and website visitors, low carb food blogger Carolyn Ketchum hears the same question time and again: Is this recipe easy to make?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bring It!: Tried and True Recipes for Potlucks and Casual Entertaining

Ali Rosen · Running Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Bring It! is the ultimate source for potluck, picnic, or dinner party-worthy dishes that combine simple prep with big taste!The word "potluck" may inspire memories of church dinners and mystery covered dishes. But today's potlucks are essentially outsourced dinner parties, which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Perfect Cake: Your Ultimate Guide to Classic, Modern, and Whimsical Cakes

AMERICA'S TEST KITCHEN. · America's Test Kitchen
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Gathering together years of baking knowledge in their first-ever cake book, America's Test Kitchen offers a comprehensive collection of recipes for any cake you can imagine--from better-than-the-rest yellow cake layers for birthday parties to fanciful creations and elegant holiday desserts.Cakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Footsteps of Jesus, 2nd Edition: A Chronicle of His Life and the Origins of Christianity

JEAN-PIERRE ISBOUTS · National Geographic
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

In this revised and updated biography of Jesus of Nazareth, best-selling author Jean-Pierre Isbouts examines the man behind the legend by marrying biblical accounts with archaeological and historical documentation in a compelling and comprehensive reference.A pivotal era of history comes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
William Howard Taft.

Lapham Lewis H.; Blum John M. · Times Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The only man to serve as president and chief justice, who approached every decision in constitutional terms, defending the Founders' vision against new populist threats to American democracyWilliam Howard Taft never wanted to be president and yearned instead to serve as chief justice of the United...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big Ones: How Natural Disasters Have Shaped Us

LUCY JONES · Doubleday
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

By the world-renowned seismologist, a surprising history of natural disasters, their impact on our culture, and new ways of thinking about the ones to comeEarthquakes, tsunamis, hurricanes, volcanoes--these all stem from the same forces that give our planet life. It is only when they exceed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Guide to State Parks of the United States, 5th Edition

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC. · National Geographic
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback

Discover more than 950 of the best parks in all 50 states in this completely updated guide from National Geographic.Bask in the spectacular beauty, thrilling terrain, and quiet peacefulness of the country's finest state parks, hand-picked by park directors and National Geographic editors....
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Simply Beautiful Photographs

Annie Griffiths · National Geographic
Pages: 503
Format: Hardcover

This spectacular visual journey captures some of the most stunning photographs - portraits, animals, landscapes, seascapes, nature, etc. - from National Geographic's renowned image collection. Award-winning photographer Annie Griffiths culled the images to reflect the many variations on the universal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Directorate S: The C.I.A. and America's Secret Wars in Afghanistan and Pakistan, 2001-2016

Steve Coll · Penguin Press
Pages: 784
Format: Hardcover

Resuming the narrative of his Pulitzer Prize-winning Ghost Wars, bestselling author Steve Coll tells for the first time the epic and enthralling story of America's intelligence, military, and diplomatic efforts to defeat Al Qaeda and the Taliban in Afghanistan and Pakistan since 9/11Prior...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy Crisis: Why Our Boys Are Struggling and What We Can Do About It

Warren Farrell · BenBella Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

What is the boy crisis? It's a crisis of education. For the first time in American history, our sons will have less education than their dads. It's a crisis of mental health. As boys become young men, their suicide rates go from equal to girls to six times that of young women. It's a crisis...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Triumph of Christianity: How a Forbidden Religion Swept the World

BART EHRMAN · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling authority on early Christianity, the story of how Christianity grew from a religion of twenty or so peasants in rural Galilee to the dominant religion in the West in less than four hundred years.Christianity didn't have to become the dominant religion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A River in Darkness: One Man's Escape from North Korea

Masaji Ishikawa · AmazonCrossing
Pages: 172
Format: Hardcover

The harrowing true story of one man's life in - and subsequent escape from - North Korea, one of the world's most brutal totalitarian regimes.Half-Korean, half-Japanese, Masaji Ishikawa has spent his whole life feeling like a man without a country. This feeling only deepened when his family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Without Precedent: Chief Justice John Marshall and His Times

Joel R Paul · Riverhead Books
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

The remarkable story of John Marshall who, as chief justice, statesman, and diplomat, played a pivotal role in the founding of the United States.No member of America's Founding Generation had a greater impact on the Constitution and the Supreme Court than John Marshall, and no one did more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Resilient: How to Grow an Unshakable Core of Calm, Strength, and Happiness

Rick Hanson · Harmony
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

These days it's hard to count on the world outside. So it's vital to grow strengths inside like grit, gratitude, and compassion - the key to resilience, and to lasting well-being in a changing world. True resilience is much more than enduring terrible conditions. We need resilience every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Are We Doing Here?: Essays

Marilynne Robinson · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New essays on theological, political, and contemporary themes, by the Pulitzer Prize winnerMarilynne Robinson has plumbed the human spirit in her renowned novels, including Lila, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award, and Gilead, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Magnolia Table: A Collection of Recipes for Gathering

Joanna Gaines · William Morrow Cookbooks
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Magnolia Table is infused with Joanna Gaines' warmth and passion for all things family, prepared and served straight from the heart of her home, with recipes inspired by dozens of Gaines family favorites and classic comfort selections from the couple's new Waco restaurant, Magnolia Table,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry: Life, Loss, and Love

Katie Nicholl · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In anticipation of the upcoming royal wedding comes a new in-depth biography of Prince Harry, from royal expert Katie Nicholl--journalist, broadcaster, and author of the bestselling William and Harry and Kate.From his earliest public appearances as a mischievous redheaded toddler, Prince...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who We Are and How We Got Here: Ancient DNA and the New Science of the Human Past

David Reich · Pantheon
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A groundbreaking book about how technological advances in genomics and the extraction of ancient DNA have profoundly changed our understanding of human prehistory while resolving many long-standing controversies.Massive technological innovations now allow scientists to extract and analyze...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Educated: A Memoir

Tara Westover · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An unforgettable memoir in the tradition of The Glass Castle about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge UniversityTara Westover was seventeen the first time she set foot in a classroom. Born to survivalists in the mountains...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Limits of the Known

DAVID ROBERTS · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A celebrated mountaineer and author searches for meaning in great adventures and explorations, past and present.David Roberts, "veteran mountain climber and chronicler of adventures" (Washington Post) , has spent his career documenting voyages to the most extreme landscapes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Emotions Are Made: The Secret Life of the Brain

LISA FELDMAN BARRETT · Mariner Books
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

"Fascinating . . . A thought-provoking journey into emotion science." - Wall Street Journal "A singular book, remarkable for the freshness of its ideas and the boldness and clarity with which they are presented." - Scientific American "A brilliant and original...
Read More check catalog