Back | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Nonfiction  
National Geographic Complete Guide to Pet Health, Behavior, and Happiness: The Veterinarian's Approach to At-Home Animal Care

Gary Weitzman DVM · National Geographic
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

In National Geographic's comprehensive and easy-to-use illustrated pet reference, a renowned veterinarian offers expert advice on common health, behavior, and training for cats, dogs, and other domestic pets. Combining first aid, medical reference, and tips and tricks of the trade, here...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper

Hallie Rubenhold · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Five devastating human stories and a dark and moving portrait of Victorian London - the untold lives of the women killed by Jack the Ripper. Polly, Annie, Elizabeth, Catherine and Mary-Jane are famous for the same thing, though they never met. They came from Fleet Street, Knightsbridge,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Stone: A Masterpiece of Criminal Interrogation

Mark Bowden · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

On March 29, 1975, sisters Katherine and Sheila Lyons, age 10 and 12, vanished from a shopping mall in suburban Washington, D.C. As shock spread, then grief, a massive police effort found nothing. The investigation was shelved, and mystery endured. Then, in 2013, a cold case squad detective...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life Is a Party: Deliciously Doable Recipes to Make Every Day a Celebration

David Burtka · Grand Central Life & Style
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

106 killer recipes, 16 creative party themes, and 150 gorgeous photos-plus killer playlists and easy planning tips-make LIFE IS A PARTY the indispensable cookbook and guide for home cooks.Chef, actor, and entertaining authority David Burtka knows that every day can be a party. Over a lifetime...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

Mark W. Moffett · Basic Books
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

The epic story of how humans evolved from intimate chimp communities into a world-dominating speciesIf a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Moment of Lift: How Empowering Women Changes the World

Melinda Gates · Flatiron Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"The Moment of Lift is an urgent call to courage. It changed how I think about myself, my family, my work, and what's possible in the world. Melinda weaves together vulnerable, brave storytelling and compelling data to make this one of those rare books that you carry in your heart...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything in Its Place: First Loves and Last Tales

Oliver Sacks · Knopf
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling author of Gratitude and On the Move, a final volume of essays that showcase Sacks's broad range of interests--from his passion for ferns, swimming, and horsetails, to his final case histories exploring schizophrenia, dementia, and Alzheimer's.Oliver Sacks, scientist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Insights from a Prophet's Life Russell M. Nelson

Sheri Dew · Deseret Book
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

More than a biography... What kind of life preparation does the Lord give the men He will one day call to be prophet? And what are the lessons to be learned from such a life? From being raised in a home without the foundation of the gospel to the early days of his marriage and the stress...
Read More check catalog
 
 
SQL: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to SQL Programming with Exercises and Case Studies

Paige Jacobs · Independently published
Pages: 194
Format: Paperback

In the last few decades, many programming languages have been developed, and there are only some that have stuck around. Some examples are C, which is a popular server development and operating system for embedded systems. When it comes to databases, the Structured Query Language (SQL)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All that Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes

Sue Black · Arcade
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

Book of the Year, 2018 Saltire Literary Awards For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality. Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West

David McCullough · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story - the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredible hardships to build a community based on ideals that would come to define our country.As...
Read More check catalog